We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely courtyard lunch.”

Hostellerie Le Donjon
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Bourdeilles
Price range: US$18 - US$35
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely courtyard lunch.”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

After a pleasant stroll through beautiful Bourdeilles stopped here for lunch. Staff were attentive and friendly. My husband had magret de canard and I had tagliatelle with Roquefort and walnuts both dishes were delicious. The courtyard setting was lovely and perfect for a hot sunny day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TraceyA707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    17
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“No effort”
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch. Limited choice set price menu with food just so-so. Found the service rude - plates removed before asking, as soon as a person finished their food. Dolce Vita, 2 minutes away, ten times better.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TeddyTokyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varaignes, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Why is it no-one in Bourdeilles can make decent coffee?”
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stopped here for a grande crème after having already been to the restaurant opposite. The coffee arrived but had the tell tale fake froth you get from a coffee machine. It was unfortunately only marginally better than the ditch-water we were served across the Place. So I drank a mouthful and returned it to the bar and asked for another shot of coffee to be added. It was then elevated to tepid from luke-warm and tasted slightly more like coffee but with a bitter edge. What is it with the patrons of Bourdeilles? Has the heat wave exhausted them so much that they can't be bothered to serve decent coffee? I can only imagine that they rely on a steady flow of tourists who visit once only and don't feel the need to impress them. We were going to stay and eat but decided to move on. If you can't make coffee I'd rather not taste what come out of the kitchen.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nolind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In the middle of stunning Bourdeilles”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

We have stayed here several times in different seasons, and the beautiful building and courtyard never fail to impress. Le Donjon is right opposite the chateau in the heart of the unique village of Bourdeilles. The rooms are clean and filled with light. The restaurant is really good for both lunch and dinner with a wide range of options and is open from April till October. Even when you can't eat in the courtyard there is a cosy small indoor restaurant. We love it and will be back again soon

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dordogne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food ...great ambiance”
Reviewed 16 November 2012

I have a gite not far from Bourdeilles , I eat at le Donjon frequently and most of my guests eat there during their holiday ,they love the wonderful courtyard with the "sails" for protection from the midday sun . The food is delicious with an excellent choice of fresh produce. Just sitting at the front of the hotel/resturant looking at the wonderful medieval castle just across from le Donjon gives you an insite into past times & brings a smile to your face. A wonderful gunuine French village ,with le Donjon serving fantastic traditional french food . le Donjon is a place you must visit and Bourdeilles the place to experiance. Do not miss it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hostellerie Le Donjon also viewed

Bourdeilles, Dordogne
Bourdeilles, Dordogne
 

Been to Hostellerie Le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing