We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favorite Place”
Review of Villa St. Simon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa St. Simon
Ranked #2 of 8 Blaye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Make sure to take a trip to this area of France next to Bordeaux, especially if you are a wine aficionado. Set amongst outstanding vineyards, this B&B caters to clients for an outstanding experience. Clarissa and Les are most personable and relaxing company, they truly make you welcome and at home away from home. Assuring everything is top notch from the historic rooms to the honor wine bar to the excursions, they provide a relaxing and enjoyable time free from worry. A true get away! Thomas gave us the ultimate excursion on the Medoc wine tour with tons of information in the Medoc region. Les also spent the evenings imparting his knowledge and sharing more information on French wine.The art is spectacular and makes the ambience more inviting thanks to Clarissa (and Cornelius). The ongoing work lends a very quaint atmosphere to a well loved business that really is a home. There are good attractions nearby with the Citadel and comforting old France buildings in town. We felt free of the tourism and in a home away from home. A separate write up is deserved for their restaurant La Galerie. Overall our only regret is that we live in USA or we would be spending many more fantastic stays and taking wine classes at Villa St. Simon. The warmth and genuine nature of our hosts is a definite reason to stay or visit. France is large, but we will be sure to include this in any future stays. Thank you for an awesome, fabulous time:) Sorry it took so long for us to write, but I bet there are many more adventures waiting for everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statman_911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
There are newer reviews for Villa St. Simon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2013

What a fabulous way to spend a few nights with friends. Les and Clarissa are lovely and their knowledge of the region is remarkable. I have never felt so at home, happy and relaxed in my life. These two completely understand what it means to run a B&B. Make sure to take in Les' "wine debunking" and the Blaye market. Consider yourself lucky to get a chance to stay here. I promise you....you will never want to leave!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A wonderful and warm welcome from Clarissa, Les and Thomas when I arrived. Clarissa provided excellent information about the town itself, and a number of quality restaurants to visit and places to kick around town.

Blaye itself is a beautiful, quiet little town about an hour from Bordeaux - surrounded by beautiful vineyards, and with a relaxing unpretentious vibe about it. The wine tours are hosted by Les or Thomas, who have a wealth of knowledge about wine and are happy to answer and questions and love to share their knowledge. Truly a highlight and a great day in Bordeaux.

The rooms themselves (I stayed in two) were very comfortable, with great beds, generous space and well equipped bathrooms. The kitchen was great for preparing light meals, and cheese, breads and duck sausage platters after a day in the vineyards.

Another highlight of the Villa is the gallery bar! I spent several nights in the Art gallery bar, with Thomas offering suggestions for wine, based on food and other wines (cognac and other liqueurs), that were perfectly matched. Great conversations with other guests, and with Les joining us most nights. I had a lot of fun!!

Clarissa, Les and Thomas were charming, hospital and extremely generous who took the time to make sure everyone was enjoying themselves. The Villa and the hosts do an outstanding job of creating a relaxed, comfortable atmosphere. I highly reccomend a stay at Villa St. Simon. Thanks Les, Clarissa and Thomas!

I initially booked for four nights and returned a week later for another three nights, I enjoyed my stay that much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leigh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Oh Wow! We were lucky to get a cancellation just for one night. At the time of booking I asked for a wine 'debunking and tasting' session and when we arrived, all was organised at the wine bar across the street. What a great night, hosted by Thomas who is a young French, expert, charming, hospitable guy who speaks excellent English. It was an hour before we could taste the 3 wines in front of us! It was so much fun. We were joined by the owners of the guest house, Les and Clarissa and then spent the whole evening there. It was like wine-tasting with friends. The hotel itself is probably the most 'French' we've stayed in. I think it was originally a very large family home with huge rooms. We've recommended it to heaps of people and will we go back? I should say!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyKoukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A wonderful and hospitable welcome from Les and Clarissa. This is like living in someones home as a guest. If you want sterile modernity this is not the place for you, but if you want to taste a bit of the real region, its wine and food, this is the place. This is a large Victorian house, with period furniture. The only real nod to modernity is the DVD player with a good selection and free Wifi. The wine tour with Tom was excellent. We hired cycles for a picnic. Clarissa gave great advice and nothing was too much trouble. The town is unpretentious with simple but good restaurants a market and interesting Citadel. Right opposite the ferry for the Medoc. Excellent value for money.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank martinidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

My partner and I stayed at Villa St. Simon for 5 nights beginning of October 2013. We also went on 3 off the wine tours (Blaye, Saint Emilion and Medoc). The accommodation was comfortable, quirky and very reasonable in price. We personally found the hosts Les and Clarissa helpful, warm and very generous. The atmosphere that they have created is very unique. All the people that we meet at the B&B were very open for conversation and just wanting to enjoy themselves. Highly recommend for anyone wanting a complete wine experience.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank geofft65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We booked late, for a wineries trip on our way back from Spain, and Clarissa was most flexible in putting us in one room for one night, and then another for two more nights, otherwise we couldn't have stayed there.

We thought we knew a little about wine, and Les cheerfully and tactfully showed us we were right; what we knew was indeed a little :-) But now, we know a bit more, after his 'Wine Debunking Session', full of humour, and fuller of information. And tastings, naturally.

On our two days, we took two wine trips out, organised by Les and Clarissa, both to wineries not open to the public at large, where was saw the processes from vine to finished product. Which we tasted....

The second trip was to St Emilion itself, where beside seeing a top winery from top floor to deepest cellar, we had a lovely lazy long lunch, and the chance to buy some special wines to bring home. (The wines that Clarissa came rushing out with as we were packing our car on the third day, as we had nearly left them in the room!)

Blaye is a beautiful village - much nicer, we thought, than being in Bordeaux itself, and with plenty of good restaurants to while away the evening in. With some wine.... There's also a ferry across the estuary, on which you can take your car, and go visit the Medoc. Though we just went by foot, and spent a very tranquil hour or so in the cafe and visitor centre on the other side.

As regards the Villa itself, it's a beautiful old French townhouse, kept as original as possible consistent with modern conveniences - originally the house had only one bathroom, but now all rooms are ensuite! Breakfast is continental, and simple but delicious - and if you really must have a full English (heaven forfend), there's a kitchen you can use, or cafés you can go out to.

We were very pleased we chose Villa St. Simon, and if wine is your thing, or you want it to be your thing, you really must go there. And even if it isn't, you should go there, as it's just lovely. Oh, and did I mention the wine?

Room Tip: Middle floors in the main building. We liked the front, for the view and the quiet at night, but the...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casa_Siete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blaye
0.3 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
0.1 mi away
Villa Premayac
Villa Premayac
#4 of 4 in Blaye
44 reviews
6.2 mi away
Chateau Cordeillan-Bages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Relais de Margaux
Relais de Margaux
#1 of 2 in Margaux
674 reviews
3.5 mi away
La Closerie des Vignes
La Closerie des Vignes
#1 of 1 in Saint-Ciers-De-Canesse
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clos Reaud de la Citadelle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St. Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St. Simon

Address: 8 cours du General de Gaulle, 33390, Blaye, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Blaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blaye
Price Range: £74 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa St Simon - Your home from home in Bordeaux. Villa St Simon in Bordeaux offers charming period furnished rooms and modern equipped self-catering apartments. The 1860 villa is an ideal base for your guided or self-explored wine tours in the Bordeaux region and a great place for a relaxing holiday. Blaye is in the heart of the Côtes de Blaye and Côtes de Bourg winelands and only a 20min ferry trip away from the Medoc with its famous first growths and a 40min drive away from the City of Bordeaux and St Emilion. The Citadel, UNESCO World Heritage site, traditional French cuisine, and great wines of the region will make your stay with us a unique and memorable experience - that should not be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Villa St. Simon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing