We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing Retreat in Beautiful Countryside Setting...”
other traveller has booked this property
Shady terrace for aperitifs and BBQs
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Shady terrace for aperitifs and BBQs
Well-equipped AND stylish! A private setting but not far to walk to the pool!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Shady terrace for aperitifs and BBQs
Well-equipped AND stylish!
A private setting but not far to walk to the pool!
Sparkling pool with plenty of comfy loungers and parasols
Retro stylee!
Chestnut's cabin and terrace
Comfortable and cool, the cabin houses the shower room, kitchen and seating area
Who's turn is it to do the washing up?!
Loving the quirky coat hooks!
Cooking area
Chestnut's spacious shower room
Set on the edge of La Blanquette's woodland
Spot of sunbathing?
Chestnut at dusk
Twinkling lights at dusk
Pretty!
A perfect holiday location!
Boules court and Champagne shed next to pool.
Timber pergola by the pool for shade from the mid-day sun
Ancient stone borie next to the pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Caravan/mobile home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Carsac-Aillac, Sarlat-la-Caneda, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JamieCara...
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing Retreat in Beautiful Countryside Setting - Yes Close to All Amenities”
Reviewed 14 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week's glamping in Chestnut - a 1970's retro caravan with adjoining cabin with cooking facilities. The caravan was beautifully decorated with every detail thought of and backs onto woodland so very peaceful - star spotting at night is awesome!
We stayed with friends who rented one of the gites and bell tents. Beautiful pool, which we were lucky to have to ourselves some days:) Spacious enough site to not notice other guests staying there. The owners Nik & Jason were unobtrusive but very helpful if you need them. Can thoroughly recommend a day's canoeing on The Dordogne! Amenities of Sarlat (beautiful Mediaval town), only a few minutes drive away. Thank you both for a wonderful stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect honeymoon getaway in a beautiful region of France”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We’ve just arrived home from a blissed out 5 nights at La Blanquette, and couldn’t have asked for a more percent spot to wind down and relax after a few weeks of wedding madness. We stayed in the glamping caravan Chestnut, which enjoys a lovely, secluded spot in the corner of a pretty meadow filled with butterflies. The caravan was comfortable and cosy, and the adjoining cabin with shower room and small kitchenette was surprisingly luxurious, with everything we needed.

The entire complex of La Blanquette is beautifully thought out, with plenty of space between abodes to give all guests privacy and seclusion. The pool area is pristine, and we loved squeezing in some morning or late afternoon swims in between trips out to the nearby towns and attractions. In terms of things to do, La Blanquette is brilliantly located for exploring nearby Sarlat and the entire Dordogne region - but a car is definitely recommended.

Nicola & Jason are wonderful hosts, and can’t do enough for their guests. From discreetly dropping off freshly pastries from the local boulangerie outside our caravan in the mornings to recommending taxis, places to eat and things to do, they were wonderfully helpful whenever we needed them. We took advantage of their kayak hire service and had one of the best days of our lives kayaking 24km along the Dordogne in beautiful weather, stopping off along the way to swim and picnic. Definitely recommended - and we were very grateful to Jason & Nicola for dropping us off and picking us up at the end of the route!

Overall, a fantastic trip that was over all too soon. We’d love to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SarahCmil...
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Caravan of love”
Reviewed 18 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

My daughter and her boyfriend stayed in Chestnut and loved it. We were a large group and they were able to have space and time alone as needed. The caravan was shabby chic cute. Again just like our tent the amenities were set to a high standard and everything required for self catering was available.
Again they experienced exceptional personable service from the family who run and own La Blanquette.
The caravan did on some nights get very hot and due to mosquitos it was difficult to keep the door and windows open over night.
However they loved the accommodation and La Blanquette.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The caravan and amenities around it made it a cosy love nest!
Liked least: The mosquitos.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlieke...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility”
Reviewed 7 June 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Warm welcoming hosts, lush forested hilltop location, pristine pool, caravan warm, well equipped, great shower room, ideal outdoor BBQ. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spence_af...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our first out of term holiday for quite a while and what a wonderful place this is. Chestnut the caravan and the attached "shed", are just right, Comfortable and so well sited, you sit in the sunshine and see or hear nobody. The whole site is so well laid out that you hardly see anyone other than by the pool and even then, it is quiet and you still feel you are the only ones there. The owners were great when we had any questions or issues and the area is superb to explore with so much within 20/30 min. The canoe trip arranged with our hosts was excellent and well recommended.

A most excellent and rejuvenating, luxury glamping holiday...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet
Liked least: Cold Pool - but refreshing..!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay in Chestnut; it far exceeded our expectations. We booked one night in Chestnut, and then planned to move to a tent, as we thought there might be more space. However, Chestnut was so cute and comfy we quickly decided to stay put. The decor is to a high standard, done with loving attention to detail. There is a purpose built shower hut, with a sitting area, stove, sink and outdoor covered terrace. The bathroom perfectly clean and the shower really good.The hut is built with chestnut from the woodland that surrounds the caravan; quirky and beautifully authentic.
The setting is spectacular, and the English owners friendly, helpful and kind, without being intrusive. Our highlights, apart from Chestnut itself, were a day canoeing (or rather lazily floating) down the Dordogne, having been dropped off and collected by our hosts, and a day on electric bikes rented, again from our hosts. Would totally recommend a glamping stay here. Can't wait to come back!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Charming vintage caravan, beautiful setting & shear comfort - we absolutely loved staying in Chestnut for the week! The separate bathroom/shower facility was a real plus, the cabin also had a comfy sofa ideal for a quiet read. We made the most of the outdoor space too, the BBQ was well used & the swimming pool was immaculate. Lots of cycling & canoeing (all through their own hire scheme - highly recommended and very well priced compared to other places!), and lots of great food. Maison Dupéliac at the bottom of the hill serve fantastic food, highly recommended. We've stayed here before in the B&B but the owners were full for our dates, hence this option - we will definitely be back next year and would certainly stay in Chestnut again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing