We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Include this in your trip”
Review of Villa St. Simon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa St. Simon
Ranked #2 of 8 Blaye B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a fantastic place to stay outside of Bordeaux. Clarissa and Les are great hosts and make you feel very welcome and comfortable. Parking is no problem and is right outside the B&B. The double room we had was a good size with a wardrobe for hanging clothes. The en-suite bathroom was large and included two wash basins in addition to the bath/shower. Breakfast was typically french and very satisfying, including plenty of juice, yoghurt, fresh fruit, croissants, bread and a great selection of jams. We stayed there for a total of 5 nights and three occasions had dinner in their restaurant, which is right behind the Villa. We can certainly recommend the food. It was excellent each time. Each day the restaurant offers both a selection of tapas and a number of main courses, salads and deserts. We also attended a session by Les on 'wine debunking' which was held in La Galerie and was extremely informative and very amusing. Les and Clarissa also provide a number of wine tours and if you are in this area you should definitely take one of these. We went on one in the Medoc area. Les is very knowledgeable about the wine and is well known in the Bordeaux area so consequently on these tours you will get to visit wine chateaux that would normally be difficult to see. The tours leave from the Villa in their mini bus. When we went their was only 4 of us with Matthieu, a very knowledgeable waiter at the Villa, providing the driving and commentary. This was an exceptional day thanks to Matthieu and his knowledge and contacts at the chateaux wineries we toured.
The Villa is situated in the small town of Blye, north east of Bordeaux. Bu it is a great spot if you just want to take it easy for a few days to recover from jet lag. The town has its own Citadel with a number of shops and restaurants to visit. There are a number of other interesting towns around to visit and St Emillion is within about 45 mins drive and definitely worth a visit. We also found a cave, used from 60,000 years ago up until the last few hundred years, with cave painting in it. Well worth a visit. Ask Clarissa for any assistance and she will be only too happy to help and point you in the right direction. She can also provide you with a number of excellent restaurant suggestions if you want to eat somewhere other than La Gallerie.
Thanks again Clarissa and Less. You will see us again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trottant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed here for a week on an annual girls-trip in one of the apartments. A wonderful and very comfortable room with lots of space to stretch out. We could not have asked for more hospitality from Les, Clarissa and Matthew. You could tell that they genuinely wished for us to have a wonderful time and made us feel like true guests in their home. We ended up taking all of their offered tours and would highly recommend them all. Wonderful place to stay!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Uscren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We didn't stay here but accidentally arrived here thinking this was our accommodation and so pleased we did bump into Clarissa! She showed us exactly where our accommodation apartment was (behind theirs), invited us to a wine 'debunking' at their restaurant then to a trip to St Emilion and also to join their guests for breakfast as well.
Hospitality plus here, we may not have been their accommodation guests but even so were made to feel more than welcome. Already have friends I may just refer to stay here with Clarissa and Les! Thanks guys for your hospitality.
Kemm and Brenda - the Aussies over behind you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kaybee57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Enjoyed our stay in Blaye, and didn't stray far from Villa St Simon as our hosts, Les and Clarissa, made us feel very much at home and welcome. Room was extremely comfortable. Restaurant associated with Villa St Simon, La Galerie, was interesting, and reasonable. Lovely tapas selection, and great steaks. All very fresh. Good fun vibe. Popular with locals. Would definitely return, and recommend. Les arranges a variety of wine tours, but we just felt like relaxing on this occasion!

Room Tip: Rose Bellevue room is three floors up, with no lift. Wouldn't recommend for anyone who has trou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EvieCostaMesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Girls getaway in Bordeaux could not have been better. We were greeted at the airport by Matthew (the new Thomas) and arrived at Villa St Simon on Thursday afternoon and had a "Debunking of Wine" class on Thursday evening with Matthew, very informative. On Friday, Clarissa arranged for Les to take us to a local Chateau and Saturday Les arranged a most enjoyable visit at Cantinot with the winemaker/owner. Sunday we explored the town and the Citadel. Monday, Matthew took us to St. Emillion, Tuesday, Matthew took us to Sauternes, Wednesday we went with Les to the Medoc and Thursday, we were off to Cognac for a visit to a small distillery and a very large one (Hennessey). Quite exhausted, Matthew got us back to the airport on Friday, very sad to leave! All of the tours arranged by Villa St Simon were great, lunch was always delicious and both the food and wine were plentiful. I highly recommend allowing Clarissa, Les and Matthew set up your trip to Bordeaux, you will not be disappointed. Thank you Matthew for allowing me to ride "shotgun".

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the two apartments on the property. Three bedrooms with separate beds for 5. K...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruovick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was my first trip to Villa St Simon, but the 3rd for the hen of our party, my sister. And what a weekend we had. The welcome from Les and Clarissa was warm and they embraced our group of 22 hens with open arms. The rooms are beautiful, grand and very clean. Some of us stayed in the self catering apartments next door, which were perfect, fully serviced and we didn't want to leave. Les and the team at Villa St Simon were accomodating of all our requests, joined in the celebrations and helped make the weekend one to remember. The wine was excellent, accomodation beautiful, and a place I hope to return to on a regular occasion.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAuzenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

22 of us decended on Villa St Simon for a hen weekend. What we wanted was to relax in the day and party at night, and this is exactly what we were able to do.

In the lead up to trip Les and Clarissa had been extremely helpful and they couldn't have made us all feel more welcome when we arrived. We had free run of the place when were there, with the team who run the Villa always on hand should we need them.

Villa St Simon is a beautiful place to stay and we couldn't have had a better time.

If you like nice wine, good food and a friendly face to show you around, this is the place to stay in Bordeaux.

If you're able to do 2am karaoke in the wine cella, there's nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: Rousselle on the first floor has doors that lead out on to a balcony with a beautiful view. It was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Blaye hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Premayac
Villa Premayac
#4 of 4 in Blaye
46 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clos Reaud de la Citadelle
3.9 mi away
La Maison De Jean
La Maison De Jean
#1 of 1 in Saint-Androny
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Logis La Citadelle de Blaye
8 mi away
Chateau Bavolier
Chateau Bavolier
#4 of 8 in Blaye
11 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chambres d'Hotes de l'Estuaire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa St. Simon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa St. Simon

Address: 8 cours du General de Gaulle, 33390, Blaye, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Gironde > Blaye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Blaye
Price Range: £84 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Villa St Simon - Your home from home in Bordeaux. Villa St Simon in Bordeaux offers charming period furnished rooms and modern equipped self-catering apartments. The 1860 villa is an ideal base for your guided or self-explored wine tours in the Bordeaux region and a great place for a relaxing holiday. Blaye is in the heart of the Côtes de Blaye and Côtes de Bourg winelands and only a 20min ferry trip away from the Medoc with its famous first growths and a 40min drive away from the City of Bordeaux and St Emilion. The Citadel, UNESCO World Heritage site, traditional French cuisine, and great wines of the region will make your stay with us a unique and memorable experience - that should not be missed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Villa St. Simon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing