We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mr”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful Villa With Private Pool in Heart of Stunning Dordogne Valley
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful Villa With Private Pool in Heart of Stunning Dordogne Valley
The lounge with a beautiful view over the swimming pool and the hills Lounge with fireplace, and the mezzanine above
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
20 reviews
Beautiful Villa With Private Pool in Heart of Stunning Dordogne Valley
The lounge with a beautiful view over the swimming pool and the hills
Lounge with fireplace, and the mezzanine above
Green bedroom : Kingsize bed and extra single bed
Green bedroom : Quiet and relaxing, view on the garden
Green bedroom : Bathroom with shower and basin
Master bedroom: quality bed and linen
Master bedroom: quiet, spacious and comfortable
Master bedroom: view on the garden and pool
Master bedroom : Bathroom with Bath, shower, toilet, double basin, and bidet
Master bedroom: walk-in closet with full length mirror
The pink bedroom, for happy owls !
Pink bedroom, has a view on the swimming pool
Pink bedroom and its ensuite bathroom
Pink Bedroom : bathroom with shower and basin
The kitchen : open and equipped
Cooking space
The convertible mezzanine : lounge or double bedroom
Swimming pool and summer garden !
Barbecue and picnic space
Lovely flowers and butterflies
Our fragrant lavender, jasmin, roses, thyme, rosemary...
New fireplace ! (to be tested this winter 2015!)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Saint-Cyprien, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Gdawg85
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is a beautiful house. Superb attention to detail and fantastic spacious garden and pool area....

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
I'm glad that you and N had a great time and look forward to seeing you again, have another barbecue at the picnic area of at the pool patio.
Best wishes, Ewen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicG6
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great break”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We returned to this lovely villa for our Autumn break and were not disappointed. The weather was not always on our side but with so much space inside and out, our holiday was not spoiled. I am sure we will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2017
Thanks a lot Nicola, I'm glad that you had a good time and that you made good use of the high speed broadband during the couple of rainy days. Looking forward to your next visit, hopefully before too long.
Best wishes, Ewen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean W
Bury St. Edmunds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic luxury holiday venue!”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our family of eight stayed for a week at Le Hibou. We found it easily by using google maps navigation on our smart phones, this took us directly there (about 40 mins from the airports)
We had all the comforts of home that one expects such as premium bed linen, towels, cookware, dinner service, luxury plumbing, plenty of hot water, Full HD TV with smart functions via ChromeCast.
Two of the three double bedrooms were en suite and the 3rd is a shower room (there is a separate cloakroom). The mezzanine has a double sofa bed and the lounge a single bed settee.
Our hosts were very helpful and informative providing details of local attractions and the practical such as food shopping, markets etc.
The kitchen was very well appointed for regularly cooking for eight.... including induction hob, microwave, dishwasher (we used it a lot for our family catering) etc.
We used the excellent BBQ area of the every evening for dinner.
Unusually for France the Internet service speed provided was not just usable but very fast with strong wifi coverage throughout the property and pool area. As well as Internet access there is a colour printer & scanner that came in very useful for our boarding passes etc.
A phone service was also provided that provided free landline calls to Europe, North America, Australia etc. So this is a very good venue for the business traveler on vacation for a family holiday.
The swimming pool was a boon for our children and parents. It is very well maintained and has a very nice patio area.
The gardens are very well kept, the photographs that we saw do not do it justice, The views are idyllic. The property and its gardens are very quiet being situated next to woods.
When it was hot we just closed the power metal shutters to keep the house cool, and it was very effective.
Sarlat-la-Canéda and Saint-Cyprien are close by and of course the River Dordogne. We found that there are lots of attractions for all ages. The food and wine here is top notch in the world so eating and drinking was not a problem!
There is plenty of parking space for three cars just outside of the triple garage.
We had a fantastic time, all too often when we stay somewhere I feel that we have been “nickle & dimed”, not the case with our stay at Le Hibou Heureux!
We found very good value flights to Bergerac and Brive airports (we travelled via Brive).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 May 2017
Many thanks Dean, I'm glad that you and your party had a good time at the Le Hibou Heureux. The gardens are looking even better just now with the lavender and roses about to bloom. The pool has warmed up nicely and the guests I had this week spent most of their time in the water. I hope to welcome you again before too long.
Thanks again, Ewen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Many thanks Nigel Kristina and family. I'm glad you all enjoyed your stay in the villa and very much look forward to seeing you all again next time. Your dogs are also welcome!
All the best,
Ewen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Devon E
Golden, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy Times at the Happy Owl”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We enjoyed our five days at this property and found the home met the needs of our two families (8 adults/teens) very well. We were comfortably able to cook, bbq, dine inside and out, sunbathe, wash laundry, walk down the hill to the local bakery as well as catch coverage of the Olympics in English.

The owner offered useful information on the house and neighbouring towns and also provided taxi service for one guest to the Bordeaux airport. We found the location very convenient to the markets in Sarlat, historic caves in Lascaux and restaurants in Domme. Our canoe/kayak trip down the Dordogne was memorable! We would however suggest that any travelers using GPS to find the property, request directions with road numbers which correspond to GPS as there is more than one Saint-Cyprian.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet and comfortable. Up above the road with views and incredible night skies
Liked least: Directions should reference road numbers to correlate with GPS
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2016
Hi Andrew, many thanks for your kind review, we're very glad you all had a good time in Bezenac. I'll make sure that future guests are aware of the postcode for the nearby St Cyprien 24220 to avoid confusion. We look forward to you and your friends coming to stay again. Thanks once more for taking the time to submit your review.
Best regards - Ewen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoniqueFi...
1 review
“Lovely very well equiped house with a big beautiful garden and pool!”
Reviewed 22 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Le Hibou Heureux is a lovely house with a beautiful big garden and nice pool. It's situated on top of a hill and is surrounded with a characteristic restored old stone wall.
We were welcomed by Ewen the owner who made us feel very welcome. The house is very well equiped and offers more than most vacation homes. Ewen the owner made sure that we had everything we needed and even brought us an extra umbrella and garlic press when we mentioned it. Behind the house is a terras with a big stone barbecue and if you like you can also sit at the picnic table under neath the trees. We stayed there with two families of four and had a lovely time. In the neighbourhood you find lovely villages with nice restaurants and a lot of heritage sites. We were amazed with the food served at the restaurants and the kind people. For the adventerous people , there are also all kinds of things to do. We went canoeïng at the Dordogne river.
We loved staying at The Hibou Heureux. If you're there ask Ewen how the house got it's name!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2016
Many thank for your kind words Monique and I'm so glad you had an enjoyable holiday. I hope you and your friends will come here again one day! It was a real pleasure to having you stay with us.
Ewen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
716rob
Warmond, The Netherlands
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Remarkable house with outstanding hospitality”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Nothing has been left to chance in this remarkable and perfectly finished villa. The owner is doing his utmost to release the guests. A warm welcome with cold champagne struck us as part.
The house is situated very quietly on a hill. The large garden is maintained perfect with a lot of flowers and lavendel. The pool is clean and also is the house and bathrooms

The house is excellent for 8 people. 3 senior bedrooms and 2 children can sleep on the mezzanine. The pizza take away is at the foot of the reasonably steep hill (about 1500 m). Restaurants and supermarket are about 3 - 5 km away.

The area along the winding Dordogne is amazing. Our tip: hire a canoe and see the beautiful villages from the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool and the garden and the very helpful owner
Liked least: The distance to the nearest bar/restaurant. The open mezzanine
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your kind words Rob, it was a pleasure to have your family and friends stay in Bezenac and hope to see you again for another bottle of fizz! Best regards,
Ewen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing