We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“serves its purpose”
Review of Altos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Altos Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2008

a clean and pleasant hotel with friendly staff and fair sized rooms. breakfast was included in our stay and the staff ensure you are never without coffee, croissants etc. free parking is provided and there is no 'curfew' to come in whenever you want. the bar shut a little earlier than we would have liked (2230) which although not a major aspect of the hotel, we found ourselves getting back quite late from exploring normandy so a nice glass of 'vin rouge' would have been great when we got in! i would say this hotel is great for 1 or 2 nights but no more and mainly if you are interested in going to mont st michel. the other main places of interest are bit of a drive away so you are not really in the heart of things here. we felt it was a bit pricey for what we got and from what else was on offer in the area(75 euros per night which was suppsed to be a cheao deal but is actually the advertised price). our shower flooded on the first day which seemed to be a design flaw-if you aim it towards the wall and not on max power its fine!!. all in all not a bad little hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank becx27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
There are newer reviews for Altos Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 218 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2004

We stayed here one night on our way to Mont-St.-Michel. We arrived in town about an hour before checking in because we got lost and couldn't find the hotel. The driving instructions and map we found on the Internet for this hotel were really poor. The hotel is very unmemorable. Nothing distinctive to recommend it - looks like a chain operation - very ordinary and, in fact, a touch on the rundown side. It's clean, but there are set-in stains on the carpet and the wallpaper is peeling, at places along on the walls. It was raining and cold while we were there and we couldn't get the radiator to work - despite instructions from the desk clerk. So we froze that night. On the plus side - the restaurant directly next door to the hotel (there's an entrance through the lobby), was exceptional. The night we ate there, it was extremely crowded by locals, not tourists. We were the only English-speaking people there. The food was superb - the best meal I ate in 10 days spent in France. And very reasonably priced.

4  Thank SpringerGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank charlottecellier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Stéphane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
Thank Olivier U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sunexiZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank martinette8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avranches
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
524 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
#3 of 5 in Avranches
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
142 reviews
11.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel Montgomery
1.3 mi away
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont Saint-Michel
B&B Hotel Avranches Baie du Mont...
#2 of 2 in Le Val-Saint-Pere
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altos Hotel

Address: 37 boulevard du Luxembourg | Baie du Mont Saint-Michel, 50300 Avranches, France (Formerly Altos Hotel)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Price Range: £88 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Altos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary decor and trendy design for your hotel with Spa-Jacuzzi, sauna and massage, near Mont Saint-Michel, near protected beaches between the Cotentin and Brittany Coasts, Granville and Saint Malo. Design rooms for romantic getaway, and family rooms for your holidays in Normandy.Altos is 15 minutes from the Abbey of Mont Saint-Michel, a historic site by the UNESCO, and near Avranches downtown, for a quiet and peaceful night, a little further away from the crowds of visitors. The best partner restaurants near Hotel Altos amaze you with their value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Altos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altos Hotel Avranches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing