We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Use to be better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
“Use to be better”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stay at this hotel many time per year since it is close to my Michigan office. It use to be an excellent hotel with friendly, helpful staff but lately has had technical problems (TV, Internet, water temperature, A/C not working) which have not been resolved.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Gary,

I am so sorry you did not enjoy your recent visits to our property. I can understand and appreciate how frustrating some of the more technical problems have been for you as they have been a great inconvenience to us as well. We do our best to maintain our systems in working order and we will continue to endeavour to fix items as quickly as possible when they do go down. Per our private communication, I hope this matter has been resolved to your satisfaction. I certainly hope upon your return to the area we will be able to serve you again. If you have any further concerns please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Robert Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    111
    40
    17
    8
See reviews for
161
80
16
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel was very clean, staff was very friendly, great breakfast. Located close to shopping, restaurants and airport. We have stayed here 4 times. Pool is very clean. Hotel is newly renovated you won't be disappointed if you stay there. We stayed once when there was a kids hockey team there they were a bit loud called the staff it was quiet after that.

Room Tip: We had a king room with a hot tub in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Pamela,

I would like to thank you for offering a Tripadvisor review about your recent stay at the Hampton Inn – Muskegon. I am delighted that you found your visit to be a pleasant experience and that you enjoyed the upgrades we made during our recent remodeling! We can certainly get busier at times and I am happy that the staff was able to address any issues arising from some louder groups so you could relax. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us and I hope you will have the opportunity to visit with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Robert Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The room was very nice, beds were comfortable, bathrooms were clean. We reported a problem with our television and were basically ignored the first two days. We did receive compensation for one night's stay and offered a different room the night before we checked out, but the problem was never resolved. Had the feeling nothing would have been done if we hadn't continued to complain.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank mrswally5008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Guest,

I am so sorry for the problems with the TV reception in your room. We actually had a technician from the satellite service dispatched on Saturday morning to address the problem; unfortunately he did not have the parts available to fix it at that time, thus necessitating the need to move to another room. We work with our vendors to fix problems as they are reported to us as we know how they can impact the enjoyment of our guest’s stay. I apologize that we were not able to get this particular issue corrected prior to your departure. I sincerely hope that the next time you are in Muskegon you will be able to stay with us again so we can deliver a more relaxing Hampton Inn experience.

Sincerely,
Robert Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Front desk was great, food at breakfast was over the top! All hotels need to get over complimentary breakfast and serve what the Hampton Inn does. Overall the stay was nice- room was great! And we really liked the lobby area - comfortable to hang out in after a long day with friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for your recent visit with us at the Hampton Inn – Muskegon and for offering your thoughts on Tripadvisor. I am so glad you found your stay to be such an enjoyable experience! We know that starting off in the morning with a good breakfast and finishing the day in a relaxing environment can make for a very satisfying stay and I am pleased that we were able to deliver that for you. I hope the next time your travels bring you to Muskegon you will have the opportunity to visit with us again as we look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Robert Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicksburg, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

In traveling to Muskegon for Bike Time this year, we booked multiple rooms at the Hampton. When we booked in February, they quoted us a price that was reasonable and fair. Upon arrival in July however, they refused to give us the same rate saying, "well its Bike Time" and we cant give you the same rate we quoted back in Feb. The cost now was clearly DOUBLE that of what their original quote was. We contacted Hiltons home office and explained what the deal was and they sent us a confirmation, via email, that we would have the same price as originally quoted. Armed with the "reinforced" conformation, we presented that to the manager, Robert Taylor who explained that "he was in charge and he was under no obligation to honor our reservation. In fact, he invited us to, in his words, "try" to find another room somewhere else. He had us over a barrel and he knew it. We wont be back.. Sorry Hilton.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Sir,

I am sorry you were not able to enjoy your stay with us upon your most recent visit. As I had stated I can certainly understand your frustration over the rate, however the government rate is only intended for government business travel and does require a government employee ID upon check-in. We were able to offer you that rate on two of the rooms and deeply discounted the remaining rooms below the prevailing rate in an effort to accommodate you and your guests and I apologize if that was not sufficient to meet your travel needs. I hope you will still consider staying with Hampton Inns during your travels and we will continue to try to offer the best rates and accommodations available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very hard to locate. tucked behind a department store. Really pricey compared to what they offered. Nothing our of the ordinary for breakfast. rooms were OK. Clean and fresh. Service was good. Staff wasn't to concerned about my comment regarding motel was hard to locate.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Earle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Earle,

It was our pleasure to have you with us on your recent visit to Muskegon and I wanted to thank you for offering your review on Tripadvisor. In our defense, our hotel was actually located here before the shopping center was built in front of us. As it is, I can understand we can be difficult to find when you are not familiar with the area and some of the expressway interchanges are not the easiest to navigate. I understand your concerns over the rates and we do our best to remain competitive with other comparable hotels in the area. During the summer months the demand for hotels rooms in Muskegon can really drive the rate higher. I would certainly invite you to visit with us again in the off season as our rates do decrease and the area around Western Michigan can be quite beautiful in the autumn and winter months.

Kindest Regards,

Robert Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Hotel rates are commensurate with the area but not worth the costs. Extremely high for an average hotel. I travel extensively for work and leisure and have stayed at some luxury hotels for less than this stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lynese K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert T, General Manager at Hampton Inn Muskegon, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Lynese,

Thank you so much for choosing the Hampton Inn for your recent visit to Muskegon and for offering your review on Tripadvisor. I can certainly understand your concerns over the rates as they do get quite a bit higher in the peak summer months. As tourism along the lakeshore continues to increase and the area becomes a destination for many travelers, the supply of hotel rooms in this season can be far short of the demand which does lead to the higher prices at all of the area’s accommodations. We do our best to remain competitive and offer the best value we can. I hope you will be able to stay with us again in the future and even consider staying with us in the off season as our rates will come down during those time periods.

Wishing you safe travels,

Robert Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Muskegon hotels
5.9 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
0.7 mi away
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
Rodeway Inn Muskegon
#6 of 12 in Muskegon
49 reviews
3.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#9 of 12 in Muskegon
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Muskegon

Property: Hampton Inn Muskegon
Address: 1401 E Ellis Rd, Muskegon, MI 49444-9768
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Muskegon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the welcoming hospitality of Hampton Inn Muskegon, MI, hotel - offering a choice of thoughtful facilities and services. Set in Muskegon near rich forests and stunning beaches, this hotel is close to a variety of popular attractions, including PJ Hoffmaster State Park, The Lakes Mall and Michigan's Adventure Theme Park. Enjoy convenient access to US 31 and Muskegon County Airport, just two miles from the hotel.Enjoy a carefree vacation with a range of comforting amenities included with every stay. Wake up to Hampton’s free hot breakfast. If you’re in a rush, grab one of our free Hampton On the Run® Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Plunge into the heated, indoor pool and feel invigorated with a workout in the modern fitness center. Experience a peaceful night’s rest in a bright, airy guest room. Enjoy having a refrigerator and microwave in every room. Stay connected with free WiFi and make use of the professional business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Muskegon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing