We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy, friendly restaurant”
Review of Relais de Gabillou

Relais de Gabillou
Ranked #2 of 4 Restaurants in Sourzac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$41
Cuisines: French, Contemporary, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Relais de Gabillou offers menus designed around local produces and local flavors served at the warmth of the fire place in the winter or at the shade of the vine on the terrace in the summer, efficient and friendly service comes to complete a team of highly motivated chefs who proud themselves in using fresh produces.
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Good choice of food (in particular fish dishes). Well presented, fair price and good friendly service (dogs welcome)

1  Thank milliemackay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaudrejerome, Propriétaire at Relais de Gabillou, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comment on my restaurant, I’m pleased that our selection of dishes and the prices were to your expectations.

We do indeed try to offer a selection of fish dishes as part of our menus to offer an additional alternative for our customers who do prefer fish courses rather than meat and I’m happy that this selection was to your liking.

Once again thank you

Mr Gaudré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 96 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

My partner and my self had a 4 course meal in the Relais De Gabillou on the last night of our holiday 8th june in sourzac .Wished we had found it earlier. We were pleasantly surprised . The restaurant was beautiful ,very clean, and very welcoming. The presentation of every course was 1st class. The service was was excellent also.Very reasonable prices.Good wine too. The whole experience was outstanding.After the meal Jerome the patron and chef came and introduced him self to us he spoke fantastic english . I would not hesitate in recommending the Relais de gabillou restaurant it was 1st class .The whole experience was fantastic. We will definitely be returning,when we return to sourzac. Thank you very much for a wonderful meal

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank yvetteSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaudrejerome, Propriétaire at Relais de Gabillou, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Madame,

Thank you very much for your kind comments on my establishment, it was a pleasure to have met you and your partner in June; I’m very pleased that you have enjoyed your experience, we do indeed work very hard to provide the best service possible to our guests and it is always appreciated when those efforts gets highlighted.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again on your next visit to our region.

Thank you again

Regards

Mr Jérôme Gaudré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

My wife and myself dropped in to have a meal here on recomendation of a good friend of ours, and it certainly did not disapoint!. We had 3 courses on the sunday and took our time over them. Each course was perfectly proportioned so at the end of the meal neither of us were over stuffed nor feeling that we could eat anymore. The steak that i ordered was cooked to perfection and belive me i am very particular about my steak and have no problems sending it back if its not to my liking. The duck breast is also a must try as again this was cooked to perfection (i had some of my wifes) The starter was nice, light and makes you look forward to the main course, the puddings were light and very refreshing. It was very obvious that the chef in charge of the kitchen is very passionate about the food that is served as the quality and presentation of each of the courses was first class. The restaurant has a very good wine list which i also highly recommend looking over and ordering from.

The restaurant itself is very light and welcoming yet intimate enough for couples (like us) to have a quiet romantic meal. I have to say i was very impressed with the tables being covered with good high quality linen which was spotlessly clean and pressed, the glasses and cutlery, again were spotless and of a good quality. A basket of walnuts also graced the table, which i have found out since, is the local custom.

The staff are very welcoming, polite and very efficient, i remember our waitress was called angelique i belive. She picked up instantly that we were british (even though we practised our broken french on her .... poor girl) and switched to english straight away to help us (this was appreciated). Her knowladge of the menu was admirable to say the least. She was able to tell both of us what each dish was, what it's ingredients were, how it was cooked and what it was served with.... i know some top london restaurants that could do well to learn from this example.

Price.... well this is the crux of it we paid 60 euro (cant find the euro key on this keyboard) that was for 3 courses, a good bottle of red wine and included a 20+ euro tip. This kind of food, location, service and atmosphere .... at that price???? i actually had to ask the waitress if she had got the bill correct and thats the first time i have ever done that! She just smiled and politly told me that there was no mistake.

would i recommend this restaurant to anyone else? ..... try stopping me

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andyst2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaudrejerome, Propriétaire at Relais de Gabillou, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2012

Dear Sir,

The team and myself would like to thank you for your commentary on our restaurant from you and your wife’s visit in May, We do indeed strive to make our customers experience as enjoyable as possible and are very pleased to see that the quality of our service is so much appreciated.
I’m very happy to read that our menu and wine list was to your convenience and that the decor was also to your liking.

Regarding the price, I would like to reassure you that no mistake was made; we simply try to offer good quality well prepared food for a reasonable price.
Once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you sir for your kind comment

Best regards

Mr Gaudré

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

The Relais de Gabillou is a lovely, traditional place to eat. It offers excellent food. We enjoyed a three course meal for 27 euros and it was worth every cent. The potato Daupninoise was very special. After our meal Jerome, the patron and chef came out to see us and shared some of his culinary secrets. His staff are courteous and efficient and, the white table cloths and little basket of walnuts on each table add to a special and most memorable meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank whiterabbitoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gaudrejerome, Propriétaire at Relais de Gabillou, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

The team and I would like to thank you very much for your comment, it was lovely to have met you at the restaurant and I'm please to see that you enjoyed our surrounding and especially our food, it is the best reward a chef could wish for, feel free to come and see us again on your next visit to the Dordogne region, kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SAM24400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Relais de Gabillou also viewed

 
Saint-Medard-de-Mussidan, Dordogne
 
Mussidan, Dordogne
Saint-Jean-d'Estissac, Dordogne
 

Been to Relais de Gabillou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing