We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Ypsilanti, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

The staff was very nice, but the furniture looked as if it was found at a second hand garage sale and the towels need fabric softener. But the room was clean, nice TV.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OriginalMrMacII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    203
    119
    50
    47
See reviews for
320
93
32
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, NE
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed four nights while in town on business. There was some good, some not so much. The good - beds seemed fairly new and were very comfy. Linens and towels were nice enough. My room was quiet. Free wifi was great and the room had a nice desk on which sat a lamp with outlets. Breakfast offerings were pretty standard - nothing special (unless you count the waffle iron), but sufficient. The indoor pool and hot tub area looked quite nice, but I didn't use them so can't comment on how nice they actually are. The staff was cordial, but not overly friendly.

The not so good: carpet in the hallway seemed cheap and was bunched in places....definitely needed to be relaid and smoothed, or better yet, totally replaced. Carpet in the room was in better condition (it laid flat), but could really have used a good cleaning. I felt a little iffy walking in my bare feet. Soap, shampoo, and conditioner were provided, but not replaced daily. After three days I had to go ask for replacements. Seemed really cheap. The tub floor was discolored and seemed tired. I was fairly concerned about slipping while showering, particularly when soap suds accumulated on the surface.

There's also an exercise room. It is small, contains a treadmill, two bikes, and a weight machine. One bike didn't work at all; the other was very, very basic (not electronic). The weight machine didn't seem to work either. The treadmill worked properly and I used it on several occasions.

So whether or not you want to stay here depends on what rate you can get. It's a decent place - you get a comfortable bed and decent breakfast. You could do a lot worse and I'd stay here again if the price was right. But I'd check around quite a bit first.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobnsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2011

We recently booked this hotel during high season in the W Michigan area as it was the only place that had availability. We arrived to the hotel just hours before a reunion and thus didn't really have any time to search for another place to stay. We noticed right away that the grounds weren't maintained and the building looked worn down. The place has air conditioning, but it felt as if it couldn't keep up. The inside air was not hot, but warm and very humid. The carpeting was dirty, but much worse was the smell. The room air conditioning was turned off when we entered the room and when we turned it on, we could smell a urine-like odor. The air conditioning kept making a clicking sound all night so none of us could sleep very well. The room was extremely small with 2 queen beds, a large dated desk and a chair leaving almost no additional space to keep luggage, etc. There was some hanging space by the door, but there was no place to set the folding luggage rack, as there was a safe in the spot where the luggage rack should be placed. The TV was tube style, the same kind that I had in college 20 years ago. The smell and lack of cleanliness really made this hotel unacceptable. In the middle of the night I had turned on a light and actually saw a bed bug crawling on my daughter's sheet. It seemed like their was a film of funk covering every surface in the entire place. In the morning, we didn't even think we could stomach checking out the breakfast so no comment on that. We really aren't that picky and don't mind cleaning up after ourselves. In fact, when we stay for a couple of nights at a hotel, we usually don't use housekeeping services because we straighten up our own mess and would rather do that than have people cleaning around our stuff. At this hotel, we didn't see staff out with cleaning carts in the halls as you typically would see at a hotel. But, we did see one or two staff members in the laundry area working into the afternoon. They had the laundry room doors open all the time to the main indoor corridor and to the outside. The bedding covers consisted of a sheet, a white comforter, and then another sheet on top of that with nothing to hold the very top sheet on to the comforter,,which I'm sure wasn't always washed in between guests. The management refunded our pre-paid stay for the second night without much discussion. We left feeling dirty.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wmichgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Orion
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

This hotel looks alot better in the pictures than it really is. The beds are VERY UNCOMFORTABLE...no support..you sink into them and wake up with a back ache no matter where you try to sleep on the mattress. The room is very small...w/ broken furniture. The pool area is extremely smaller that the picture shows...the hot tub was barely warmer than the pool...the carpeting in the hallways was filthy with stains all over them...I have contacted the customer service dept. of Baymont only to get promises 2 weeks in a row that someone would call me back in a few days...no return call yet. I would NEVER stay at this hotel again.....very disappointed....vacation ruined because of the hotel room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationgirl048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baymontmuskegon, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
We have new Simmons Southerland Plush mattresses in the entire hotel. Guests always want to find out what brand they are because they say it's the best night's sleep they've had in a wile.
They love our pillows and bedding also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

Concierge service was somewhat slow and the hotel is tired. Pack n' Plays provided for baby to sleep in are too sticky/dirty to use. Really though, I am only writing this review to warn would-be travelers that we encountered bed bugs here. My husband two children and I intended to stay for 3 nights and left after the first. We parted with some bites and a great deal of concern that we would be carrying with us the living relatives of the dead bed bug we found on the bathroom floor in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALNF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baymontmuskegon, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon, responded to this review, 2 August 2011
I would like to advise that we have no such problem at our hotel. The guest must have brought them in with them. We have over 95% occupancy at our hotel for the last 2 months and have had no other issues. In fact the guest didn't' even file a complain at the hotel. We attempted to contact the guest complaining and he did not want to disclose his name or which room they stayed in. This review is obviously someone trying to scare our customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

BE WARNED! This property does NOT have an elevator and the stairway to the second floor has no back on the stairs and a completely inadequate landing to safely open the door to enter or exit. It is an old hotel that needs a lot of updating. The breakfast room only has 2 small tables in it and only had minimal supplies. The men at the front desk are not helpful. If you are lucky enough to get the woman front desk clerk, you will get good service. The housekeeping staff did a nice job cleaning with what they had to work with. Stay at the Fairfield just down the street!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsw34103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commerce Township, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We stayed here in June 2011. Bathroom was big and had great water pressure in the shower. The bed was comfy, but the tv was not aligned with the bed and it was a terrible, old tube tv. Indoor pool, hot tub, and sauna. Pool was too warm, hot tub and sauna were not hot enough, but otherwise ok. We were there on a Sunday, and although the hotel was hardly booked at all, they put all the guest right next to each other and the walls were thin. The air conditioner was really fighting to work. The staff was friendly. The hotel is smoke free- but our room clearly was recently smoked in. Single room had adjoining door which was annoying- it felt like we were sharing a room with the neighbors. 12 miles from Michigan Adventure, which was nice. Decent touch lamps. Good part of town. The in room coffee maker was disgusting and had mold in it. Continental breakfast was cold and pick over by 9am- very lackluster. Very dusty by tv. Overall not awesome, but I would stay there again if it was just for a night because we got a good price.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lampscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Muskegon
5.6 mi away
Shoreline Inn & Conference Center, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Muskegon
Hampton Inn Muskegon
#2 of 12 in Muskegon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Muskegon Norton Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Muskegon
Holiday Inn Muskegon
#4 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
8.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
BEST WESTERN Beacon Inn
#1 of 6 in Grand Haven
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
2.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Muskegon
Comfort Inn Muskegon
#7 of 12 in Muskegon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon
Address: 4677 Harvey Street, Muskegon, MI 49444-9760
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Michigan > Muskegon County > Muskegon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Muskegon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Lakes Mall, Great Lakes Naval Memorial and Muskegon County Airport Enjoy friendly service and down-home comfort at Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon hotel. Only two miles from Muskegon County Airport and off Interstates 31 and 96, our non-smoking Muskegon, MI, hotel invites you to explore exciting Lake Michigan-area attractions, including Lakes Mall and Michigan's Adventure. All of our guest rooms have amenities you can depend on to make your stay comfortable, including plush Simmons Beautyrest bedding and refrigerators. Start your day with free continental breakfast while reading your free copy of USA Today. Get in a workout at our gym or go for a swim in our heated indoor pool. Check email in the comfort of your room with free Wi-Fi Internet access or work in our business center. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS Bordering the shores of Lake Michigan, Muskegon offers endless outdoor adventure and excitement - all within minutes of our Muskegon hotel. Feel the thrills of Michigan's Adventure, where you will scream aboard the Shivering Timbers roller coaster or defy gravity on the Funnel of Fear. Climb aboard the Lake Express for a scenic high-speed ferry tour or board the WWII submarine USS Silversides for sunken shipwreck discoveries. Catch a big one aboard a chartered fishing boat or climb to the top of White River Lighthouse for awe-inspiring views. If shopping is your desire, get a dose of retail therapy at Lakes Mall. DINING OPTIONS Choose from a variety of restaurants and local eateries within minutes of our Muskegon, MI, hotel. Dockers Fish House & Lounge serves up fresh-off-the-boat seafood while Hearthstone Bistro Bar & Grill specializes in gourmet sandwiches, salads and made-from-scratch soups. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Muskegon, MI, offers a fully equipped business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn & Suites Muskegon Hotel Muskegon
Baymont Inn And Suites Muskegon
Baymont Inn Muskegon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing