We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only issue with this hotel is the name...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Manoir d'Hautegente

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manoir d'Hautegente
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coly
Certificate of Excellence
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
121 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“The only issue with this hotel is the name...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Manoir d'Hautegente is Charming, with great rooms, great food, great atmosphere, great surroundings. Something special!
It's close by to many of the great attractions in the area. Some are along the back roads.

Needless to say the food served in the restaurant is at is league by itself. Specially the foie gras … Breakfast are a must to open a perfect day.
The hospitality of the family owning and running the hotel is second to none. Sometimes you don't even have to request.

The hotel's rooms, courts and surroundings are so comfortable and charming you will don't want to leave… See the pictures in their web site…they are real.

We stayed there during October 2011, and definitely will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuval D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    55
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
196
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
truro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2013

The Manoir d'Hautegente is the most charming hotel. It sits in the lovely county-side of Coly in the Dordogne. I have stayed at this hotel whenever I have been in the Dordogne. and it feels like going home. I was realized that I had been going back so many years when I saw that Batiste, the son of the owner, Marie, was no longer her little babe in arms, but the 12 year old youngster whipping around on a bike.

Just the charm would have been enough, but the food is utterly fantastic.I made it a point that when my grandson and I were on a trip from my home in Cape Cod to France that we would celebrate his birthday there. Marie was "warned" and presented Desie with a cake! The French idea of a birthday cake. Marzipan! At the end of our fabulous meal, Desie folded up the remains of the "cake" into a neat square and took it off with a great grin,

Room Tip: the double room at the end of the second floor has a balcony overlooking the forest and the little r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patti t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights and had an excellent stay. The setting is very romantic, especially on the first night when the tables were set outside for candlelit dining with live entertainment (very good). In fact it was probably the most romantic place that we have ever stayed in.

The room that we stayed in was fine, though a little small and it is worthwhile spending a little extra for one of the premium rooms. Breakfast was fine and the evening food excellent. The staff were always at had and very welcoming.

For the second evening we ate at the village bistro - La Table de Jean, which is associated with the hotel and a 5 minute walk along the quiet road. Again the food was excellent.

It is a shame that we only stayed for the two nights as the area has much to offer within a short driving distance, but this gives us the motivation to return!

Room Tip: Go for the best that you can afford as the larger rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

As a couple staying at Manoir d'Hautegente for a long weekend away, I can safely say this was one of the best places we have ever been to. The Hotel itself is stunning in a beautiful location, the building has been lovingly looked after and the gardens provide a multitude of spots at which to sit and take in the surrounding landscape. All the rooms have fantastic views and a short walk around the beautiful surrounding area really sealed the deal. The owner of the hotel was the loveliest lady I have ever met, the perfect host. She was both helpful and charming and really made our stay that much more special. To top it off, the restaurant was sublime and we ate both lunch and dinner there - the perfect balance of gourmet food and a relaxing atmosphere. The breakfast was also delicious and every single member of staff was ready and willing to help. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone and everyone! the perfect weekend away.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateh88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The Perigord country side, and the Manoir d'Hautegente were fantastic. From their web page, I had very high expectations of the manner and its surroundings. And fortunately, my expectations were easily surpassed when we arrived. Our visit was made even more special by the many wonderful attractions within 30 minutes drive, and by our hosts and staff, who could not have been any more kind or welcoming. I'm grateful to the Hamelins for maintaining such a magnificent property.

The restaurant is a must, as the food, service, and setting are without equal.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumaris, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

We could use lots of adjectives to describe this place - lets just say absolutely stunning. We pre booked for 5 nights based on other trip advisor reviews. We normally only stay at a location for 3 nights - we ended up staying for 7! The hotel is stunning as you approach it from the drive. We stayed in an annexe building a few yards from the main building in a room that was absolute bliss. It is a family run hotel with hard working and eager to please staff. We are both 'foodys' and agreed that the food presented to us was of the highest standards we have eaten anywhere. We particularly relished the daily chefs recommended menu. The hotel has a lovely swimming pool and river frontage throughout the grounds. Whilst young children would need to be supervised by the water there is lots to explore. The owners also have a Bistro in the village (about 5/10 mins walk) which can be accessed from a footpath at the rear of the hotel rather than walking down the main road.The food again is superb. My wife is already making plans for a return visit - only for longer!
Don & Jacqui

Room Tip: None of the rooms should disappoint although we really loved the annexe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightinga3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Manoir d'Hautegente, responded to this review, 11 July 2012
Dear Don, Dear Jacqui,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with potential travellers. It was a true delight to host you. Thank you very much for your kindness and your constant smiles. My staff are indeed very pleasant. I must admit they fought every night over who would have the pleasure to serve you... Owning and running a hotel is not an easy task. However, meeting people like the two of you makes it all worth it. We can't wait to see you again!! Again thank you, we are glad you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

If your travelling to the Perigord region of France this hotel is a must.
From the moment you enter the grounds you will be blown away by the beauty of the place, the location and the hotel are stunning.
We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived by Marie the owner and her team. We stayed in the rose room which was beautifully decorated, had a large bathroom and superb views of the fantastic river from our windows.
As for the gastronomic restaurant it is an experience you will never forget, the food is outstanding in every way, from taste to presentation. The best we have tasted in ten years of travelling in France .
We stayed for five nights, each night the food was heavenly and they have a superb wine list that covers all tastes. The service in the restaurant is faultless and they look after your every need, as do the rest of the staff in the hotel.
Marie and her team made our stay unforgettable.
We can`t wait to go back.

Patrick & Tina Ayres

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hautegente, Propriétaire at Manoir d'Hautegente, responded to this review, 23 May 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madame,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I have forwarded your message to our staff and they were very happy to have their work rewarded by your satisfaction. It is with great pleasure that we will host you again, and, in the meantime, we wish you safe and wonderful travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coly
2.0 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
14.1 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
18.9 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Le Lascaux
Hotel Le Lascaux
#1 of 5 in Montignac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir d'Hautegente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir d'Hautegente

Property: Manoir d'Hautegente
Address: Proximite De La Departementale 62, 24120 Coly, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Coly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manoir d'Hautegente 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Manoir d'Hautegente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir d`Hautegente Hotel Coly
Manoir d Hautegente Coly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing