We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Beautiful spot, great location and warm hosts”
4.5 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property
Pool, looking towards pool bar w housing books, games & sports equipment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool, looking towards pool bar w housing books, games & sports equipment
Pool & orchard Chene Vert cottage from front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
11 reviews
Pool, looking towards pool bar w housing books, games & sports equipment
Pool & orchard
Chene Vert cottage from front
Chene vert cottage in spring with wisteria covered pergola
Cosy living area with wood burner for low season rentals & original features
Double bedroom with hand-wash basin
twin bedroom
Kitchen/dining area with spiral staircase to bedrooms
Rear patio area with steps up to the swimming pool (fenced, gated & alarmed for safety)
Meyrals village boulangerie & church
Pool, pool bar and rear of cottages
Meyrals village
Pool and landscaped surround
Le Jardin des Amis cottages from front
Living area
Well equipped kitchen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Meyrals, Saint-Cyprien, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boo333
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful spot, great location and warm hosts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Sue and John the hosts were warm, welcoming and eager to please.

The cottage was well equiped and comfortable (apart from the sofa!) and the outdoor space was good. The only real downside was that unfortunately the wi-fi internet was only accessable by sitting at a table outdoor the host's house, which is fine if the weather is good, however it rained most days we were there so we couldn't use it as much as we needed. We booked this cottage on the basis that it had internet as my husband had work to do while we were away, but with the poor weather it made it very difficult or he had to sit outside in the dark if he had to send late-night correspondance. Not ideal!

If you're thinking about staying Aug/Sept time, my recommendation would be to visit when the sunflowers in the surrounding fields were out, when we were there end of Sept they were all dead, it must have looked wonderful.

The local village is gorgeous and very friendly. Get to the boulangerie early, they are sold out of croissants by 10am. The charcuterie does the most amazing pates and try the big bottles of beer for sale.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Great outdoor space
Liked least: Sofa was uncomfortable & internet not accessable from cottage itself, only outside.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2012
We apologise for the WIFI problems: a WIFI signal booster is to be fitted for next season so should improve signal available inside the cottages. Some guests have been able to pick it up indoors (those with laptops rather than smartphones/tablets) but we do realise there has been a difficulty whilst renovation works have been happening.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jec63
melbourne
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable stay in a quiet village”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Jon and Sue were very friendly and helpful hosts. They helped us with bookings and gave us information for any tours we wanted to take.
Our gite had 3 bedrooms and 3 ensuites. Very clean and the beds were very comfortable. There was a well equipped kitchen. Small kitchen table but a larger one outside on the patio.
The property is beautiful with beautiful gardens and a large pool.
It is a 5 minute walk into a very small village that has a boulangerie and a charcuterie. There are some good family restaurants there as well.
There is a small TV /video with a selection of videos in the room...but there is no TV and this was not advertised and we found surprising and disappointing.
There is free Wifi but you have to go outside to access it or go to the pool bar (which is undercover).
The property is in a good location to explore the DOrdogne but a car is necessary.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The pool
Liked least: No TV and the wifi was poor quality.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2012
We are pleased that our guests found our gite clean and comfortable. We're sorry that our guests were disappointed by the lack of television - we don't adverise that we have tv and many of our previous guests have commented on how refreshing it is to have a change from normal routine. We do have a selection of board games and lots of books to borrow!
The village of Meyrals is not big but neither is it a tiny hamlet : all is relative and country dwellers will no doubt have a different view from those who live in towns and cities. the small town of St. Cyprien is only 3 miles from us, with a wider range of facilities.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheshire
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010 for a stay in May 2010
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2010 for a stay in July 2010
Travelling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010 for a stay in October 2010
5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Oct 2010
Being keen walkers ourselves,we are always happy to give advice on routes for walks or cycle rides and are happy to loan local maps if required.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
UK
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010 for a stay in August 2010
4 of 5 bubbles Value 4 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Check-in / front desk 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$92
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing