We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de la Ferme Lamy
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Meyrals
Certificate of Excellence
Godalming
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace & quiet”
Reviewed 28 May 2008

Having arrived late after a couple of hours driving in the pouring rain we were grateful to be greeted immediately, we pulled up, by our host with two umbrellas to escort us to our charming room. This quality of service continued throughout our stay.

The home baked breads for breakfast were delicious especially the walnut one. Dinner equally delicious but not for those who won't eat fois gras which is the speciality of the region.

Being out in the countryside the only noise heard was the birds and nights are pitch black and long with the thick curtains keeping out the dawn. We would have stayed on site and enjoyed the pool but weather wasn't too good so visited the surrounding towns; all very medieval and interesting.

We would love to return as 3 nights just wasn't long enough.

  • Liked — luxurious comfort
  • Disliked — lack of evening dinner availability on some nights
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Celia_from_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    36
    16
    5
    3
See reviews for
39
87
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

My mum and I stayed at the hotel whilst touring France for two weeks and we got the warmest welcome from the host of all the places we stayed. We dined in the hotel the first evening choosing the higher priced set menu. The meal was delicious and the enthusiasm of the host and his passion for the food being served, all from local producers made this a very special dining experience. It was wonderful to have such a lovely meal and then have only a few steps to take before being back in our room.

The hotel has a peaceful location and enables you to feel that you have your own space as the rooms are accessed from outside, where you can sit and take in the extensive views.

The hotel is idealy located for exploring the prehistoric caves of the area, and the more recent medieval history. Our host recommended visitng Le Roque Gayac - a stunning village stacked against a steep cliffside alongside the Dordogne - don't miss it.

Enjoy you travel :)

  • Liked — Wonderful meal served by the enthusiastic host
  • Disliked — Not getting a second Apple Charlotte - so delicious
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mikyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2007

We stayed in Ferme Lamy for 4 nights. The hotel is a nicely restored French Perigord Farm. Plus points : Quiet yet central location in the middle of Perigord Noir with Sarla-la-Canéda only a 20 min drive away; Nice swimming pool (outdoors); Minus points : rather high price for only 3 stars (>100 EUR/night); Breakfast expensive : 10 EUR/person (consisting of bread and jam only + coffee or tea); Rooms have no windows: the door is the window. So if you want fresh air during the night you'll have to decide to either leave the door open and take the security risk or sleep with the door closed. The rooms are also set up one beside the other in such a way that you neighbours need to walk past your room to get to theirs each time being able to look into your room unless you draw the curtains thus resulting in very low privacy in your room.

  • Liked — The location (central)
  • Disliked — No separate window in room (door IS window)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marc A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2007

My family of 3 just returned from a week in the Dordogne region of France and we spent the week at the lovely La Ferme Lamy in Meyral. We were greeted by Michael and Christine our hosts and they went above and beyond to welcome us and made sure our stay was the best it could be. When we arrived we were feeling overwhelmed with all there is to see and do, but Michael took the time to help us get organized and also gave us superb restaurant recommendations.
The inn is immaculate and pristine in a lovely, pastural setting with many flowers. However, it is rural but that is part of the charm. How nice it was to tour hard in the mornings only to return to the lovely pool overlooking green rolling fields and relax.
Michael even took an afternoon off his busy schedule to take us on a summer truffle hunt and he also arranged a private wine tour for us at a local family owned winery - all at no expense.
Staying at LaFerme Lamy allowed us to see a part of France we never would have experienced otherwise . Finally, Michael's dinner recommendation at L'Esplanade is not to be missed.

  • Liked — The beautiful setting and the hosts willingness to please
  • Disliked — distance in the country
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjsamhest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2007

My boyfriend and I stayed here in June and loved it! The grounds are very beautiful with views of nearby farms and a few little gardens. I even found a bunch of chickens and a rabbit hanging out in the back, giving it a true country French feel. While in the middle of baking an apple dessert in the kitchen, Florence would come to the pool and give us whatever we wanted to drink, including when I asked for a citron presse which she didn't have on hand (she just whipped it up). We had breakfast in bed every morning and really got to relax. We wished we could have stayed a little longer.

  • Liked — The property and nice rooms
  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cheekytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2007

We stayed at Hotel de La Fermy Lamy during a July, 2007, bike trip through Southern France. Our experience was blissful! The new owners obviously take real pride in their small, rural retreat. Michel, who speaks perfect English, was attentive to our requests, bringing us a wonderful bottle of chilled white wine from a neighboring vineyard. The pool, beautiful grounds, and the attractive flower beds along with the comfortable, clean rooms were more than we expected. One must keep in mind that the location is RURAL. If a restful vacation is what you have in mind, than I can recommend La Fermy Lamy.

  • Liked — Beautiful Setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 20 July 2005

When I entered my generously sized rustic room, I was overcome by an intense chemical odor. Following my nose, I found that it was from an industrial-strength deodorizer plugged into the bathroom. I got rid of it and opened the windows to air it out.

I was on a small-group hiking tour at the time, and several of us had the same complaint. The next morning, our guide, a Dordogne native, told the owners about our complaint. Nevertheless, instead of trying to air out our rooms, they closed the windows while we were away, so the next day when I returned after the day's activities, there was still that overwhelming toxic odor. that had been trapped in the room all day. I had to sleep with the door open that chilly damp night and coughed and gagged much of the night.

This hotel had very inhospitable policies. There were signs all over with the many prohibitions: no washing of clothes in the sink, no hanging of wet items in the bathroom, no storing of personal food items in the refrigerator. The no laundry/no hanging sign very cavalierly instructed guests to go out and use a laundromat. (The hotel is in the middle of the country.) This is obviously impossible for a tour group, but they nevertheless accepted our booking.

This could be such a unique, peaceful, lovely place to stay under different ownership or management. Whoever did the carpentry did a nice job converting farm buildings into lodging for humans, and just outside our doors and windows the sky was starry and unpolluted by artificial light, and the only sounds came from widlfide. But the chemical fumes in the room were toxic, the many prohibitions were restrictive to the point of being offensive, and the ownersmanagers apparently couldn't care less. I hope there has been a change since my stay. last visit on October, 1999.

Stayed October 1999
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Meyrals
0.7 mi away
Domaine de la Rhonie
Domaine de la Rhonie
#1 of 2 in Meyrals
180 reviews
4.8 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
236 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hostellerie du Passeur
Hostellerie du Passeur
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Mounea
Hotel Mounea
#1 of 2 in Marquay
192 reviews
14.4 mi away
Chateau de la Fleunie
Chateau de la Fleunie
#1 of 1 in Condat-sur-Vezere
204 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Ferme Lamy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Ferme Lamy

Property: Hotel de la Ferme Lamy
Address: D47 Route C3, 24220 Meyrals, Saint-Cyprien, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Cyprien > Meyrals
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Meyrals
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Ferme Lamy 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel *** of la Ferme LAMY welcomes you under the light of Perigord.12 personalized rooms are proposed to you in this former restored farm, full of charm and comfort.His ideal setting-up, in Black Périgord betweeen Sarlat and Les EYZIES, allows you to take advantage at once of the peace and the multiple wealth of the surroundings : caves, medieval villages, castles, natural sites. If you come in family or in couple or for business, for any stay, an adapted and personalized welcome will be reserved for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de la Ferme Lamy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De La Ferme Lamy Meyrals, France - Dordogne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing