We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great choice!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Villa Romaine
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carsac-Aillac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Romaine for one night while on a walking trip in the Dordogne and would happily return in the future. The hotel is beautifully appointed and combines a very pleasing mix of the old and new - some of the buildings are obviously from an earlier vintage but have been lovingly restored. It offers an oasis of peace and tranquility and a wonderful ambience. The rooms are very spacious featuring well appointed bathrooms. Sadly the restaurant was closed on the Monday evening we were there but an excellent alternative for dinner was arranged for us in the village and transport was provided, gratis.
It did not impact on us, but be mindful that the hotel is a little way out of the village. Breakfast was very good and beautifully presented and served. Staff throughout and service impeccable.
Must also mention a truly magnificent pool area!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

The hotel is out of the village so you would need a car to access it. Beautiful stone buildings ranged around a courtyard and decorated with beautiful roses and other flowers. Lovely pool with views out towards the River Dordogne. Large and very comfortable bedroom and bathroom. Fabulous dinner with an excellent wine list. Very helpful personnel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Very beautiful, romantic and absolutely quiet place. Beautiful and large rooms. Large pool with sufficient sun chairs and parasols. Magnificient french cuisine at reasonable prices, very beautiful courtyard where dinner is served, with lots of space between between the tables (this is rare in France!), extremely friendly, helpful and customer oriented staff and owners. The only (small) fault: The airco in the rooms is a bit too loud.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r-bier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We started a cycle trip here & were very impressed by the welcome & helpfulness of the hosts. Spacious room, comfortable bed, great breakfast. However on the last day of our cycling we ended up here again very late owing to a wrongly programmed GPS. Our host drove us 10 km to our proper hotel & refused any payment! This after he had spent all day cleaning up after a wedding that had finished at 6 AM !
Great people.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Being the company owner of Deluxe Cycle Tours I chose to use this hotel some 7 years ago. We're still using now it as it is a tucked-away little gem right next to the River Dordogne. The owners are friendly and welcoming and the staff are just the same. If this hotel didn't live up to Deluxe Cycle Tours requirements then we wouldn't keep going back. The evening meals whether inside in the renovated buildings, or outside on the lovely terrace, are always of the highest quality and breakfast has a huge range of options to choose from.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deluxe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed four nights in this hotel, which looks like a Roman Villa as you come through the gates. Good location just outside a small village but near to many interesting sights in the area. Friendly, helpful staff. We had a lovely big room with a huge bed (7' wide) - all very attractive. The continental breakfast was just right and it was nice to be served - a change from the usual buffet. We had dinner in the restaurant one evening and, when we said we didn't want the full menu, we were allowed to have just two courses. The quality of the dishes was excellent. I had guinea fowl and it was wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annecourtbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We picked this hotel from Alastair Sawday's "Special Places to Stay" and it was certainly that! The staff were helpful and welcoming and the dining room particularly was worth a visit. There was a wide choice on the menu with all the food well presented and quite delicious. My wife is a coeliac and therefore needed a gluten free diet. Help was readily available with her choices at dinner. This was not the same at breakfast, however with the hotel showing barely a nod to her needs with the ubiquitous bread and pastries. The Spanish have this requirement down to a fine art but the French really struggle to accommodate. We had a very acceptable room and not at all "spartan" as one reviewer commented.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annexe2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carsac-Aillac
5.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
586 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#6 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
676 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Le Renoir
Best Western Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
382 reviews
5.5 mi away
Clos La Boetie
Clos La Boetie
#34 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
110 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ibis Sarlat
Ibis Sarlat
#8 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Villa Romaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Villa Romaine

Address: Saint Rome, 24200 Carsac-Aillac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Carsac-Aillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carsac-Aillac
Price Range: £107 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Villa Romaine 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 mn from SARLAT, lovely hotel. Unique. Outstanding landscape overhanging the Dordogne river and its cliffs. Idyllic place. An historic establishment since the galloroman times till today. Luxurously appointed respecting the authenticity of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Villa Romaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Romaine
Hotel La Villa Romaine France/Carsac-Aillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing