We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding assistance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Villa Romaine
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carsac-Aillac
Certificate of Excellence
Rangiora
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding assistance”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We started a cycle trip here & were very impressed by the welcome & helpfulness of the hosts. Spacious room, comfortable bed, great breakfast. However on the last day of our cycling we ended up here again very late owing to a wrongly programmed GPS. Our host drove us 10 km to our proper hotel & refused any payment! This after he had spent all day cleaning up after a wedding that had finished at 6 AM !
Great people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    74
    12
    13
    5
See reviews for
39
126
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Being the company owner of Deluxe Cycle Tours I chose to use this hotel some 7 years ago. We're still using now it as it is a tucked-away little gem right next to the River Dordogne. The owners are friendly and welcoming and the staff are just the same. If this hotel didn't live up to Deluxe Cycle Tours requirements then we wouldn't keep going back. The evening meals whether inside in the renovated buildings, or outside on the lovely terrace, are always of the highest quality and breakfast has a huge range of options to choose from.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deluxe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
princes risborough, uk
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed four nights in this hotel, which looks like a Roman Villa as you come through the gates. Good location just outside a small village but near to many interesting sights in the area. Friendly, helpful staff. We had a lovely big room with a huge bed (7' wide) - all very attractive. The continental breakfast was just right and it was nice to be served - a change from the usual buffet. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and, when we said we didn't want the full menu, we were allowed to have just two courses. The quality of the dishes was excellent. I had guinea fowl and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annecourtbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We picked this hotel from Alastair Sawday's "Special Places to Stay" and it was certainly that! The staff were helpful and welcoming and the dining room particularly was worth a visit. There was a wide choice on the menu with all the food well presented and quite delicious. My wife is a coeliac and therefore needed a gluten free diet. Help was readily available with her choices at dinner. This was not the same at breakfast, however with the hotel showing barely a nod to her needs with the ubiquitous bread and pastries. The Spanish have this requirement down to a fine art but the French really struggle to accommodate. We had a very acceptable room and not at all "spartan" as one reviewer commented.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annexe2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I expected a lot from this hotel. The location was rather good to visit the main attractions. We stayed in a superior room and the bed very comfortable. Therefore, the bathroom very average, small, poor ventilation (fog in the mirrors after a short shower and water all over the place...). The reception rather distant and not welcoming. The room was clean but akward to get at! On a second level of the building, the entrance was like a stock room with bicyles and things piled up, not my idea of a superior room or luxuous hotel! Expansive and poor breakfast and cold reception...not a place you want stay long. The supper excellent and rather expansive too 40 euros per person. So deception is my feeling for this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foulyn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, western australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

We had difficulty finding La villa Romaine as the signing on the road was not significant. However this was our only criticism. The venue, location and friendly welcome were perfect. The rooms are charming and had everything we needed. The restaurant is a beautiful room and the food was wonderful. Service was freindly but also non intrusive.

The grounds are lovely, setting very peaceful and beautiful. We stayed in November but imagine in the summer with the pool it must be heaven on earth. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank york8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The good news about this hotel is the beauty of the buildings (conceived to imitate a Roman forum) and of the location, near to the Dordogne river.

There is also bad news. The rooms (or at least the room we had) are more spartan than the outside appearance of the hotel would suggest. Not the luxury one would expect from the prices. The wifi system is the worst we have encountered in any French hotel. Each and every time you want to use it you need to go to reception to get a new code. The system not only fails to recognise you if you have left the hotel, it fails to recognise you if it has arbitrarily thrown you off - which it frequently does!

It is interesting to see in the tripadvisor reviews (especially the ones in French) how many criticise the hostility and rudeness of the proprietor. He was stunningly rude to me when I raised the question of the wifi, telling me that that was the way it was, that I should accept it, and that this sort of thing is more relaxed in the Dordogne than in Paris or London.

We will not be going again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carsac-Aillac
5.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
524 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
595 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#1 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
192 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
281 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Villa Romaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Villa Romaine

Property: Hotel La Villa Romaine
Address: Saint Rome, 24200 Carsac-Aillac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Carsac-Aillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carsac-Aillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Villa Romaine 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 mn from SARLAT, lovely hotel. Unique. Outstanding landscape overhanging the Dordogne river and its cliffs. Idyllic place. An historic establishment since the galloroman times till today. Luxurously appointed respecting the authenticity of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Villa Romaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Romaine
Hotel La Villa Romaine France/Carsac-Aillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing