We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely, large home in charming village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Grande Vue

La Grande Vue
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
La Grande Vue
Master Bedroom Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
La Grande Vue
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second room
Loft Bedroom
Loft Bedroom
Loft Bathroom
Library & TV Room
Library & TV Room
Living Area
Living Area with Fireplace
Living Area
Dining Room
Dining Room with fireplace
Kitchen
Kitchen
Patio View
The Patio
The Patio
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Saint-Cyprien, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rick95405
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, large home in charming village”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This home is very special. It covers 4 floors and has many large entertains areas. It is beautifully decorated in the local style. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need. There are two dining areas, a very large living room with several windows, and a tv room. The outdoor terrace has a great view of the Dordogne. Big enough for 6 to 8 easily. The pics are very accurate and check in was simple. We would return. Only downside is the church bells ringing every hour from the church across the street. There are also 3 staircases so if you have a disability probably not a fit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sally C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more. This house had everything.”
Reviewed 16 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We were a party of 3 Australian couples and we had a fabulous time in this incredibly spacious home. 3 lounges so a place for us all to relax and unwind after a day of exploring the Dordogne. A great kitchen in which to cook up a feast with all the wonderful produce from the area. This house is in a fabulous town with restaurants, a great Sunday market and close to everything the Dordogne has to offer.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mac H
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT AND BEAUTIFUL PROPERTY TOGETHER WITH LOCATION”
Reviewed 9 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Anthony

We all appreciated and enjoyed the quality of everything within the property. Everything was to such a high standard, the furniture, the beds, etc. We found it to be very spacious so we were able to have our own space, which was needed at times!

The location was also great not too far from villages and towns and of course the markets in the village.

We would all thoroughly recommend this property and will hopefully visit again soon.

This was one to remember with a smile!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I liked verything
Liked least: There was nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachelle...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Exceptional!”
Reviewed 12 July 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Everything about this property is superb - it is well worth a visit! Besides being conveniently located, it is exquisite enough to make you want to stay indoors for your whole holiday. Every detail is thought of (and beautiful!) and you really couldn't want for anything more. While the pictures looked beautiful before we got there, it was even better in 'real life'. It comfortably suits groups but would be just as lovely for a couple as there is enough space in the house to avoid being on top of each other and yet is warm, cosy and very inviting.

Booking is easy and the owner very helpful and we would highly recommend this property to anyone. It will surpass your expectations and offers so much more than you could ever dream of!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lepantopb
Huntington, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and perfectly maintained very large charming village home.”
Reviewed 6 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property was handsome and very complete-even extravagant- in terms of furnishings and decorations but very tasteful. Housekeeper/local manager very helpful. All rooms large. All utilities functioned well. Linens lovely. Whole place very clean and inviting. Kitchen very large and well equipped. Stairs (4 levels) make property unsuitable for persons with disabilities.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Grand size, perfect functionality
Liked least: slow water flow in upstairs bathrooms
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
32riaand
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The perfect refuge and detox from the harsh reality of modern day city life”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

In early October we made our way across two continents to reach our destination, La Grande Vue, nestled below an ancient Church of impressive stature. After the usual arduous flights, with all the challenges that accompany this, and a mad dash across the Bordeaux region from Toulouse, we arrived at our destination, with a huge feeling of relief, quite normal after a long journey. Little did I know what awaited me. The housekeeper was there to welcome the weary guests, with a beautiful vase of freshly picked roses adorning the kitchen counter. The house was spotless. She demonstrated the full array of appliances available to guests, starting on the 1st floor (kitchen, dining room and cellar), moving upwards to the 2nd floor living rooms and then onto the bedroom levels. She then ghosted away magically, leaving us to inhale the magical surroundings. It is clear that no expense has been spared in furnishing La Grande Vue in the most exquisite manner possible, with clear attention paid to each minute detail. One of the many highlights is the kitchen- the magnificent pots and a stove that would make may any chef's mouth water at the prospect of cooking on it, begs to be used. The pots and pans are a delight to prepare food in, one that can only be appreciated fully after using them. Moving up the stairs, tasteful carpets and beautiful paintings are hung, lit and displayed to perfection. One cannot help but be impressed with the care and attention that has been paid to the interior design of the house. The beds are of the highest standard as is the linen provided. The house caters perfectly for all tastes, from those that seek solitude and calm, to those that wish to stay in contact with the digital world. The Wi-fi service provided is of the highest quality, and operates seamlessly. The view from the 3rd floor balcony is breathtaking and presents the valley of St. Cyprien, with all its textures and many rich colours. Shutters, effectively block out the outside world when required, and are beautifully integrated into the external and internal design. As a home base to explore the many features of the Dordogne River region (canoeing, cycling, walking, ballooning and many more) , one could not hope for a more perfect setting. Within a five minute walk from the town centre, everything required is at one's easy disposal, and the walk back up the hill ensures that any culinary temptation does not punish the waistline. Parking is provided outside the house and this provides its own form of entertainment at the start of each days travels. The house is simply magnificent and must be seen to be fully appreciated.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen and bedrooms
Liked least: The +/-8000km trip to get there
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eunice T
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Absolutely the Best!”
Reviewed 24 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

La Grande Vue is a special place tucked away on a quiet street in the medieval sector of St. Cyprien. As its name suggests there is a beautiful view off a great terrace overlooking the town as well as the vast countryside. Ideally located near the heart of the valley of the five castles, the home is ensconced in medieval history surrounded by narrow and very ancient cobblestone walkways. The property is a stone's throw away from a lovely little restaurant that provides good food even late night, Sundays. The abbey church's 12th-century bell tower provides the community with constant time keeping, on the hour and half hour, enveloping the romantic in a world long-forgotten in big cities. It's a few minute walk down to the Sunday market.

We have been traveling to the Dordogne at least five times a year for several years now and I must tell all that if you are looking for an amazing place to stay, La Grande Vue is the most beautiful, comfortable and incredibly clean home we have stayed at, to date. And a great kitchen. The owner has managed to hire the most efficient caretaker that I've ever seen in the area. She doesn't speak much English and we don't speak any French but she managed to take care of all our needs without a hitch. She takes great pride and pleasure in the home she has been entrusted with. All of this reflects on the owner who obviously has gone to great length to insure all goes well, in his beautiful home.

Our only complaint is that there aren't English speaking videos to watch; since we don't speak French, television programing is almost all French except for CNN and we were quickly bored with that. Normally, we don't watch much television, one of our greatest pleasures is biking and hiking throughout the Dordogne, Lot and Correze. However, we had an unusual amount of rainy days and so English speaking movies would have been appreciated.

But in truth, the aforementioned is a minor complaint compared to the many more positives La Grande Vue has to offer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Extrodinarily clean & beautiful
Liked least: No English videos
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing