We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very memorable - wish we were still there!”
Review of Les Gites Fleuris

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hautefort
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Les Gites Fleuris
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My husband and I stayed with a friend - we had a fabulous week. Larry gave us great advice on where to go on our day trips and local restaurants to try for evening meals. Some of our most pleasant nights however were those by the fire, cats on laps, making a meal from some of the great local produce, drinking great Bordeaux wines, sleeping incredibly well... Loved the insight into life in the village Larry gave us. We had some great day trips from this base - caves, castles, canoeing, great market days in nearby villages, and some amazing meals. It was also all great value for money and we will be recommending Les gites fleuris to all our friends. I feel like we had the quintessential rural France experience.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Millymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 23 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2010

It was a great time in Les Gites Fleuris. We stayed in La Petit Rose - a little, adorable cottage with beautiful surroundings (garden, hills, woods). Renata and Larry Barnes are very friendly and helping hosts. Renata advised us what to visit, where to eat and helped us to plan our bicycle's trips. Renata's knowledge about the Perigord region : full of caves, castles, wineyards, places with beautiful views, restaurants serving regional dishes is really impressive. The estate is suitable for spending wonderful holidays both for couples and family with small children and teenagers. It offers : swimming pool, play area for children, heated Jacuzzi spa, table tennis ( in and outside), volleyball, fitness equipment, billiards, etc. The wireless Internet is also available in the house. We would highly recommend this house and estate for holidays.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jaroslaw68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2010

We stayed in the little cottage. A family from Belgium was staying in the other one and they were very nice. Friendly and helpful owners. Renata had lots of advice for us on what to see and do. Clean, quaint cottage in a quiet village. Nearby amenities and tourist attractions. We would highly recommend Renata and Larry's cozy cottages.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TristanOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2010

When we first saw the photos of this incredible hidden jewel - we knew we had to see it with our own eyes. My family and I (it works well with 2 small kids who can sleep in the living room couch that converts to a bed) rented the Petite Rose house for a week in August of 2008. There are so many words to describe this little piece of the world - idyllic,restful, enchanting, relaxing, gastronomical. Renata is a wonderful host. She helps you when you need it and stays back to let you enjoy your time as your own. Since our boys were 6 - it was easy to let them run free in the open yard and have them play games in the barn. During the early part of the day it was wonderful to visit many of the towns and then jet back in the late afternoon for a swim/hot tub. Let's just say that with or without kids - this is one gites you must put on your list to come to sometime in your life!! We were lucky in that Renata's daughters were of the age to babysit and were there at the time we visited. They offered up (and we paid for) a day of babysitting of which my husband and I took advantage of. That was a nice extra treat

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SomeonefromBerkeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2009

Our 5 night stay with Renata was absolutely perfect. We (4 of us) stayed in the Wisteria House and enjoyed beautiful views of the surrounding rolling hills of the Perigord region. We experienced amazing dinners in nearby Hautefort (less than a mile away), and enjoyed relaxing in the pool within the quiet countryside. Not only is Renata a great hostess, but she's also a wonderful chef! We will never forget our experience and conversations with her...

We highly recommend Les Gites Fleuris to anyone!

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LivestrongMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2009

A friend who grew up in France flipped when I showed him the Web site for Les Gites and exclaimed, "Now, that's a real French vacation house!". One day as we were driving thorugh the Dordogne Valley, my husband nailed it when he said, "I had no idea that this kind of place still existed on this planet!". He was referring generally to the peaceful, rich experiences we were enjoying and in particular to our stay at the lovely Gites Fleuris!

Our cottage stay was even more delightful and comfortable than I had dared hope for! Renata, our Canadian/American expat hostess greeted and treated us as welcome family, making sure that we had everything we needed for an over-the-top vacation! Whether we were off to visit a castle, canoe the gorgeous river, or explore the prehistoric cave dwellings, we drove the country with the confidence of locals thanks to her generous guidance and helpful recommendations!

If you truly want to experience France, meet lovely people, and learn about this ancient and still beautiful country, don't miss the opportunity to stay in the heart of the Dordogne! Fly to Bordeaux and drive to St. Agnan - maybe 2 hours - leaving cities behind for some of the most beautiful, pastoral countryside you'll ever see. When you arrive at Les Gites Fleuris, you will begin to understand that you have come to the country you have known in your dreams. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Toni-Antoinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2008

What can you say that hasn't been said about this charming cottage in the beautiful French countryside? Centrally located to make easy day trips to dozens of different local tourist attractions (the chateaus, pre-historic sites, surrounding quaint towns, vineyards, etc.), the one we stayed in (the smaller of the two) was all you need for a week's stay. The cottage came well equipped with a kitchen, fireplace in the living room, a writing desk, kitchen table, couch, and a separate bedroom and bath. The bath and all amenities worked exactly as expected -- no surprises! If you visit one of the town's local markets, you could easily stock up on food and make many of your own meals for the week. But why would you do so when so many great restaurants are within a 30 minute drive?

The 3 cottages actually are all situated right next to one another (2 available for rental, one is the owner's house), but each has its own privacy. The smaller of the 2 cottages is directly on the little lane that runs by the house (it's technically a road, but you wouldn't know it as it looks more like a country lane that rarely has a car on it). Each also has its own patio area and barbecue if you are so inclined to enjoy. And although we didn't take advantage of it, the property also has a swimming pool and hot tub available.

Our hosts, Renata and Larry (although we didn't meet him as he was traveling) were wonderful, welcoming and delightful company, but respect your privacy as well. Renata offered many helpful suggestions about where to visit, eat, and more, and was so friendly and personable! Your hosts can complement and add to your trip and in this case, that was most definitely the case. They made our stay feel like we really were welcomed and such a positive experience.

We flew from Paris into Bordeaux and recommend that over the car ride from Paris direct. The roads in the countryside were well-marked and easy to travel. We visited Saint Emilion on the way to the cottage, as well as some vineyards.

Make sure you visit Sarlat and Rocamadour while in the area.

We had a great time and highly recommend Les Gites Fleuris!!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DaveNBPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Les Gites Fleuris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Gites Fleuris

Address: Lieu Dit les Broussilloux, 24390 Hautefort, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Hautefort
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Hautefort
Price Range: £44 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Les Gites Fleuris are 2 fully equipped holiday home rentals. The houses are traditional stone Perigordian farm cottages. La Petite Rose has 1 bedroom that can sleep 4p. La Wisteria has 3 bedrooms that can sleep 6. Large garden area with fruit and walnut trees. Pool, Jacuzzi, children's play area, indoor games room with billiard table, ping pong, and laundry room. Private terrace with barbecue. Magnificent valley view! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing