We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sorry, just average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Duguesclin

Le Duguesclin
Ranked #12 of 41 Restaurants in Avranches
Price range: US$15 - US$22
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Stockholm
Level Contributor
674 reviews
358 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Sorry, just average!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This restaurant really should be doing better. The view you have from the second floor (you pay one or two euros more for the menu here) is simply spectacular. It is recommended to take the fixed menu which is quite good. However, I tried the salted lamb (pré-salé), i. e. muttons that have grazed on the salty fields, but I could not spot the difference between this lamb and the lamb in the regular menu. It is certainly very tender, but maybe overpriced. In addition, I think it is a shame to serve beans from a tin... The desserts are good, but not excellent. Good wines and good coffee.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fitzbenedict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    54
    21
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A very good meal in a nice setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

After walking forever up to the Abbaye this was a great find. We walked around the ramparts checking out the restaurants and picked Le Duguesclin. It was bright and light with white tablecloths. Although we did not have a reservation they were very accommodating, we just could not sit by the window.

The food and the service were very good. It was a relaxing dinner after a long, tiring day.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SherandPat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“no good avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

The staff were sloppy. When we asked what a normandy stew was they said beef, without explaining it was tripe, the forgot to serve on of our deserts. Avoid.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brucefil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackenbach, Germay
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid this place!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

The service was horrible, the rooms were horrible the staff was extremely rude and the resturant had food that tasted like hospital food. Do not stay here. Anywhere would be better

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kritter13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, CA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We expected more...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

Rick Steves described this restaurant as the best one for "traditional cuisine;" however, my salmon was quite (extremely) dry. When i sent it back to the kitchen (something which I have never before done!), was informed by the waitress that "all of them were the same." The salmon was precooked and reheated when the dish was ordered. She brought me an order of perfectly prepared cod--at no additional charge-- from the more expensive menu.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gailtj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Duguesclin also viewed

Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
 
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
 
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
Mont-Saint-Michel, Manche
 

Been to Le Duguesclin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing