We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very nice stay in a quiet town. Some of the best service anywhere. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delightful The rooms on the street side are a little noisy, so ask for one in the rear. I will certainly return when given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bomberbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    98
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
122
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Lazio, Italy
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

It was an ancient lodging for carriages and it has been renewed with attention to all the details. Very comfortable room and garden. The breakfast was good too.

It's a in good position to explore the Mont Saint Michael area. It's easy to park.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

In a town with seemingly little reason for visiting, it was a real treat to discover this 'Logis de France' hotel. Our room was somewhat loudly decorated with orange wallpaper, but it was perfectly clean, everything worked and the bed had an apparently new mattress.
All the staff were not only friendly but go out of their way to be helpful and to 'be of service'. In my experience this sort of behaviour speaks of good management and, sure enough, the proprietor/owner is ever present. He is there during breakfast as well as dinner, he is a constant presence in and around reception and is the first to assist in any case of need. He has, more importantly, instilled this same work ethic in his key staff.
The food at dinner was of the highest quality and far in excess of what one might expect in such a place. There were 3 set menus ranging from Euro 28 to Euro 56 and a cheese course was included in all. The dessert menu also was common for all 3 set meals and was of a very high standard.
If you're getting the car ferry to or from Cherbourg make sure this is your first/last night's stay. It is an easy 2 to 3 hour drive to/from the ferry port and well worth it. The rooms are reasonably priced and the food is delicious

Room Tip: a lot of the rooms open onto a small but tranquil garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torrelavega, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

positives: a nice garden, quiet place, the entrance bar, the restaurant, with good food, somewhat expensive, just taste an eye-watering assorted dessert, magnifique. 7/10 overall. Negatives no air cond, no english-speaking news channels on tv, parking free at Hotel but needs proper pavement, not gravel, especially for our shoes. Slow Wifi and it was unavailable on morning of departure. Low shower water pressure.

Room Tip: first floor better isolated from garden corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alberto4409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baker, Montana, USA
Level Contributor
88 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

This appeared to be a very old building, as least a century or two, with the feel of an old French inn. The room was comfortable, apparently without air conditioning, but we opened our window and it was generally quiet at night. The hotel has a very nice landscaped courtyard, which some of the rooms face; it would be worthwhile to ask for one of these. Off street parking was private and gated with good access. Breakfast costs extra and is a traditional continental style, but it is served in a wonderfully quaint dining room that also serves as a pubic restaurant during supper time. The staff was very attentive and extremely helpful, making us feel welcome after a long day on the road. The only difficulty we experienced was finding it. It is in the center of town at the top of this hill immediately adjacent to Patton Square, with its huge statue of General Patton. Google Maps did a very poor job of pinpointing it on a one way street at the northwest corner of the roundabout, causing us to drive around for 45 minutes or so. But it is located in a nice downtown area with lots of shops and restaurants.

Room Tip: The hotel has a very nice landscaped courtyard, which some of the rooms face; it would be worthwhile...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Desp76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2013

We had two night at this unique little hotel, and it was extremely comfortable. We were on the bottom floor of the new wing, able to walk out into the pretty little garden. Our room was spacious and yet cosy, and the bathroom and separate toilet arrangement was ideal. In addition, there is a large dining room for meals in the main (older) part of the hotel - extremely cheaply priced - and big breakfasts (served in the dining room) are included in the room rate. Parking is easy and within the grounds of the hotel. All staff were particularly helpful and pleasant, and they work well as a team to provide continuous good service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Solomon257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Last year we were searching Chowhound for a place for dinner after we spent the day at Mont-St-Michel. The restaurant was so fantastic and reasonably priced that instead of driving to our already booked hotel, we canceled and stayed the night there as well! This year, we returned and had another great experience. We had a small problem with our room and the owner took care of it promptly. Great service, historical spot, and great waitress, Christiane.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the renovated wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avranches
1.2 mi away
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
#1 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#3 of 5 in Avranches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
3.0 mi away
Le Gue du Holme
Le Gue du Holme
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
15.4 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Croix d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Croix d'Or

Property: Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Address: 83 rue de la Constitution, 50300 Avranches, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Croix d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de la Croix d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing