We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure - a real pleasure!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel La Villa Romaine
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carsac-Aillac
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure - a real pleasure!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What a delight! A wondrous, truly picturesque, gem tucked away in the hills of the Dordogne, providing gorgeous views of the surrounds. The grand sandstone entry gates welcomed us warmly, epitomising the greeting from the friendly hosts. A charm-filled property, with beautifully landscaped gardens and surrounds, infinity pool and more, with spacious rooms, delightful well-appointed bathrooms, and genuinely friendly French hosts and lovely local food to match. Will always remember the perfect warm croissants brought directly to our breakfast table from the kitchen, when the staff noticed the buffet had none!
A total experience, highly recommended ... two nights insufficient, would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazza613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    74
    12
    13
    5
See reviews for
39
126
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canton of Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during August 2014. It is the perfect place to visit the Dordogne. Not only that but it is tranquil, in a beautiful setting and very well managed. The rooms are perfect, the pool is lovely, the food a delight and the staff courteous and discreet.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huw L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This is a world away from the madness in Sarlat. Tucked away in a residential neighborhood, this is a lovely quiet place to spend an evening. The restaurant is first rate and when the weather is good (as it was with us) the option to dine outside under the stars was magical.
My only complaint was the poor wifi reception from our room (#5). The only way to get a signal was to stand in the entrance hall near the the front door.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank conciergeinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hsinchu County, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel near Sarlat, it's kind of the place that I wanted to stay in south France. A beautiful swimming pool, beautiful rooms, friendly owner and staff, excellent chief, I really enjoyed the night that I spent here. The old-style stone building really attracted me. It's a pity that I can only stay here for 1 night.

在歐洲旅遊,其實飯店的星等我不是特別在意。就以這間飯店而言,雖然它是三星評價,但是卻比起我住過的四星飯店還來得令人印象深刻。裏裏外外都可以看到飯店主人的用心,不論是公共區域的佈置、清潔,飯店房間整體的舒適度、浴室設備也一應俱全,在在都讓人在旅程結束後,還會十分懷念這間飯店。它的精緻小巧(沒有很多的房間)、舒適、悠閒,恰恰就是我渴望能在南法旅程中體會到的住宿感覺。飯店餐廳的晚餐也十分美味可口,主廚平易近人,員工及老闆都十分友善。雖然飯店沒有電梯,但是行李都是由老闆及員工親自幫忙提上提下的。如果我有機會再來拜訪南法,這是一間我一定會再次住宿的飯店。

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved our visit to this hotel. The grounds are like being in a beautiful park. Relaxing at the pool after a day of sightseeing makes this perfect. The room was large and very comfortable.
The staff was so helpful in planning each days activities.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjzrsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
519 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I've had the distinct pleasure of staying here twice recently. Each time, I had to drag myself away quite unwillingly. The setting could not be more bucolic. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed. The village is a lovely 15-20 minute walk away. In season, the pool must be amazing. The food is amazing; the service impeccable.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JD28204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Africa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Romaine for one night while on a walking trip in the Dordogne and would happily return in the future. The hotel is beautifully appointed and combines a very pleasing mix of the old and new - some of the buildings are obviously from an earlier vintage but have been lovingly restored. It offers an oasis of peace and tranquility and a wonderful ambience. The rooms are very spacious featuring well appointed bathrooms. Sadly the restaurant was closed on the Monday evening we were there but an excellent alternative for dinner was arranged for us in the village and transport was provided, gratis.
It did not impact on us, but be mindful that the hotel is a little way out of the village. Breakfast was very good and beautifully presented and served. Staff throughout and service impeccable.
Must also mention a truly magnificent pool area!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mactraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carsac-Aillac
5.3 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
524 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
594 reviews
5.2 mi away
La Villa des Consuls
La Villa des Consuls
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Relais du Touron
Le Relais du Touron
#1 of 3 in Carsac-Aillac
192 reviews
3.3 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
281 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Peyrat
Hotel de Charme La Maison des Pe...
#1 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Villa Romaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Villa Romaine

Property: Hotel La Villa Romaine
Address: Saint Rome, 24200 Carsac-Aillac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Carsac-Aillac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Carsac-Aillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Villa Romaine 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 mn from SARLAT, lovely hotel. Unique. Outstanding landscape overhanging the Dordogne river and its cliffs. Idyllic place. An historic establishment since the galloroman times till today. Luxurously appointed respecting the authenticity of the place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Villa Romaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Romaine
Hotel La Villa Romaine France/Carsac-Aillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing