We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful, relaxing location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Les Chauses

A delightful cottage in an enchanting setting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A delightful cottage in an enchanting setting
The pool is 10mx5m and up to 2m deep Attractive patio with a sun canopy for shade when it's hot.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
A delightful cottage in an enchanting setting
The pool is 10mx5m and up to 2m deep
Attractive patio with a sun canopy for shade when it's hot.
The front of the house and barn
The living room
The living room has stone walls and oak beams
Kitchen/Dining room
The kitchen/dining room
The master bedroom
The master bedroom
The en suite bathroom for the master bedroom
Family room - 1 double and 1 single
Family room - 1 double and 1 single
Bathroom with P-shaped bath-shower
Twin bedroom
The kitchen patio
There are umbrellas for shade when it's hot
View from the bottom of the pool
The pool at night
The lower garden extends into woods
A 'secret path' leads to a picnic area in the woods
Private picnic area in the woods
The lower garden extends into woods
A pair of deer seen from the kitchen window
Looking back from the lower garden
The cottage is on the upper left.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bourdeilles, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
V2717FKro...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful, relaxing location”
Reviewed 16 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Gorgeous location surrounded by beautiful, rolling countryside. Perfect for cycling (bikes and locks provided) and walking. Interesting, furnished chateau in Bourdeilles with great views of the river. Swimming pool a real bonus. Accommodation first rate - clean, well equipped, with good showers.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. we're very happy that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SharonD32...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Spent a wonderful 2 weeks here. The locality is beautiful and very peaceful. The cottage was impeccably clean and had everything we needed.
The pool is stunning and looked after by Ron who comes twice a week to tend it. Bourdeilles is only a 5 min drive and Brantome only 15 mins.
Would highly recommend this cottage and we will certainly be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2017
Sharon's, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esher_res...
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Reviewed 24 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

A beautiful and very relaxing stay at les Chauses. We stayed for a week but really we would have loved another week. The weather was scorching, in the 30's in May! The area is so quiet and peaceful, we were amazed by the amount of stars you can see at night.
We took our bikes (although you can hire them here) it is a fantastic area to cycle around as the roads are so quiet and there are many restaurants within a close distance. We went to the Moulin du Pont in Lisle (took the long way round) the position on the river is beautiful and they even have their own trout on the menu.

The house was very clean and the kitchen has everything you would need. I would certainly recommend the property and hope to be back again next year!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to add your review. We're glad you enjoyed your holiday and hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidcham...
Settle, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect getaway from everything property”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Perfect getaway from everything. It has everything you need including a fantastic pool. The temperature was in the 30s so it was well used. Plenty of wildlife.The bathrooms are good and the en-suite one is particularly good. The area is brilliant ,very rural but not far to go to Bourdeilles and Brantome which has a brilliant market. The bikes you can hire are very good. Would thoroughly recommend this place if you want a relaxing holiday. We have just booked again for next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
David, thank you very much for taking the time to add your review, and for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregor1y
gregor1y
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best French holiday cottage”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

5 of us including our teenage daughter and our 2 dogs stated here recently for 2 weeks. We have stayed at many French holiday homes over the last 15 years and Les Chauses was one of the best!
A great pool, lovely peaceful surroundings, comfortable beds and furniture, a big TV and the bathrooms had what my wife described as the best showers!
The dogs loved the space and some great dog walks around.

We will return!

Thanks.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2016
Thank for your kind comments, Greg.
Andrew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimoneBA2...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great farmhouse, garden and pool - we loved it”
Reviewed 11 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelled with husband, 2 children and two adult friends.
A great farmhouse, with lovely pool and garden. Very spacious and well equipped. In a peaceful and beautiful location.
One of the best rentals we have ever had and would return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2016
Thank you for your comments. We're very happy that you enjoyed your holiday and we hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arcaccoun...
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Most Wonderful Place”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have returned back to Wales after we spent the most wonderful 2 weeks staying in Les Chauses.......Peaceful, Relaxing and Beautiful accommodation, extremely well equipment and comfortable. We felt at home as soon as we arrived and couldn't believe how beautiful it was....really didn't want to leave. Sat out every morning for breakfast after a short journey for bread from Bourdeilles village, went daily to the village for our 1 year old lab to have a swim in the river (she loved it!!) she loved waking every morning being able to wonder around the extensive gardens and play with sticks. The pool was bliss, especially in the heat during our second week, Ron came twice a week to clean the pool and was at the end of the phone if we needed anything, which to be fair we didn't. Both Ron & Sonia are lovely people and are there is you need them and wouldn't dream of imposing themselves on you. Good place to stay as you are close to everything, Brantome, Periguex and many others, Restaurants all welcome dogs. Kayaking on the Dronne 'Allo Caneos' spoke english well, really good fun for all the family. Seriously would recommend a stay to anyone. Hoping to go back again...just wish we hadn't had to leave.
PS Wifi is excellent and worked with all our mobiles and tablets including iPhones.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing