We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daylight Robbery”
Review of Chateau De La Cote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau De La Cote
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Daylight Robbery”
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Beautiful building, shame about the manager, rooms, service and price. Was mis sold a package from Venere.com and Hotels.com (both the same company). The hotel would not honour what we had been sold (no trading standards in France) so we were potentially stranded.
After a days travelling there were no facilities for our baby, insects all over the tatty room and the mis sold accommodation, we decided to leave and paid a cash cancellation fee. The manager put this cash in his pocket and then after we had left having spent two hours there he charged our bank card with three nights stay, this was dishonest and fraudulent, they could not offer us what we had believed we were going to get, so we left and have been penalised.
This is a beautiful area of France and thank heavens we had friends only an hour away, just do not use this hotel as you will be bound to be very disappointed.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    114
    37
    21
    25
See reviews for
71
248
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

After a long day of travel from Burgundy we arrived at the Chateau de la Cote. We had great expectations bc of the appearance of the exterior and the misleading photos of the interior. The location was very remote, happened to be much too far from the area we had planned to see during our stay. We had booked 3 nights. We informed the desk clerk immediately on arrival that we would only be staying for one night bc of the remote location. The clerk was completely rude and inappropriate in his attitude, saying we would have to pay for the full stay no matter what. When we saw our room, we were also convinced this was not the place for us. We then went to dinner, waiting for one hour and 15 minutes before being served any food at all. the service was beyond terrible. I felt bad for the staff who were clearly out of their element, untrained it would appear.

Let me say, the exterior of this chateau is lovely. the inside is creaky, old, and not at all what one would expect from a chateau property. We have stayed in many chateau hotels in France which have been delightful in every way. This one was not at all. A complete Disappointment.
We left the following morning even though the hotel staff said we would be charged for the full 3 nights. the cancellation policy states that you would only be charged for one night if you cancelled.

When we returned home we contacted our Visa claims department, explained the situation and requested they refund our card for those other two nights. the did an investigation and they did give us the refund.

Room Tip: We had the largest, supposedly best suite in the hotel. It was below par in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonavent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We spent 3 nights here with 2 children. A beautiful chateau in spacious grounds a little off the beaten track but within an easy drive of Brantome which is full of good restaurants and cafes. The rooms etc are dated but this is almost in keeping with the old world character of the place. We had a Good meal on the terrace one evening. Food was good, service was relaxed and you felt you were eating as guests of the chateau rather than in a restaurant. As with other reviewers we felt the breakfast was overpriced for quite a basic offering so opted to eat elsewhere on the final morning. Overall would recommend as a place to stay if you are looking for old world charm in beautiful surroundings but avoid if you want all mod cons and well appointed rooms. We would certainly go back next time we are in the region.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Acjd_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful castle, a castle like it should be in France.
When this is said, the service, food and wine prices are not up to standard of the region.
The hotel has a nice pool and some lovely grounds.
An extra 5€ charge for wi-fi acces is not ok in 2012.
In conclusion you should try it out for the castle itself, not for service, food and price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We stayed one night at this beautiful hotel. We were made very welcome and given a beautiful room at much the same cost as a Campanile( less in fact as we weren't charged extra for our two dogs.
It was a little difficult to find but well worth it - There were some nice looking restaurants in Bourdeilles but we were too tired to go back after checking in . We had a drink in the very regal lounge before eating in the hotel restaurant- A good menu excellently prepared and served- just a trifle expensive!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My husband and I recently spent a night at this beautiful chateau on our way north. We came across it by accident and it was like finding hidden treasure! We had a lovely, comfortable room with a very good bathroom and the staff were very friendly and helpful - sadly their own restaurant wasn't open that evening and so they directed us to the nearby village of Bourdeilles where there was a choice of cafes and restaurants to choose from. We would certainly stay there again - it was extremely good value.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor on the front of the building - it was quiet with a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SARAH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I have just returned from touring the area. The Chateau was a good choice for our 4 night stay. The staff were friendly and helpful, evening drinks on the lawn after a days touring was restful and the pool area was well kept. The drive up to the Chateau was rather narrow but opened out to a lovely first view of the Chateau. We only had one evening meal which was eaten on the terrace at a leisurely pace and provided excellent value, (though we had no bad meals during our visit to France). Our room though perhaps dated reflected the feel of the chateau and we appreciated the lack of chrome and overmodernisation.
We would certainly return if we tour this area again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourdeilles
4.8 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
7.7 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
5.0 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Charbonnel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De La Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Cote

Property: Chateau De La Cote
Address: 24310 Bourdeilles, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bourdeilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau De La Cote 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of green Périgord , situated between Périgueux and Brantome, " discover the charm of the past, in one of the most beautiful castles of the Dordogne hotels , whose origins date back to the fifteenth century."17 rooms and suites, spacious and bright , with antique furnishings combined with modern comforts. Each has its own character and offers stunning views over the rolling countryside and the old park . Romantic " les Moulineaux " suite with canopy bed has a private access to the terrace of the dungeon. Absolute calm. Pets allowed .The castle restaurant : generous traditional and gourmet cuisine based on fresh, seasonal and local produce prepared by our chef Marie Verdier . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau De La Cote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Cote Hotel Brantome
Chateau De La Cote Brantome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing