We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Relais du Touron

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Relais du Touron
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carsac-Aillac
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Avive
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“very good place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

We (retired couple) stayed 5 nights at this beautifull place.The room and bedroom are big and very clean, the bed very good. We had half pension and the food was varied and tasty.
There was some problem to find the hotel, ( we arrived it was almost dark) so I give you the coordinations of the place to find it by GPS: 44.84 N 1.27 E.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HedvaFrimerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    99
    52
    20
    11
    1
See reviews for
26
121
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landsberg am Lech, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2011

Consider it bad luck - we got room #1, which is obviously the poorest one (while you get charged the same price for every room). The room was pretty small, the bed even smaller (2,00 x 1,50 m), it would have been just fair to tell us about this before charging us 30% for the reservation in advance.

The room was close to the reception desk and had (as most of the rooms) no seperate entrance door but just a back door to the terrace. So, everybody on it's way to their room or the restaurant walked by our door. We put a table from the park and two chairs to the small terrace in front of our room, so we could sit there (and not just see the reception out of one window and the people walking by out of the other window / door) but it was removed the morning after.

The park is wonderful. However, nobody told us that talking (not making noise, just talking) is not an option there, as almost all of the clients are 75+ and they will look at you very much distressed if you dare to talk to your partner.

On the other side the road to Sarlat (a main road in the Dordogne region) is just 10 metres from the park and traffic never stops - not even at night. And it's really loud. Our room was NOT clean. There were spiders in it, a lot of dust and dirt (I can provide pics as proof).

The pool is brilliant. Only problem is: As there is a wall surrounding the pool, you have to access it via the restaurant terrace (well, it is possible theoretically, but it takes a lot - imagine yourself walking with just a bathing suite on on your way to the pool amongst 50 bemused pensioners dining).

A lot of the guests did complain about the menu. I can't tell as we didn't stay there for diner. I just noticed that there was no daily menu. It seems to be all the same day in, day out and is mostly duck ;)

All of this might be a question of personal sympathy / antipathy - but not the following: We were (not) welcomed with the following words: "accompagniez" (when he the hotel owner took us to our room). He unlocked the door and went away. That was the last we heard from him for three days. Nobody ever cared for us (as guests). We only received a "bon jour" from the owner when we greeted him first. Otherwise he didn't even look at us.

Conclusion: The place, the surroundings and the hotel are beautiful and romantic. It is loud there, however (the road). Staff is ok, but owner is arrogant and unfriendly, rooms are not tidy. Food is (reportedly) poor.

You will find a lot of hotels and B&B within 20km up and down the Dordogne valley where you get more value for your money at ease. If you move to the Vezere Valley, it's even easier. This place is definitely not worth visiting it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Finnegan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2011

If you are tempted by this hotel and the location is excellent then avoid the food. The Demi pension was a complete rip off. There is no choice for any of the courses and in our case the main course was fatty bony lamb cutlets. It was inedible and we were so hungry afterwards that we wandered into town afterwards in search of a pizza! Not what we had in mind when we booked it. It's was the low point of an otherwise great 10 days in France. Luckily we had only booked 1 night. My advice would be to stay here but pay for the room only and have breakfast and dinner in Carsac or Sarlat!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DukeBarham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

We (retired couple) have recently spent another week at this hotel (our third time) and the quality is as good as ever. Philipe and the Viale family looked after us very well and the meals again, were very good ( 5 course evening meal). We booked Demi-Pension and each morning at breakfast, the evening menu is shown and if there is anything you don't eat (fish in my case) they will agree a suitable alternative with you. All round I would rate this as one of the best 'value for money' places to stay in France. There is a very tempting outdoor swimming pool, and whilst we were there, it was kept in the cleanest of conditions of any pool I have ever used, regardless of hotel category anywhere in the world.
Many thanks Philipe and we look forward to staying again at your hotel.
Robert & Patricia

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MatEurotravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

A clean, well-run pretty family hotel in a quiet and secluded location; the rooms were to a good standard and the hotel offers a good restaurant with locally sourced and cooked food, an outdoor swimming pool with pretty and extensive garden mostly laid to grass.

Whilst not all staff spoke much english we had no difficulty with language. Overall we would recommend this hotel to both couples and families as a good base for your holiday. We were stopping in the hotel half-board with a large group of fellow bikers and the staff always greeted us with a ready smile even when we were keeping them up late with our chatter in the bar/restaurant.

The hotel does offer a wi-fi connection but this is only available close to reception and they insist on using WEP when WPA is a much better standard and much easier to set up.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BarcodeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2010

we stayed for a week, the rooms are clean and cozy. located in the center of the Dordogne recommended for a star vacation. the staff was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nmt5357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
indre et Loire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2009

We have stayed at the relais du Turon twice, first time for 5 days and the recent for one night. The night before we stayed in a Campanile in Carcassonne and the night before in a expensive sophisticated chateau inTarn Valley. Turon was by far the least expensive and the best. Whilst the chateau meal was wonderfully presented and cost 162eur for two the food in Touron was superior and more of it at 86 euros which included two bottles of wine, couldn't afford two in the chateau ! The rooms are clean well appointed very quiet and in a beautiful setting. The demi pension food is superb as is the a la carte. We will stay again when we pass through or stay in the area. only complaint would be the rubber mattress under sheet, I'll remove it next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carsac-Aillac
9.6 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#4 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.6 mi away
Le Mas De Castel
Le Mas De Castel
#3 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Plaisance
2.9 mi away
Hotel La Hoirie
Hotel La Hoirie
#11 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
BEST WESTERN Le Renoir
#18 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Relais du Touron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Relais du Touron

Property: Le Relais du Touron
Address: 1 Lieu Dit le Touron, 24200 Carsac-Aillac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Sarlat-la-Caneda > Carsac-Aillac
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Carsac-Aillac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Relais du Touron 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Relais du Touron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Relais Du Touron France/Carsac-Aillac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing