We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informal place full of friendly locals”

Hostellerie Le Donjon
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Bourdeilles
Price range: US$17 - US$35
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Informal place full of friendly locals”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Very well situated on the square where the market is held at the foot of the chateau. We stopped off for coffee a couple of times and for four of us it generally came to 10 euros. The tables are full of locals who were very friendly and seemed to be a meeting point for everyone in the village.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnabelleC180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    17
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food - well cooked in a relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed at the Donjon and enjoyed dinner and lunch - as well as enjoying some early evening aperitifs at the bar. It is located in the middle of a lovely village just below the walls of the chateau. The menu is not too large - always a good sign in my opinion. But offers a good selection of both meat, fish and salads. Including a number of duck dishes - not to be missed. Several menu options are available and offer great value. The owner is very welcoming. A really relaxed and informal bistro style atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon_Waterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kloosterzande, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No vegetarian main course. That sure is not of this day and age....”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The courtyard, where you can have your meal when the weather is nice, is absolutely stunning. The vast medieval walls, made of natural stone make you feel as if you are having your holiday in another era. Doctor Who revisited? We had friends (a Norwegian/Lithuanian couple) over and we thought this would be the ideal place to have our lunch. Starters, there was enough to choose from. The main courses unfortunately all were meat or fish. As I did not wanted to be the one that spoiled the fun I had some fish. It was fresh and tasted good. Fortunately -for me- it was only a small piece..... The waitress was not the most friendly person I have ever met, but she had quite a lot of work to do and was all on her own. Dessert again was no problem. All in all: I sincerely hope that the owner will soon understand that the world is larger than just France and that, in that world, there are more vegetarians than he thinks or wants to know. I would consider to give 4 'stars' when there would be at least one vegetarian main course. Even if it is just an omelet with mushrooms or nice fresh herbs......You see I don't ask that much!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarleenVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourdeilles, France
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Le donjon”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

The desserts are divine, and when the owner is the chef you can be guaranteed to have excellent food. The location is fantastic, with a feeling of being right in the heart of mediaeval village life.
Take your time, savour the atmosphere, and enjoy your day, this is the right place to be.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kay m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next night!”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This was by far the best meal we had in france! The Escargots were out of this world with a walnut and parlsey pesto and the duck confit was amazing and served over a cassoulet with duck sausage. Definitely a splurge kind of a meal, but awesome.

The server didn't speak much English but we had some incredibly funny moments with hand gestures--imagine our friend inadvertently making the finger circle with one had and moving his fingers in and out of to ask if something came stuffed. The waitress just started dying laughing and said "sorry some things are just international!" We had a good laugh and a great meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Summera3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hostellerie Le Donjon also viewed

Bourdeilles, Dordogne
Bourdeilles, Dordogne
 

Been to Hostellerie Le Donjon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing