We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its lovely when you stumble on a place like this.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de la Croix d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Certificate of Excellence
Drogheda
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Its lovely when you stumble on a place like this.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Traveling through Normandy and we stayed here. It is an old coach house and has a lovely ambiance. We had a twin room and it is a short walk into the town. Court yard garden is very well kept.
The highlight was the dinner.
Food was perfect. We had the €27.50 menu and it was bang on for me. Menus go to €50 for fillet of beef etc but I was happy to go with house house terrine to start and rabbit for main course. Cheese board was terrific and the dessert was divine.
They had no problem with wheat intolerance for my daughter.
Now beware G&T is €10 so drinks & wine are not cheap.
Its been the best meal I had in ages.
If I'm back in Normandy again I sure will check this place out again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    97
    19
    5
    0
See reviews for
36
121
7
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed here on Sunday night and only booked it in the morning of that day as we were over in France for the bank holiday. Wish we could have stayed longer.... Easy to find, plenty of parking and the room was excellent... This is an old coaching house and our room was in what was probably the old stables in the courtyard. Modern bathroom and toilet and extremely large and comfortable bed!
Our stay improved even more when we ate in the dining room. Food was amazing, presented beautifully and tasted divine....
Service was friendly and professional and in the morning the ladies at breakfast were eager to help get more bread and were so friendly.
The garden courtyard was beautiful to sit out in...
The worst part was leaving.... So we really recommend this hotel..... A total gem and not too far to le Mont St Michel if you are brave enough to face the crowds!:)
Thanks to all at the hotel... We will be back:)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trisha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jounieh, Lebanon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

comfortable and clean room, professional stuff, very beautiful garden with great view from rooms.
just what we need for one night on our way to Mont St. Michel from Paris. dont miss the delicious croissant home made on breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaniaAbdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
469 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Charming hotel, beautiful courtyard gardens (also viewed from rooms). Wonderful ambience in dining room - heavy beams and copper artefacts. All spotlessly clean, and the madame who ran the restaurant was in charge - and we were delighted by her. Nothing was a trouble. Breakfast and dinner on both occasions superb. Bedroom overlooking courtyard had a large desk at the window which was ideal given we need to work while on holidays.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

lovely old coaching inn with extensive parking area/garden to rear.top class restaurant.if you need somewhere to stay in avranches,make this it.make a night of it in the restaurant,as avranches is fairly quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beejay493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Quaint and welcoming property. Beautiful garden and great location on our way from Mont St. Michele to Paris. Enjoyed a delicious three hour dining experience and good breakfast. We gave this a four star compared to other places we stayed in France. We stumbled upon this hotel and found it and the staff totally charming. If we are ever in Avranche again, we will return...will tell our friends in Oregon about this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBP52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

Very nice stay in a quiet town. Some of the best service anywhere. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delightful The rooms on the street side are a little noisy, so ask for one in the rear. I will certainly return when given the chance.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bomberbowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avranches
1.1 mi away
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
#1 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.6 mi away
Altos Hotel
Altos Hotel
#3 of 5 in Avranches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Moulin de Ducey
3.1 mi away
Le Gue du Holme
Le Gue du Holme
#1 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
15.4 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Croix d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Croix d'Or

Property: Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Address: 83 rue de la Constitution, 50300 Avranches, France
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Croix d'Or 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel de la Croix d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing