We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of our family stay in Dordogne”
Review of Le Chevrefeuille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Chevrefeuille
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The reviews say it well – this is a PERFECT stay for families with young children. A safe place for our 8 and 10 year old boys to run, play soccer, swim, and play games with Adam and Alice, even while mom and dad took in a delicious dinner prepared by Ian. There just aren't many destinations that offer this type of open, safe and easy recreation for kids in a country hamlet setting that allow parents to truly relax. Given the family-friendly guest attraction, your kids will never be short of other children to play with.

Sara and Ian are terrific hosts, who are resourceful, responsive and most pleasant. When we arrived after hours our first night, Sara kindly prepared us a snack plate along with a bottle of wine. Sara also helped us look into French camps for our boys who attend a French school in San Francisco.

We stayed in the Grapevine apartment with Breadroom annex, since the Passiflore was already booked for part of our stay, so we had more than enough space and privacy. The kitchens are well equipped making it easy for us to cook meals and even grill on the patio for several nights, enjoying our purchases from the St. Cyprien market on Sunday.

After a stay in London and Paris on the same trip, our family unanimously agreed that Le Chevrefeuille and the Dordogne experience was the gem of our vacation, although a lovely city/country balance overall. We could have easily extended our 1-week stay as we had had several other sites we would have liked to take in. Our highlights included: Font-de-Guame (a favorite), Beynac, Castlenaud, canoeing on Les Vezeres, biking through the rolling hills outside Le Chevrefeuille and exploring a truffle farm.

I hope we are fortunate enough to return to Le Chevrefeuille!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingMomSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

This summer we stayed at the Chevrefeuille for the third time. And it did not disappoint. We were there for a week. It is a wonderful place from which to explore the region. The rooms are clean and spacious and well-appointed. The grounds are lovely. the pool is a welcome addition. And the option of dining there on certain days is great. Ian is an excellent cook. Both he and Sara are superb hosts. The breakfast is among the best anywhere. We will be very happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wijke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent five nights here while we explored the Cro-Magnon caves and museums and visited Sarlat. It was perfect - great central location to see the sites, wonderful rooms, fabulous breakfast and really pretty grounds. We went swimming in the nice pool after a long day of tramping around caves. Sara and her family were wonderful hosts. She helped us plan our sightseeing and gave us great suggestions on places to visit and stop for lunch. We also had dinner one night prepared by Ian in their peaceful outdoor courtyard which was delicious. I chose this place partly on the Trip Advisor recommendations which were really on the mark with Le Chevrefeuille.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Used Le Chevrefeuille as a base for three days, as we toured the cave areas, Sarlat, and other sights on this side of Dordogne river. We loved everything- the room, fabulous breakfast, tiny hamlet to stroll. What a pleasure to relax at the end of the day in the gardens with a picnic supper. Sara made us feel at home, helping with sights, maps, and booking a lovely restaurant. Would love to return!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

After a long day of travel Sara gave us such a warm welcome. Sara was an amazing hostess and extremely helpful. I was traveling with my sister and we had a large room with two large beds. The grounds and surrounding area were beautiful. I can't say enough great about this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amacgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

A very pretty and peaceful place to stay with wonderfully welcoming hosts and lots for the children to do. The pool and the rooms are very nice and as Chevrefeuille is reasonably small it has a personal and relaxing feel. The surrounding countryside is gorgeous with lots of things to do for days out with the children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Sara and Ian are amazing at making their guests feel welcome. On the night of our arrival we wee too late fir the supermarket but within 5 minutes we had been presented with a fabulous super and carafe of wine. Ian's meals were fabulous and it is a nice touch to have this option alongside self catering. Outdoor facilities were great for kids and they could run/ crawl freely. Pool is not heated so it was a bit chilly during our 1st few days but soon warmed up :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria020210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Saint-Cyprien hotels
0.7 mi away
Les Feuillantines
Les Feuillantines
#1 of 9 in Saint-Cyprien
270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel de la Ferme Lamy
Hotel de la Ferme Lamy
#2 of 2 in Meyrals
159 reviews
2.7 mi away
Domaine de la Rhonie
Domaine de la Rhonie
#1 of 2 in Meyrals
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
La Borie Chic
La Borie Chic
#1 of 4 in Meyrals
26 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Jardin des Amis
Le Jardin des Amis
#1 of 1 in Meyrals
38 reviews
0 mi away
Les Jardins d' Harmonia
Les Jardins d' Harmonia
#5 of 7 in Saint-Cyprien
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chevrefeuille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chevrefeuille

Address: 1 Lieu Dit Pechboutier | Dordogne Valley, 24220, Saint-Cyprien, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Cyprien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Cyprien
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Le Chevrefeuille, perfectly located in the heart of the Dordogne valley just outside Les Eyzies. Le Chevrefeuille is a beautiful 18th-century farmhouse complex combining modern comfort with historical charm. Located in the picturesque and tranquil hamlet of Pechboutier, Le Chevrefeuille offers five charming en-suite rooms and three self-contained apartments, each with a private terrace and garden. Enjoy a magnificent meal of fine food and local wine freshly prepared by Ian, our trained chef and served in our stunning central courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Chevrefeuille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing