We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Altos Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Altos Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Certificate of Excellence
Taunton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I stayed at the Altos hotel for 5 nights in July 2004 and enjoyed every minute I was there. It was peaceful ,clean and well decorated, The staff and owner were very friendly and helpful. They always found time to converse. The room I had was excellent comfortable bed and modern clean bathroom. My room was clean and beds made daily with fresh towels and toiletries each day. Every morning there was a lovely buffet breakfast with a member of staff to greet you with a smile. Parking is good and secure. The hotel is situated just 5 minutes walk from town centre. Its a nice walk to town and some interesting shops to see. There are a few nice restaurants and bars.
I came across some beautiful gardens and an old ancient castle which is free to use. When you get to the top you have a magnificent view across the rooftops of the town.
There are three large supermarkets about 10 minutes walk from the hotel if you need anything. There is also a service station nearby.
The history of world war 2 is apparent and interesting. St Mont Michel is a short drive away and St Malo is about 45 minutes away by car. Both locations are an easy route to use.
This hotel has to be the best I have stayed at . I give it 5 stars any day for its 110% satisfaction, quality and cleanliness. Its the place you will want to return to I am sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELALTOS, Propriétaire at Altos Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour, et merci d'avoir pris le temps de détailler les qualités de notre Hôtel. C'est un encouragement à toute notre Equipe, pour obtenir votre satisfaction. A bientôt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    85
    36
    7
    5
See reviews for
23
128
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel wasn't as great as the photos I'd seen online, which made it look quite funky and modern. Room was good size, fairly modern. Word of warning - we arrived in Avranches around 9.30 on a Friday night and the town was dead with only 1 restaurant open - an Italian pizza / pasta place - which was good, about 5 min drive away. Need to get there early if you want more selection!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nicola594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELALTOS, Propriétaire at Altos Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour. Les 29 chambres sont toutes décorées différemment les unes des autres, mais toujours dans le même style contemporain, et avec une tendance design. Il est donc compréhensible que vous ayez en tête une photo de chambre différente que celle que vous avez occupée. Il nous arrive régulièrement que certains clients précisent leur choix, ce que nous avons grand plaisir à respecter, ou à modifier a leur arrivée si ils le souhaitent.
Vous habitez à Londres, il n'est donc pas étonnant que vous trouviez notre petite ville de province "morte après 9h30", ce qui n'est pas une exception. Comme le précisez, il y a toujours, heureusement, des solutions de restauration dans notre ville jusqu'à 23:30 (demander à la Réception)
Merci de votre visite et de votre témoignage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

After 2 weeks touring Normandy by bicycle, this was the perfect hotel for a 2-day layover while day-tripping to Mont S.-Michel. Number one-reason: elevator! Second reason: doorways wide enough and rooms big enough to accommodate our bike friday trailer/travel cases. Free bike parking in secure outdoor area. No other hotel we stayed at in Normandy had all these features.

N.B.: If you arrive on Sunday, be sure to have a cell phone handy to call the owner to check in before 5 p.m. The place is dark and locked for then.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMon707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELALTOS, Propriétaire at Altos Hotel, responded to this review, 17 September 2014
Google Translation
D'abord, félicitations pour un voyage aussi long en vélo ! C'est aussi dans ces conditions que vous pouvez apprécié tous les services et les prestations réunis en même temps dans notre Hôtel
( comme pour nos clients en moto )
Nous vous remercions de préciser que les heures d'arrivée doivent être vérifiées sur votre confirmation, afin de prévenir l'Hôtel si elles ne correspondent pas à celle prévue pour l'organiser spécialement.
Merci de votre visite. A bientôt dans notre nouvel Espace Détente pour encore plus de confort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was a one night stay on the way back to the tunnel from Jersey and perfectly acceptable. Good sized room and separate toilet/shower. Clean. Parking easy and safe, easy to find just off the motorway.

Staff friendly, good continental breakfast. A little expensive for what it is, but good enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgncfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELALTOS, Responsable réception at Altos Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Google Translation
Bonjour,
Merci de votre témoignage encourageant pour toute notre Equipe.
Au plaisir de vous recevoir prochainement, en vous réservant les meilleures conditions de confort et d'accueil.
Cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

My husband and I were travelling around Normandy and Britany. We chose this hotel as the online deal was very good value for money hence we did not know what to expect. What a great surprise when we got there: we got there at 12, and checkin was supposed to be at 2pm, but our room was ready so we were allowed in. The staff is extremelly friendly and helpful, the director of the Hotel met us in person and gave us advice on where to go and what to visit, he also sent us to a restaurant near by, made the reservation for us; the food was delicious and service excellent ( the restaurant is own by a friend of his and located in Central Avrances)
The room are much bigger than on picture, extremelly clean and the decor is very nice , we also enjoyed the duvet and high quality beds, we enjoyed it so much that we almost missed the breakfast, which was again fantatstic and amazing value for money.
We extended our stay for an extra night. I would definitely recomment this 2 stars hotel which could easilly be a 3 to 4 stars. A huge thanks to the hotel Altos team.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

When we booked this hotel, the pictures online looked decent so we thought we would give it a try, as we made our reservation a bit last minute. Once we had checked in, we went back downstairs to the concierge to see whether we would get our money back, as we no longer wanted to stay there. Of course, he said that was not possible, so we had to stay in the room for the night.

It was disgusting!!! I think we were in one of the rooms that hadn't been renovated yet... dirty carpet, awful walls... the sheets at least looked clean, but it took some convincing to get into them at night. The bathroom was the worst! No shower head holder, and the hose was mouldy and disgusting! The tiles were dirty, everything looked very shabby and run down. The toilet smelled gross as well.. We left by 8 am the next day as we couldn't wait to get out of there already.

Terrible, terrible hotel - don't stay here. In hindsight, we should have gone to stay elsewhere that night, but we would have lost the 140 euros we had already paid.

Room Tip: NONE!!!!!! But if you must, ask for a newly renovated room. We were told the bathrooms are the sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOTELALTOS, Responsable réception at Altos Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Hello, the hotel ensures a hygienic absolutely faultless, told 2 Women Chamber extremely dedicated and courageous. Your comment loses credibility by questioning the results of their difficult work , especially recognized by our regulars customers. Reception and Staff thank them here for their efforts and their dedication.
The chamber 15 that you were 3 adults, is a family room for 4 people, with a very special decoration, psychedelic style 70 years, very popular with children and adolescents. Picture is presented on the internet, but we regret that you did not appreciate.
It is also planned to replace the carpet in this room next winter, following a regular renewal cycle of 5 years. It has a look and a normal level of wear for this time, but it is well maintained and very clean.
To satisfy you after your arrival, we have proposed two bedrooms, (2 + 1 guests) at the same rate. You refused this proposal to your advantage because you prefer rather get money compensation.
ALTOS hotel meets all its commitments, but can not give in to unfounded claims, under threat of abusive comments.
Best regards. Cedric, Receptionist and Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We chose this hotel because of its location; it is 500 metres from the cathedral of Avranches and perfect for a visit to the Mount st Michel.
The bedroom was large and very clean. The parking was safe and we could park there easily.
The staff was friendly and the owner of the hotel was very helpful as he helped us solve a problem with a rented car. He made several phone calls on our behalf and made it possible to solve everything at our content.
We would choose this hotel again, it offers more than just a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank far0adviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avranches
1.6 mi away
Hotel La Ramade
Hotel La Ramade
#1 of 5 in Avranches
485 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
Hotel de la Croix d'Or
#2 of 5 in Avranches
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Patton
Hotel Patton
#4 of 5 in Avranches
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Saint Michel
Ibis Avranches Baie du Mont Sain...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Quentin-sur-le-Homme
453 reviews
15.9 mi away
Mercure Granville Le Grand Large Hotel
4.7 mi away
Best Western Le Moulin De Ducey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altos Hotel

Property: Altos Hotel
Address: 37 boulevard du Luxembourg | Baie du Mont Saint-Michel, 50300 Avranches, France (Formerly Altos Hotel)
Region: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Manche > Avranches
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Avranches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Altos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary decor and trendy design for your hotel with Spa-Jacuzzi, sauna and massage, near Mont Saint-Michel, near protected beaches between the Cotentin and Brittany Coasts, Granville and Saint Malo. Design rooms for romantic getaway, and family rooms for your holidays in Normandy.Altos is 15 minutes from the Abbey of Mont Saint-Michel, a historic site by the UNESCO, and near Avranches downtown, for a quiet and peaceful night, a little further away from the crowds of visitors. The best partner restaurants near Hotel Altos amaze you with their value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Altos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altos Hotel Avranches

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing