We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
315
22
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
22
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ian's cooking cooking class guinea pigs thought of everything font de gaume highly recommend le farm house cave art other guests wonderful hosts dordogne region washing machine family vacation self catering glass of wine local market welcomed us warmly
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Just returned from a month trip to France. Absolute highlight of the trip was our stay and cooking class at Le Chevrefeuille near St. Cyprien (outside of Sarlat). Owned & operated by Sara & Ian Fisk , transplanted Brits, Le Chevrefeuille is a beautifully maintained facility and rooms, teaching kitchen ( outdoor) and the included petite dejeuner rivals any we had anywhere in France. Sara made sure that everything we needed was at hand or provided (directions, recommendations etc). Ian conducted a great market tour & cookery course for all skill levels resulting in a feast at the end of the full day course ( recipes provided). Le Chevrefeuille is a great base from which to see the Dordogne River Valley and it’s street markets and all the cave art nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Oysterman1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

We spent a delightful week here in September. The location is ideal for day trips. The hosts are friendly and very helpful in helping you refine your plans. We also took the cooking class and had a great time. If you need a buzzy atmosphere within walking distance to the action, this isn't the spot for you.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChevrefeuille, Owner at Le Chevrefeuille, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2017

Thank you C&J for the nice review. So glad you enjoyed your visit to Le Chevrefeuille and the Dordogne Valley it was a pleasure to look after you both. We’re also so chuffed that you enjoyed your regional cooking day at CookDordogne. Come back anytime. xx PS thank you so much for the lovely foodie gifts. It’s all gone

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

Le Chevrefeuille is nestled in the quiet countryside near St Cyprien and its reputed Sunday market. Also well located for other Dordogne attractions and cities.

We so very much enjoyed our stay. A warm welcome by the whole family. A very comfortable and clean room and a hearty breakfast. Very quiet country setting.

And to top it off, the Sunday market visit followed by a fun learning day with Ian as our market guide and chef teacher who introduced us to local vendors and guided us through the prep and eating of a generous and tasty three course meal with appropriate wines. Sara was also with us to help and join the mealtime conversation.

Really glad we added this stop to our trip.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kraftottawa2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChevrefeuille, Owner at Le Chevrefeuille, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are so happy that you both enjoyed your recent stay and cookery experience at Le Chevrefeuille. It really makes all our efforts so worth it when people take the time and trouble to tell us. Thank you. Please tell your friends and family about us and we guarantee they will receive the warmest of welcomes here in our little Dordogne heaven.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

My family and I had a wonderful day cooking with Ian and Sarah. The course kicked off at 9am with a trip to the markets at Le Bogue. Ian's knowledge of local produce and traditions of the area was excellent and we learnt a lot there.
Once we returned to the cooking school, we started preparing our meal. I loved that we cooked each course and then sat down to eat it before moving on to the next course. Ian is an outstanding teacher and the day was full of fun and laughter.
My parents didn't want to cook so we able to join us for the meal and watch us preparing the food which made it very inclusive.
It was a brilliant day spent at Le Chevrefeuille and I highly recommend a cooking class here with the fabulous Ian.
Thank you Ian and Sarah, we loved every minute.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank KTrev123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChevrefeuille, Owner at Le Chevrefeuille, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Hi KTrev, thanks for the smashing review. We are so pleased you had a good experience at CookDordogne taking part in our regional cookery day. It was a pleasure to spend the day cooking with you and your lovely family. It was also nice to bump into you all again at the market in Le Bugue today. I Hope you managed to find some lovely local produce and cook a fantastic CookDordogne inspired meal as a family once you got back to your Gite. Come back anytime, it would be a pleasure to do it all again.
Ian & Sara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

We have just returned from spending 4 nights with Sarah and Ian (we reserved 3, and made a spur-of-the-moment decision to add a 4th), while we explored all that the Dordogne has to offer. This was easily our favorite stop during our 2-week vacation in France. We stayed in a large, comfortable room in the converted barn, and enjoyed Sarah's breakfasts every morning. We had dinner in nearby Les Eyzies most nights, where we had no difficulty finding outstanding choices. Our room had a private terrace, which we would have loved had weather permitted. The B&B is ideally suited for visiting Font de Gaume, Les Combarelles, Rouffignac and La Madeleine, and canoeing is nearby as well. The Prehistory Information Center and Prehistory Museum are also just minutes away. The other sites are bit farther, but quite easily reachable, and Sarah has all the information you could want on walks, tours, etc., readily available. We could have easily stayed another week or two if the real world wasn't demanding our return... We'll definitely be back, and we'll definitely plan on staying at Le Chevrefeuille again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank gmw725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeChevrefeuille, Owner at Le Chevrefeuille, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

We love it when people stay longer than anticipated. Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review, it was a pleasure to host your visit to this amazing region in the Perigord Noir. So glad you enjoyed our breakfasts, but just a little confession, it's Ian that gets up at 6.30am every morning to get the bread and pastries and make sure everything is just so. We make a great team ;) come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews