We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Excellent in every way”
other traveller has booked this property
The courtyard area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The courtyard area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
43 reviews
The courtyard area.
Dine alfresco
Barbecue in the private courtyard
Aerial view of the Citadel a UNESCO world heritage site, just 200 meters from our property.
View looking up the stairwell.
Ground floor of the stairwell.
View from the stairwell, looking through the lounge into the courtyard.
Stairs leading down to the wine cellar.
The old well that used to provide water to the property. The pumping mechanism is still in place.
The ferry to cross the Gironde Estuary  into the Medoc wine region.
Fort Medoc, on of the first attractions when crossing over the Gironde Estuary.
Driving the D2 road through the Medoc! Amazing wine country.
Driving the D2 road through the Medoc! Amazing wine country.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blaye, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rachel_Ga...
Galway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for six nights with our one-year-old, the apartment was clean, comfortable, spacious and nicely decorated, obviously recently renovated and very well maintained. The kitchen and the whole apartment are very well equipped, everything we could have needed was there. Blaye is lovely, the Citadelle is amazing and is well worth visiting, even more than once. It is helpful to have a car there, there are lots of nice places within easy reach, for example local wineries which gave us a very warm welcome. Parking is very easy. If you are in Blaye on a Wednesday or Saturday morning, go to the market and pick up some great fresh food to cook in your kitchen or on the barbecue at Chez Simon.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The space and comfort of the apartment, and the location which was very convenient.
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike about this place
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kaybee57
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely homely guest apartment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Tricky to find and get to but a well appointed apartment with everything needed for our few days here. Perfect for walking to markets on Market day and a stroll across to discover the Citadel and all it's offerings. We used to outdoor area to take our lunch out to one day but there's also a cosy little lounge with a fireplace that would be well used in winter months I imagine.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susie721
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Very good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The apartment was easy to find, spacious, clean and well equipped. Restaurants and Saturday Market are within walking distance.Very good value.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill-Juli...
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Just Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Chez Simon is THE perfect place to stay in the Bordeaux Region.
The one bedroom apartment was tastefully decorated, as was the whole building.
The furnishings and appliances were of the highest standards which made for our perfect week sojourn.
Booking was easy, Frank (the owner) was extremely helpful and the building is exactly as portrayed on the web.
Blaye itself was a good village with markets on Wednesday & Saturday, good Leclerc supermarket and close & easy access to the ferry and well positioned to tour the many vineyards.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ana P
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I have been moved to write my first ever review given how brilliant Chez Simon was! The booking process was straight forward, the apartment was clean, spacious and had everything you could ask for, and the location was perfect to explore the area.

Highly recommended!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray A
Hillcrest, South Africa
2 reviews
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Chez Simon is great - Well positioned a short walk from all that Blaye has to offer, and deep in the heart of the Bordeaux wine-lands. There are a selection of restaurants within walking distance. The best of all is the Chez Simon apartment building - internally completely modern and very tastefully finished, with all the appliances and mod-cons that one could wish for.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The beautifully refurbished apartment and the communal areas
Liked least: The creaking floors from the upstairs apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey606
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good base to explore the region”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed a week here. We found booking our apartment at Chez Simon very easy. The apartment looked exactly as it does on the website.
The apartment was clean, we did have an issue with stained bedding, but there was a spare set which were clean & we received a prompt response from Frank when we commented on it.
The kitchen is very well stocked, we loved using herbs from the garden to cook with, a nice touch we thought. We used the DVD library too. The guide that was left in the apartment was great, we did the 4 day trips & went to most of the recommended places to eat.
We had a lovely time here, it's safe, clean and very well equipped, we would stay here again.
A couple of things to note:
The apartments are in a 3 storey (beautiful) town hous.
Blaye is a nice town, but very quiet, even on a Saturday night most places are quiet from 10.30pm.
There is nobody on site at Chez Simon, so if you can take something with wifi access, do so that you can email if need be.
You will need a car!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The style of accomodation
Liked least: No spare pillows
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$108
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing