We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Manoir d'Hautegente
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coly
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A real treat”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spent 8 nights at Manoir d'Hautegente and found it the perfect hide away for exploring the Perigord Noir. It is a proper country house hotel with an excellent restaurant in an elegant dining room, and team that operate like a family. The setting has an ambiance and surroundings that are warm, friendly and beautiful. The rooms are large and airy, the furnishings rather chintzy, and the bathrooms clean.

Like any hotel run by a small team, you get out of your stay what you put in, and we could not have faulted our time there. Most of the staff speak English, but were more than patient in letting us practice our French. No request was too difficult and suggestions for both local fare and locations to visit were beyond good.

Getting the right balance between making a hotel a home and maintaining a professional service is no easy thing, but the team at Manoir d'Hautegente manage it beautifully.

Like the reviewer before me, I cannot agree with the negatives brought up by others on this site, but I can recommend the hotel very highly indeed.

Room Tip: rooms in the main building looking over the mill and river are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hugo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    55
    30
    9
    5
See reviews for
60
197
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newtownards
Level Contributor
168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This almost hidden gem is worth seaching out. The grounds are lovely as are the well manicured bushes. The restaurant is first class. Service is profession, food is very well presented and is very good. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The negative comments by some previous reviews cannot be endorsed by me.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liambt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euro
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I have eaten at the Manoir d'Hautegente many times and have never ever been disappointed with the truly excellent cuisine, the warmth of the reception and the overall luxury and ambience of the surroundings.

Truly well worth the visit when it is time to spoil yourself.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you like 2 star rooms, 4 star grounds and astonishingly expensive food then this is for you. With 4 star prices I expect some attempt at the furnishings. Felt like a cheap holiday gite - v old velour chair, dusty flowery sofas and bed spreads, and wobbly old wooden tables. And only half the electricity sockets work. Grounds and pool are superb - really gorgeous. Staff and owner extremely friendly and welcoming. The oddest place I've ever stayed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ladyfromwestlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beersel, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Rooms in the old building are oldish. Worst of all is the woman managing the hotel - she is rude and basically left us with a very bad feeling. We booked a 2 night stay incl breakfast yet were forced to take dinner as well despite we had written comfirmation of night + breakfast. Dinner was 5/10. We were asked to pay the evening before departure (!). As frequent traveller I never experienced sth like this. My wife is also pregnant and was not well treated. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My family ( including children 10 & 11) have just stayed at Manoir D'Hautegente. We entered the driveway to four unified 'wow' comments. The Manoir and surrounds is stunning. Walking from the car we were greeted pleasantly by one of the young male staff. We checked in to our beautiful room- delightful and very spacious ( a huge plus when travelling with children). On both nights we ate at the restaurant with sensational food- an outstanding chef. The staff were delightful and attentive. On the second night, we had the pleasure of a light and musical evening. This was a magical night. The owner is absolutely delightful with a strong vision of quality in all aspects of your stay. This is a must stop.

Room Tip: Family rooms have cater well for family of four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ren3193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This restaurant is so let down by poor attitude, which i believe comes from the top down. The food is inventive and flavoursome and the setting is serenely beautiful. Such being the case, the poor service we received left us with "a what could have been feeling." We visited for lunch in early July. The design of the permanent awning is poor as diners lose shade half way through lunch. This must happen every sunny day but management seemed to be clueless in responding to the complaints of guests. The Manager tried to install an umbrella to protect the first complainant. The umbrella blew into the adjacent stream and float away upside down. We waited an inordinate time for table water, having asked three times. The waiter answered my second request with a quip. The Manageress was overtly rude when i asked her to explain the French menu. Her idea of an explanation of a detailed menu of mains was to say, "duck, chicken, veal etc." Being a 60 year old with half a brain, i actually did know the French for duck, chicken and veal, however, it would have been nice to receive a more fulsome description. The waiters were ill trained and had to be called upon for water, bread and general attention. We were one of the last groups remaining at the end of the lunch sitting. Once our meal was completed no more attention was given. The waiters had disappeared and the rude Manageress was sitting talking to friends. We had to search out our bill. I saw the umbrella floating down the stream as a metaphor for lunch on that day.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coly
2.1 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
18.8 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
14.0 mi away
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
Plaza Madeleine & Spa
#2 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Le Moulin de Mitou
Le Moulin de Mitou
#1 of 1 in Auriac-du-Perigord
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hostellerie La Roseraie
Hostellerie La Roseraie
#2 of 5 in Montignac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Le Lascaux
Hotel Le Lascaux
#1 of 5 in Montignac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir d'Hautegente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir d'Hautegente

Property: Manoir d'Hautegente
Address: Proximite De La Departementale 62, 24120 Coly, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Coly
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Coly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Manoir d'Hautegente 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Manoir d'Hautegente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir d`Hautegente Hotel Coly
Manoir d Hautegente Coly

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing