We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely a must!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manoir d'Hautegente
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coly
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Wyoming, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely a must!”
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Recently, we were fortunate to experience the outstanding cuisine at Manoir d'Hautegente. We were staying at a lovely home in St. Amand de Coly only several kilometers from this most charming manor and experienced the most unbelievable dinner on our entire two week stay. Marie and Patrick are the ultimate hosts and their property is exquisite. My husband and I would most definitely choose this location as a "must" when we revisit the Dordogne.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    55
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
60
198
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We stayed 10 days in May/June 2013 ... used Manoir as a base for exploring Dordogne. Perfectly located. The setting, on a river bank backed up against a tree filled hill, several hundred yards from main road, is stunning. Website pictures not an exaggeration. Facility is interesting mix of modern facilities and "old mill" flavor. Owners live on site ... and give everyone personal attention. Gave excellent recommendations for visiting the area. Restaurant is also special. Only one other restaurant in immediate area, so if don't eat at Manoir ... which you should do at least once, ...may have to drive 20 minutes to others. Staff will recommend and make reservations. Best to eat breakfast at the Manoir .. not much else open nearby at that time. Breakfast at 8:30 ... only "wish" is that there was earlier coffee available. Minor quibble. Great place. Constant sound of river running over falls and around the Manoir is a stress reliever in itself!!

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the river / dam offer great river sound and view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary4663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to Manoir d`Hautegente and it was fabulous.
It still had the `WOW` factor as you drive up to the hotel ,we were met by Marie the owner and felt we were old friends . The beautiful building set by the river coly gives you that feeling, "This is something special" ,and it is.
Everyone working at the hotel are very professional they make you feel very welcome and look after you very well.
Dinner at night is a wonderful experience especially the tasting menu , every course is really fabulous. At breakfast you are spoilt for choice .
We had a great week and can`t wait to return.
Patrick & Tina Ayres.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

When we booked this, our expectations were high and I'm glad we were not disappointed! The grounds were beautiful. I felt like I had stepped back through time to this beautiful French manor. We stayed in the family room with our 2 children. The room was spacious enough. We did have a minor problem with the toilet upon arrival which was immediately fixed. Marie, the manager, was so friendly, she made us feel like home. And the dinner was the highlight! A bit pricey but worth it. My husband and I had the degustation menu which had that night, with lobster risotto and lamb and raspberry treats for dessert. Each course was paired with the perfect wine. Breakfast was buffet style and better than average. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay. We were visiting Rocamadour and Sarlat but the hotel stay was everyone's favorite part of the trip!

Room Tip: Our room was the family room that included a loft. It was in the building next to the main house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngeliqueC88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hautegente, Propriétaire at Manoir d'Hautegente, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madame,

I thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay at Hautegente. It was a pleasure to host you, and we are very glad that the four of you (and your two dogs) had a good time. Family holidays are precious, and we are always happy to contribute positively to those of our guests. We look forward to serving more of our fabulous duck breast to your children. Thank you for staying with us. Kindest regards, Marie Hamelin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Manoir d'Hautegente is Charming, with great rooms, great food, great atmosphere, great surroundings. Something special!
It's close by to many of the great attractions in the area. Some are along the back roads.

Needless to say the food served in the restaurant is at is league by itself. Specially the foie gras … Breakfast are a must to open a perfect day.
The hospitality of the family owning and running the hotel is second to none. Sometimes you don't even have to request.

The hotel's rooms, courts and surroundings are so comfortable and charming you will don't want to leave… See the pictures in their web site…they are real.

We stayed there during October 2011, and definitely will return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuval D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truro
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

The Manoir d'Hautegente is the most charming hotel. It sits in the lovely county-side of Coly in the Dordogne. I have stayed at this hotel whenever I have been in the Dordogne. and it feels like going home. I was realized that I had been going back so many years when I saw that Batiste, the son of the owner, Marie, was no longer her little babe in arms, but the 12 year old youngster whipping around on a bike.

Just the charm would have been enough, but the food is utterly fantastic.I made it a point that when my grandson and I were on a trip from my home in Cape Cod to France that we would celebrate his birthday there. Marie was "warned" and presented Desie with a cake! The French idea of a birthday cake. Marzipan! At the end of our fabulous meal, Desie folded up the remains of the "cake" into a neat square and took it off with a great grin,

Room Tip: the double room at the end of the second floor has a balcony overlooking the forest and the little r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patti t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights and had an excellent stay. The setting is very romantic, especially on the first night when the tables were set outside for candlelit dining with live entertainment (very good). In fact it was probably the most romantic place that we have ever stayed in.

The room that we stayed in was fine, though a little small and it is worthwhile spending a little extra for one of the premium rooms. Breakfast was fine and the evening food excellent. The staff were always at had and very welcoming.

For the second evening we ate at the village bistro - La Table de Jean, which is associated with the hotel and a 5 minute walk along the quiet road. Again the food was excellent.

It is a shame that we only stayed for the two nights as the area has much to offer within a short driving distance, but this gives us the motivation to return!

Room Tip: Go for the best that you can afford as the larger rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coly
2.1 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
199 reviews
18.8 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
222 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Montignac
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
525 reviews
16.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
292 reviews
5.7 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir d'Hautegente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir d'Hautegente

Property: Manoir d'Hautegente
Address: Proximite De La Departementale 62, 24120 Coly, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Coly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manoir d'Hautegente 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Manoir d'Hautegente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir d`Hautegente Hotel Coly
Manoir d Hautegente Coly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing