We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent and relaxing holoiday”
Review of Le Chevrefeuille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chevrefeuille
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Writing this we are sitting on the private terrace outside our immaculately clean and well appointed Gite. Our view, past the well kept lawns and swimming pool is of the green and peaceful Dordogne countryside. The owners have thought of everything to make our stay both relaxing and luxurious: A kitchen with everything we need to cook all our meals if we so wanted is complemented by our own Gas BBQ outside. Satellite TV for when our daughter has exhausted herself playing with the other children staying on the site. Free bicycles to borrow as and when you need them along with 1:2500 walking maps. An on site restaurant catered by our host, chef Ian. Extensive grounds, most of which are lawns on which children can play to their hearts content complete with football goals, climbing frame and chickens. Where other holiday destinations let their equipment become damaged or dirty - here everything is maintained properly and kept clean and functioning (bear in mind we are here towards the season end). The swimming pool is particularly impressive, surrounded by a fence to keep younger children out and safe, it is cleaned every day and surrounded by enough loungers and sun shades to accommodate everyone on site should they choose to descend en-masse. In the surrounding area there are plenty of sites and activities to keep you amused for days on end. Countryside walks in almost limitless combinations and lengths, caves, museums, water sports, castles, old towns and hill top villages. One of the best decisions we every made was to book this holiday!

Room Tip: The Bed and Breakfast rooms seem to be lovely, however we self catered in a Gite which gave us the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 329 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Fantastic place to take kids. Very welcoming, great food options, very clean, Sara and Ian are warm and welcoming, and Ian's cooking is superb. Book it before everybody else does! The pool in particular is top class, not often you find that in a gite!

Room Tip: One gite has an extra room - perfect for accompanying adult / grandparents
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZammoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This was our fifth family holiday to Le Chevrefeuille since 2007. We stayed in an amazingly hot week in August 2013 and had a fabulous time. We always rent the two bedroomed gite for our family of four (Passiflore) and this is very well equipped and comfortable with a lovely outside (private) eating and lounging area. As ever, Sara and Ian gave us a great welcome with a cold drink on arrival after our long journey and we could all just feel ourselves unwind. Over the years we have seen many improvements to Le Chevrefeuille not least of which is the fantastic pool area which we used daily to cool down from the 30 degree heat! Whilst the gite is equipped with satellite TV, I am pleased to say that none of us (including girls of 13 and 15) even bothered to switch it on as there is so much else to do. We played played boules, badmington and table football (all on site) and wished we had tried our hand at the croquet but there just wasn't enough time. Apart from relaxing we did some lovely (long) local walks, visited the St Cyprien market and canoed on the Versere (do the Tursac to Les Eyzies stretch - not too exhausting). As always, we had all the meals cooked by Ian, they are a joy and one of our favourite parts of the holiday. All the accommodation and gardens are maintained to an immaculate standard by Sara and Ian, if you can find a more idyllic, enjoyable and value for money holiday I would love to hear of it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather_and_Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Our week at Le Chevrefeuille was the highlight for me of 3 weeks in France. Sara and Ian are attentive to every detail and deliver an amazing experience for a very reasonable price. They have done an impeccable job of restoring and decorating the property.

Our family of 4 was in the Courtyard B&B room and my parents were across the hall in the Garden room. The breakfasts were delicious, with fresh bread, pastries, fruit, meat, cheeses, yogurts, cereals, juice... all self-serve, but replenished throughout the breakfast time as needed. Ian's cooking was amazing and the table d'hote nights were lovely. On other nights, having the BBQ and microwave and covered patio eating area available made for relaxed family dining, and a nice break from restaurants the rest of the trip.

My sons loved the golfish pond in the courtyard, the chickens roaming the backyard, the Equestrian Centre (by the turnoff to Pechboutier)'s horses pastured just over the fence from the parking lot, and playing with other kids in the playroom and by the pool. I loved being close to so many attractions of the area and having such an idyllic spot to relax when not visiting them. We went to Sarlat (not on a market day, to avoid the crowds), Castelnaud, la Grotte de Rouffignac, la Gouffre de Proumeyssac, les Jardins de Marqueyssac, la Grotte de Font-de-Gaume, l'Abri du Cap Blanc and la Roque Saint-Christophe, all within ~30 minutes' drive of Le Chevrefeuille. The whole area is gorgeous, and was stunningly green for August. I hope to be back exploring the many sites and activities we missed this trip, staying at Le Chevrefeuille again, in a few years.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteenaBoBeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Sara made us feel very welcome with a refreshing drink upon arrival. This set the scene for a very relaxing holiday in beautiful and tranquil surroundings.
The owners really have thought of everything you could possibly need and taken a lot of time and trouble to ensure that the stay is as comfortable and easy as possible (salon, wifi, honesty bar, utility and play room with fridge and microwave, BBQ...). They are very discreet and consequently you feel instantly at home and able to enjoy all the facilities and grounds at your leisure.
The swimming pool is a real bonus and very well arranged.
The children particularly enjoyed the company of the owners' 2 children and the other children staying at the B&B and gites.
We also really appreciated the table d'hote. Ian's delicious cuisine added something unique to the stay. It was served on the outside dining terrace where there was a very friendly and convivial atmosphere.
Overall, I would highly recommend this accommodation and would love to return in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked beautiful. We had the double twin which worked out very well with 2 chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHXTraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We have just returned from our holiday in France where we stayed at Le Chevrefuille. Right from the very start Sara made us welcome. We ate there on the first night as it would be less fuss trying to sort something else out and we ate there at every opportunity after that as they do not cook every evening. The food was top quality and as good sometimes even better than we found outside. Nothing is too much trouble for Sara and Ian to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Beautiful place, beautiful location and beautiful people. Top class and certainly recommend this as a place we will go back to. +++A*

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ballymack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

we stayed at Le Chevrefeuille in June and cannot honestly say we could have asked for more,
Sara and Ian are perfect hosts... nothing was too much trouble.. we loved the informal atmosphere meeting up with other guests at breakfast ... equally delighted with the accommodation .... we enjoyed an evening meal in the beautiful courtyard and borrowed bikes and explored the wonderful countryside... this is a perfect place to stay if you are discovering the Dordogne area..

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Cyprien hotels
0.7 mi away
Les Feuillantines
Les Feuillantines
#1 of 9 in Saint-Cyprien
268 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel de la Ferme Lamy
Hotel de la Ferme Lamy
#2 of 2 in Meyrals
159 reviews
2.7 mi away
Domaine de la Rhonie
Domaine de la Rhonie
#1 of 2 in Meyrals
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Borie Chic
La Borie Chic
#1 of 4 in Meyrals
26 reviews
187.1 mi away
No photo provided
Les Quais de l'Amiraute
#4 of 7 in Saint-Cyprien
2 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Jardin des Amis
Le Jardin des Amis
#1 of 1 in Meyrals
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chevrefeuille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chevrefeuille

Address: 1 Lieu Dit Pechboutier | Dordogne Valley, 24220, Saint-Cyprien, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Cyprien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Cyprien
Price Range: £60 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Le Chevrefeuille, perfectly located in the heart of the Dordogne valley just outside Les Eyzies. Le Chevrefeuille is a beautiful 18th-century farmhouse complex combining modern comfort with historical charm. Located in the picturesque and tranquil hamlet of Pechboutier, Le Chevrefeuille offers five charming en-suite rooms and three self-contained apartments, each with a private terrace and garden. Enjoy a magnificent meal of fine food and local wine freshly prepared by Ian, our trained chef and served in our stunning central courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Chevrefeuille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing