We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world/historic chateau”
Review of Chateau De La Cote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau De La Cote
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This property is located a short 8 km distance from beautiful Brantome, and 3 km from the charming/rustic village of Bourdeilles (if so inclined, take a walk along a narrow country road from the chateau to Bourdeilles).

If you like a quiet, away-from-everything place to stay, then this is for you. You drive a short distance from the main road and arrive in this amazing chateau in the middle of rolling fields. You can just imagine how the the royalty of old would survey their lands from such a place!

Olivier and his father were very involved in the running of their hotel. We had some nice talks with Olivier about the chateau's history and he mentioned that we chose the best rooms (21 and 23). We recommend 23 if you wish to feel the majesty of the hotel. Big room: spacious sitting area, big bed, big bathrom in the tower. You actually have the whole tower to yourself - access the top from a spiral staircase in the bathroom and you can take the sun, have meals/drinks, view the countryside for miles.

There is a pool and playground for kids, as well as walking paths around the property. Relaxing stay in a tranquil environment!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Syed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were very disappointed with the state of our room when we arrived. Some may call it old world charm but it was seriously outdated. The carpet was frayed, the bed sheets worn, bed throw old, magnolia woodchip walls. The antique chair was in need of repair and the bedside lamp was dusty and would look at home in a second junk shop. It was just creepy. There was nothing homely about the room, lots of velvet, dust and clashing colours! Please avoid if you prefer a clean well looked after hotel. We spoke to the hotel manager and merely said it was not to our taste and were willing to lose our deposit. He then seemed outraged threatened to charge us for our 4 night booking. He was not willing to entertain a cancellation and was arrogant, rude and seemed mentally unstable. We could not stay at the hotel as he made us feel unwelcome and we left after speaking to our bank and were willing to dispute any payments on our credit card. I have read similar reviews about the manager. A very difficult man to deal with! Please look at this hotel in person before booking. It is stunning from outside but the inside is a serious disappointment,

Room Tip: Avoid this place!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Driving over the hill our breath was taken away seeing this beautiful Chateau on the hillside in front of us! We had planned to stay one night, but ended up leaving wishing we had booked more! We were welcomed with a smile and shown to our room, in one of the towers. We had a glass of champagne sat on the lawn looking in the sunshine and soaked up the lovely castle in front of us. Eric showed us to dinner and helped advise in clear english the food and choose a wine. I think the food was fantastic, one of the best meals i have ever eaten! Brilliant wine! Thank you to Michael and Oliver and your team for a relaxing and lovely overnight stay in such a beautiful charming place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoverPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile


A real renaissance castle surrounded by unspoiled hills. Large, bright rooms, with antique furniture and high windows overlooking green meadows. No luxury, no design and no high tech but charme and silence, and genuine hospitality. Good, basic breakfast.

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Giulia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We had an incredible extended family experience in this Chateau. We hired the entire castle and could not have been happier. Absolutely beautiful ... everything was great. Food was awesome. Do not expect modern.... that would be crazy this is a very old castle with all the charm - BUT it is not modern. It is very comfortable and exceptionable for such an old castle. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USAtemples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

An absolute quality Chateau to stay. We got engaged here in August and stayed for a few days to relax and enjoy the beautiful region in which this georgeaus Chateau is set. Beautiful food and wonderful service including a magnificent Champagne list from the cellar. Highly recommend. Bring on our next visit.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I was so surprised that the clientele was French! We were two couples and we all agreed it was the worst meal of our almost three week trip. The prices were very high for the ingredients and quality of the food Nd the wine price list was way over priced for the selection. Avoid this restaurant

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Bebsremote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourdeilles
7.7 mi away
Le Moulin du Roc
Le Moulin du Roc
#1 of 2 in Champagnac de Belair
398 reviews
4.8 mi away
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
Le Moulin de l'Abbaye
#2 of 6 in Brantome
474 reviews
4.1 mi away
Le Moulin De Vigonac
Le Moulin De Vigonac
#1 of 6 in Brantome
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hotel Mercure Perigueux Centre Historique
5 mi away
Hostellerie du Perigord Vert
5.1 mi away
Les Jardins de Brantome
Les Jardins de Brantome
#3 of 6 in Brantome
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau De La Cote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau De La Cote

Address: 24310 Bourdeilles, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bourdeilles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bourdeilles
Price Range: £63 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau De La Cote 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the heart of green Périgord , situated between Périgueux and Brantome, " discover the charm of the past, in one of the most beautiful castles of the Dordogne hotels , whose origins date back to the fifteenth century."17 rooms and suites, spacious and bright , with antique furnishings combined with modern comforts. Each has its own character and offers stunning views over the rolling countryside and the old park . Romantic " les Moulineaux " suite with canopy bed has a private access to the terrace of the dungeon. Absolute calm. Pets allowed .The castle restaurant : generous traditional and gourmet cuisine based on fresh, seasonal and local produce prepared by our chef Marie Verdier . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chateau De La Cote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Cote Hotel Brantome
Chateau De La Cote Brantome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing