We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Highlight of our France Family Trip!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chevrefeuille

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Chevrefeuille
Certificate of Excellence
Miami
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Highlight of our France Family Trip!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

After much research, we decided to spend the last three days of our France summer vacation at Le Chevrefeuille…and are we glad we did. It was without question the most wonderful and memorable experience of our entire trip. From the perfect location in the Dordogne region to the most gracious and talented hosts, Ian and Sara, this is an absolute gem!! My husband and I rented the family room with our son, 10 yrs old and our daughter, 5. The room was very comfortable, clean, and well appointed. The entire property is fabulously manicured and yet very child friendly. We were lucky enough to eat one night at the property…Both my husband and I were blown away by Ian's cooking and Sara's hospitality. If you are traveling to this region with children, this place is an absolute must. If you are traveling as a couple or family sans kids, I could not think of a more enjoyable and peaceful place to spend time in this most beautiful region of France. I miss it already...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madelynMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
130
146
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I recently stayed a week with Sara and Ian at their delightful establishment, we are both from Australia and this was my second stay, and will not be my last, I am hoping to come back next year.

Our stay was made perfect by wonderful weather, so we were able to use the pool each afternoon and often had picnics as well as the substantial breakfasts in the garden. We enjoyed three meals cooked by Ian, they were the best meals we had in the Dordogne. The location of Le Chèvrefeuille is perfect for exploring towns, villages, caves and chateaux, we loved the view from Beynac and Domme, plus visiting the local markets. The art work in Meyrals is interesting, plus we bought several posters from Guy Weir next door, we loved the ones with chooks, just like those that parade through the garden each afternoon, what a cockerel!

Sara, Ian and their delightful children make you feel like part of the family and friends who have stayed feel the same, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Ian and Sara, (the owners) English ex-pats, made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. They offered us refreshments and a tour of the property. Our room was clean, bright and airy. Sara was very helpful in giving us suggestions to the nearby sights. She provided us with maps and directions. It was nice to cool off in the beautiful large pool after our travels, and there were nice places to sit out in the yard, enjoying the breezes.

Ian is a fabulous chef, and we enjoyed a wonderful dinner. Everything was excellent, and be sure to make a reservation for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Wonderful place to stay with our 1 year old - Sara and Ian are the perfect hosts and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in one of the cottages and had everything we could want. Lots of outside space and a gated pool, as well as restaurtant on site (with baby listening availiable!) - really couldn't have asked for anything more. Great location close to Sarlat and other pretty towns, as well as all the caves in the area.
We thoroughly enjoyed the cookery course too - and all the equipment that you can borrow (e.g. baby toys, bikes etc) just meant we didnt have to bring it all with us. Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The very comfortably restored farm buildings dating from the 1700s made for an incredibly charming setting for this B & B nestled in the Dordogne. Excellent breakfast every day and fine dinner available on specific days. The country location is near enough to all the lovely villages, caves and things you come to the Dordogne to see. Sara is most personable and hardworking hostess imaginable. She and her husband Ian have created a truly outstanding accommodation in one of the most beautiful locations I've ever visited. We also appreciated the BBC television stations which aren't always offered in France!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bread Room which was a bit away from the central building. It was pleasantly cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 660MCWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were looking for a peaceful, charming, welcoming, and well-situated place for exploring the Dordogne area----and voila! Sara's friendly welcome upon check-in with a nice glass of wine and a chat out on their patio was very much appreciated after a busy day. We found our room to be very pleasant with its view overlooking the spacious and lovely yard. As has been mentioned by other reviews, the food (tremendous dinner, and tasty breakfast) was superb! The entire property is very well maintained and attractive----we wish we could have stayed longer to enjoy the use of the loaner bikes and other amenities. It was an easy drive to the caves, museums, canoeing, and villages. We enjoyed meeting other guests there, too. We are so happy to have found this B & B, and I hope we may be fortunate enough to return again someday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This review is LONG overdue. Stayed here with our family (10 and 13 year old kids) in August 2013. We were on an extended trip to multiple countries. This was a HIGHLIGHT of our whole trip. Wonderful hosts, wonderful guests, wonderful place. Family room was comfortable and cute. Food was GREAT. So close to Sarlat, Beynac, the painted caves. It is magical here.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCARP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Cyprien
5.7 mi away
Chateau de Monrecour
Chateau de Monrecour
#1 of 1 in Saint-Vincent-de-Cosse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
2.7 mi away
Domaine de la Rhonie
Domaine de la Rhonie
#1 of 2 in Meyrals
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
10.6 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Hotel La Couleuvrine
Hotel La Couleuvrine
#5 of 35 in Sarlat-la-Caneda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hostellerie du Passeur
Hostellerie du Passeur
#2 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
4.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Glycines
Hotel Les Glycines
#1 of 8 in Les Eyzies-de-Tayac-Sireuil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Chevrefeuille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chevrefeuille

Property: Le Chevrefeuille
Address: 1 Lieu Dit Pechboutier | Dordogne Valley, 24220, Saint-Cyprien, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Saint-Cyprien
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Cyprien
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Le Chevrefeuille, perfectly located in the heart of the Dordogne valley just outside Les Eyzies. Le Chevrefeuille is a beautiful 18th-century farmhouse complex combining modern comfort with historical charm. Located in the picturesque and tranquil hamlet of Pechboutier, Le Chevrefeuille offers five charming en-suite rooms and three self-contained apartments, each with a private terrace and garden. Enjoy a magnificent meal of fine food and local wine freshly prepared by Ian, our trained chef and served in our stunning central courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Le Chevrefeuille reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing