We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect little gem full of character and the...”
other traveller has booked this property
Full kitchen everything you would expect at home.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Full kitchen everything you would expect at home.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Full kitchen everything you would expect at home.
Barbecue in the private courtyard
Aerial view of the Citadel a UNESCO world heritage site, just 200 meters from our property.
View looking up the stairwell.
Ground floor of the stairwell.
View from the stairwell, looking through the lounge into the courtyard.
Stairs leading down to the wine cellar.
The old well that used to provide water to the property. The pumping mechanism is still in place.
The courtyard area.
The ferry to cross the Gironde Estuary  into the Medoc wine region.
Fort Medoc, on of the first attractions when crossing over the Gironde Estuary.
Driving the D2 road through the Medoc! Amazing wine country.
Driving the D2 road through the Medoc! Amazing wine country.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Blaye, Gironde, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
carmyNkez
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect little gem full of character and the feel of local ambience.”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We absolutely loved our stay at Chez Simon, we wish we could have stayed longer. Our studio apartment had everything we needed for a short stay. They are spotlessly clean and comfortable. We loved the beautiful old walled courtyard where we had a bbq one of the nights. The location is fabulous to explore the local villages and winelands in the beautiful Bordeaux region.
The fresh farmers markets of local produce is fabulous. The oysters were delish!!!
Thank you to Mia, from the enquiry right through to booking and the check-in process was very professional and informative.
Thank you to Frank and his wife for being on hand to answer any questions or give great tips on the area.
Without a doubt this is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Bordeaux region. We will be back and highly recommend Chez Simon.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary W
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Treasure in Bordeaux district”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Chez Simon is an excellent spot to stay over while enjoying the Bordeaux region.

The units are very well set up with thought clearly having gone into everything. They are spotlessly clean, perfectly maintained and well equipped.

Mia handled our booking so professionally and courteously. Well done Mia. Frank was on hand at the unit to give local advice and not to mention garlic and ice. It is so useful being a self catering with a lovely courtyard to enjoy your meals.

The Bordeaux district is beautiful and well worthwhile a visit and, if you are in the area, Chez Simon is the place to stay. I recommend it without hesitation. Well done.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arvid O
Palm Coast, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
741 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
“Enjoyable 4 night stay in a 1 BR Condo”
Reviewed 26 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The unit was conveniently located within walking distance to the Citadel, restaurants, the Wednesday market, and some small shops. Parking was difficult to find right near the accommodations. We usually had to park about 1 and 1/2 blocks away in front of the park. The condo was very well equipped and we ate all our breakfasts here. It was very spacious and quiet for being in the heart of the city. I highly recommend the restaurant La Galerie, just 100 feet down the street. The owner, Leslie puts on wine tastings and tours in Bordeaux.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location and amenities
Liked least: Parking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark m
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This was one of the best accommodation opportunities I have ever experienced-first class plus!”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

The apartment is ***** or better if one could rank it so. The furnishings, finishes, kitchen and laundry equipment were first class. The place was spotless. The public recreation areas were charming. Easy parking was available for our car usually virtually at our front door, and only twice a block away. Blaye is a delightful and friendly village.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louise M
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Modern, clean apartment in Blaye!”
Reviewed 21 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband and I enjoyed the little neighborhood, the easy access to the surrounding area and especially the clean and efficient apartment we stayed in (#3). Our only complaint and, it did make a huge impact on our stay, was the size of the bed (small and hard) and the pillows. Both were inadequate and not comfortable. The pillows are not the typical kind you sleep with and the bed was tough for 2 people to sleep in.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellie5758
northern ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We booked apartment 3 because of its situation in the heart of the winelands and the Tripadvisor reviews. The apartment was probably the best equipped self catering we have used either in France or Italy and everything was very clean, however a few small but important issues let it down. Firstly it states that the apartment has air conditioning, yes it does.....in the living room but the bedroom only has a floor standing fan and with temperatures @ 30 degrees it was barely enough. Secondly, to get to apartments 3 & 4, 38 stairs have to be climbed so a large suitcase is difficult to manage. Thirdly,we stayed in September when world events were changing on a daily basis & the television did not have one English language channel ( nor a sports channel to the disappointment of my hubby) . Car parking was not as easy as we had hoped either. On a positive note we enjoyed being able to walk to the market( we did use the barbecue ) and the excellent local restaurants.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Position in town.
Liked least: Not full air conditioning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hargraves...
Somerset West, South Africa
1 review
“Apartment that has it all”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a spacious, beautiful apartment with everything that you need! The kitchen has all the utensils you need to cook a meal. We stayed there with our two young children and it was extremely comfortable. The owner has a good selection of DVD's for both children and adults and we enjoyed making use of the braai in the lovely courtyard, where you are allowed to pick fresh herbs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior was beautiful and spacious
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing