We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great rental, highly recommend”
other travellers have booked this property
view of cottage and swimming pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
view of cottage and swimming pool
house as seen from pool courtyard terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
view of cottage and swimming pool
house as seen from pool
courtyard terrace
the pool
living/dining area
log fire, kitchen and dining area
main bedroom ground floor
bathroom
spiral staircase to first floor
bedroom 2 upstairs
single bed upstairs
terrace area
view from pool decking up towards main house
view from pool
looking up to the house from the pool
view towards pool
autumn time!
view from cottage towards pool in winter
Hautefort Château
hot air balloon flying over the house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hautefort, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Katine67
2 reviews
“Great rental, highly recommend”
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Stayed at Chez Baron July 11-23, 2015. The Gite is exactly as pictured and very comfortable to stay in, 3 bedrooms with 2 double beds and 2 twin beds. The pool is lovely to have if it gets hot, which it did during our stay. This was our first trip to the Dordogne region and found that Chez Baron is nicely located to visit all the sites - Rocomadour, Sarlat, Padirac Cave, Martel, Castelnaud, Lez Eyzies, etc. are all within 1 hour or less of a drive. the location is very private and quiet and well-stocked with all the utensils you might need if you plan to cook. There is a table outside to eat out on the patio, and a table inside as well. Our stay coincided with a bit of the "heat wave" with day time temperatures going up over 95 degrees several days, and if there is no breeze it was quite warm at night for sleeping. One thing I really loved was that the shower was an American-style stand up shower, and had GREAT water pressure, and the water was very hot, which is nice if you like a hot shower. I would highly recommend staying here and would stay again. So much better than staying in a hotel. We were able to do our laundry, relax outside and drink wine, eat cheese and enjoy it all. And it was nice to have Charlie the cat come for a visit now and again as our kids loved to pet him, he was super friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, great shower, nice pool, comfy beds, all kitchen stuff you'll need
Liked least: it was very hot some nights, a couple of fans would be a nice to have
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDMC74
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional home and can't wait to go back”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had our first holiday in France at this exceptional property. The house caters for everything you could possibly need and is very comfortable and a joy to stay in. The owners really have thought of everything and are nearby if you need them for anything. The scenery all around is stunning and the grounds the house is in are beautiful. You are surrounded by nature and relaxing is the order of the day here. The pool is an added bonus and much needed on a hot day as the garden and the sun lounger area are in a sun trap for the majority of the day, although there is a cover to pull over if you want some shade. We cannot wait to go back and experience more of what Kate and Andre have to offer here, to spend time with the animals and just chill out again. Hopefully we can stay for longer next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Not staying long enough
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hughwatso...
Venice
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay and see the Perigord”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely, comfortable and well-equipped gite on a farm with an inviting pool and a view of the country. Kate and Andre are very helpful and unobtrusive. The fig tree provides beautiful fruit in season and the donkey and horse in the nearby paddock are friendly. We were able to travel easily to many medieval towns nearby and enjoy everything the Dordogne has to offer. Chez Baron was a home away from home and great to come back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A home away from home
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iad11
victoria, australia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“You could pay more for much less. A beautiful spot in the Dordogne”
Reviewed 28 June 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We had a very long stay at Chez Baron and it is difficult to find a fault. It is in a lovely area close to the top of a hill looking towards Hautefort - in fact you can see the chateau on the hill. The pictures here do not do justice to how lovely the rolling hills, valley, and forest surroundings are and how comfortable the accommodation is. Ideally placed for visiting the area, the spectacular caves at Tourtoirac, Brantome, St Jean de Cole and Perigueux are all close by. The owners are on site so any problems can be easily sorted out. In good weather you could just spend your time in the pool looking at the view. In not so good weather you can visit museums and caves and eat out in local restaurants, or visit the village produce markets. Highly recommended for adults and children, we would not hesitate to return.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronte K
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Paradise in the Dordogne”
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed here at Chez Baron, courtesy of being impressed with the positive reviews from other travellers. The only thing I can add is to say that the place exceeded our expectations and provides a true delight for a relaxing holiday. A charming French country farmhouse cottage, with stone walls, terracotta floors, with a persian rug in the living area, comfy in all the right ways. We didn't use the pool, other than to soak our feet at the end of the day, but its large and has great views over the valley below.

Kate and Andre are congenial and delightful hosts, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Kate is extremely knowledgable and gave us ideas for walks of which there are plenty and the cottage has plenty of information already.

The gite is attached to the barn and house, but Kate and Andre are very unobtrusive, but very accessible for advice and assistance. The farmlet is complete with a delightful horse called Carlux and a donkey called Cappucin, who benefited from the apples we collected on our travels. We chose the gite because it was centrally located in the Northern Dordogne and so we were able to do market days in Perigeux, visits to Brantome, and close to hand the beautiful Chateau and village in Haufeforte. We walked through some of the many small and charming villages nearby, which make you think time has stood still for a century or more. We also went horse riding in the Vezere Valley, in Les Eyzies, with Ferme de Fonluc, which was unforgettable. I would say that Chez Baron makes an outstanding place to stay in one of the most beautiful areas I have ever visited.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Staying in the quite and delightful countryside, but still close to everything
Liked least: Not being able to stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markforte
Newark, Delaware
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chez Baron is a beautiful, bucolic place run by the niecest people!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Chez Baron is truly a beautiful gem of a cottage or as they call it in the Dordogne, gite. It is perfect, set aside in the most beautiful country minutes from the village of Hautefort...just gorgeous area! Kate Johnson is such a wonderful and kind person! And the cottage of Chez Baron is really beautiful, comfortable and spacious. There is everything you might need a restful place set in gorgeous area, fully stocked kitchen, comfy bed, beautiful bath, close to perfection!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NicolaEri...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Exactly what we wanted.”
Reviewed 8 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Just had a wonderful week staying at Chez Baron. Over the past 12 or so years we have stayed in French Gites is many parts of France. This one beat them all. The attention to detail inside and out of the Gite was excellent. Almost every item you would have in your kitchen is to be found at Chez Baron. Every room is well presented and the Beds were very comfy.

When we holiday we usually like to cook 'at home' and shop daily for different French/local foods. The superbly kitted out kitchen did us proud. Plenty of cooking items and serving dishes, so long leisurely evening meals on a candle lit terrace was the order of the week. Plent of eating areas, as Breakfast in the sunshire by the Pool was a must.

Kate and Andre were superb Hosts, they were on hand if you wanted them, but left you to your devices to enjoy a tranquell relaxing holiday.

Will be back again one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace, tranquility and comfort - plus the weather was fantastic
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing