We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A charming simple restaurant with entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Les Menestrels - CLOSED

Les Menestrels
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$37
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A charming simple restaurant with entertainment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here on 17 Sep. The interesting classical guitar entertainment by the patron and hs friend was excellent... Food was ok too... Good value. It all lifted our tired state to enjoy a happy evening.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sapdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    52
    10
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun but not particularly great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

The food is OK - not great, and not particularly cheap either - classic prix fixee fare. But the owner is a great crooner with his guitar, and the staff are friendly and all joined in every now and then. They were very sweet when our kids curled up and went to sleep on our laps as the evening got late

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SGFoodCritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
252 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Excellent regional food with Great singer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We were looking for a place to lunch just before visiting the Castle of Bourdeilles. We decided to try the Menestrels. We were very pleased with the food which for 19.50 Euros menu includes a Kir peach for the aperitif. The owner is a former pro singer that was on tours from the 70's to the 80's. I am rarely entertained by a band during my meal but really enjoyed this one. The sound was excellent, very clear and good quality but not too loud as unfortunately it is so often the case. So we were able to keep up with our social chat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maravalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stumbled across Les Menestrels due to the fact the Griffon was fully booked. However despite not booking we we shown to a table looking toward the magnifcent Castle. The service was first class, English is spoken and for anything you were unsure about you could get an English menu to help you along.
The fixed €25 menu was excellent, traditional Perignon fare for starters included lovely salads whilst main courses in cluded Duck breast, Red Mullet and Beef Steak - all well presented without any pretencousness - if there is such a word...Creme Brulee, tart au tan for desserts. 6 people ate and all were more than satisifed.
The music playing created a lovely ambience, we went on a monday night and across the square a local troop musicians kicked off in between the restaurant singer complete with a rubber knife juggler! Even the local dog is friendly. If we were here any longer a second visit would be on the cards.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichealCaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We loved this restaurant and chose to go twice within a 5 day stay in the region. The food was superb and very good value for the set meals. The atmosphere was lovely, with the host playing live music on his guitar and singing, but without it being overly loud or intrusive (a mixture of 60s/70s classics). The village is beautiful - all in all a great experience - would definitely recommend.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ralphthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Les Menestrels also viewed

Bourdeilles, Dordogne
Bourdeilles, Dordogne
 
Bourdeilles, Dordogne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing