We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Altos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

On a recent driving trip through France, we stayed overnight in several 2 star hotels. This hotel offered the best value in the 2 star range that we encountered. The room was bigger, more modern and better equipped than any of the others. It was clean, nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable. There was secure parking at the back of the hotel although there was an extra 5 Euro charge.The hotel is located about a 10/15 minute walk to the centre of Avranche where there are a number of nice restaurants. The restaurant beside the hotel is not very impressive - menu is limited (there were only three choice of mains courses on our visit). Food quality is adequate and expensive for what we got. The breakfast was above average and nicely presented. It is a very good hotel for a short stay and does offer value for money. A special word for the receptionist - I did not get her name but she was extremely pleasant, efficient, courteous and friendly. An absolute delight to engage with.
Would I stay there again?. Yes.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjwals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    81
    35
    7
    6
See reviews for
21
119
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vught
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

The best USP of this hotel is the short distance (15 km) to Mont St. Michel. It is OK for a 1 night stop or short stay. It offers fair quaity for money. Breakfast a little below average. Entering the hotel after reception hours is slighty awkward in the dark. Staff friendly but distant.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vuppies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

Nice, clean hotel with very friendly and helpfull staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas-Horsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed at Altos Hotel in Avrances for 2 nights while visiting Normandy and Mont St Michel. It is a great location - just a few kms from the hotel, we rounded a corner at the top of the hill at the edge of Avranches, and we could see Mont St Michel in the distance - it was a spectacuar sight, almost like a mirage. The hotel seems to be an older establishment with a somewhat-recent overhaul and contemporary decor. We booked a family room for 4, but were nicely surprised to have 2 separate rooms. The breakfast was good (additional cost). We had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant next door; we weren't expecting much, but were pleasantly surprised. Be advised that Avranche is a sleepy little town. The one thing that was a but disquieting (but perfectly understandable) was that the hall lights in the hotel were on motion sensors, which means when you got off the elevator or came to the top of the stairs, it was dark (its a small hotel, not a lot of activity or motion). The eco-minded side of me appreciates this energy saving idea, but the paranoid side of me wonders what may be lurking in teh dark.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Nice place to stay with parking and breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rargento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed here the night before going to Mont St. Michele. The lobby looks really contempory but when you get to your room it's scary. Very dirty. We checked the beds for bugs...didn't see anything but the whole night I wondered. The carpet had all sorts of stains and the bathroom was horrible. I almost took a shower with socks on it was so bad. The shower head wasn't attached to the wall so my husband had to hold it up while I washed out my hair. We couldn't get out of there fast enough. The did have a breakfast that was comparable with most of the places we've stayed so I'd say that was a plus but seriously wouldn't stay there again for the life of me. Would rather sleep in the car.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jayhawk209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

We booked this hotel at the last minute from Normandy. First of all, don't miss Avaranches - it is so picturesque, quaint and full of history. A really lovely town. The hotel was just fine - it was clean, the rooms were not too small (though that odd two-room bathroom set up). The staff were what made the stay great - they were so pleasant and helpful, and the included breakfast, though not extensive, was tasty. This hotel is only rated as a two star but it's one of those ones that you get a good deal on and ends up being a really pleasant surprise. Definite value for money here!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — The parking
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ML25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avranches
1.6 mi away
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
La Ramade Hotel de Charme
#1 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
#2 of 5 in Avranches
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Le Moulin de Ducey
1.8 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Gabriel
Hotel Gabriel
#1 of 16 in Mont-Saint-Michel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altos Hotel

Property: Altos Hotel
Address: 37 boulevard du Luxembourg | Baie du Mont Saint-Michel, 50300 Avranches, France (Formerly Altos Hotel)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Altos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary decor and trendy design for your hotel with Spa-Jacuzzi, sauna and massage, near Mont Saint-Michel, near protected beaches between the Cotentin and Brittany Coasts, Granville and Saint Malo. Design rooms for romantic getaway, and family rooms for your holidays in Normandy.Altos is 15 minutes from the Abbey of Mont Saint-Michel, a historic site by the UNESCO, and near Avranches downtown, for a quiet and peaceful night, a little further away from the crowds of visitors. The best partner restaurants near Hotel Altos amaze you with their value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altos Hotel Avranches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing