We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True Relaxation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kergonian

Kergonian
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ploneour Lanvern
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kergonian
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“True Relaxation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

Another wonderful week , although the weather was not brilliant we had a super time. We explored the local area, visited La Torche and walked miles on the wonderful beach. Tried the local wines and seafood, alll wonderful and so much cheaper than in UK.
The pool was wonderful to swim in, and we enjoyed the game of boule with Max and Lynda, great fun
On the very wet day (yes it rained) we sat reading books and enjoying the peace and quiet.The Granary is so relaxing, big rooms, loads of books and even a TV for the tennis.
We look forward to staying again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RillaMillTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

We spent a wonderful week here in early June and had the most amazing holiday. Max and Lynda made us most welcome, as did Bath the cat. The gite is huge with many bedrooms, bathrooms in two seperate wings each with its own lounge and kitchen. we selected the front half which was wonderful and had a lovely sunny patio and large pool where we spent most days. Sun loungers and chairs all provided , pool covered at night to keep it warm, but the weather was wonderful all week. The barbeque was a wonderful addition so we did not cook indoors at all. The silence at night makes sleep so very easy
Out and about are beautiful country walks in lovely lanes, lovely villages and the coast. We fell in love with Audierne whata special place.
We have rebooked for this June and are already counting the days

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank RillaMillTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2010

Was shocked to read the other review and felt that i had to comment .... Our expereince couldnt have been more different ... We travelled with our two children a two year old and a 6 month old and my parents ....... The location is incredible for a family to stay at as there is oi many places to go within a short distance.

We had booked the granary and the photos on their site I feel do it no justice ... from the minute we walked in we were thrilled.... The is an amazingly large open plan living / dining room with big doors that open out to the sun drenched patio area where we ate every meal. This makes it an amazing venue for a family stay as when you have a two year old there was plenty of space for her to play and she was always in sight. There is a beautiful big long table (which we later found out was crafted by the owner) in the centre which is amazing for big family groups. This house is my ideal for a get away holiday. Yes the furninshing are not brand new and they are not five star pristine condition ... but that is the beauty of it ... it is like you are gouing to someones lived in house ..... what they are is what I call relaxed and lived in .... there are big deep squidgy sofas and an assortment of furniture that has been picked up over the years ..... personally when I am holidays I want to be able to relax and not worry what our two year old has just jumped on a sofa. The place was spotless. It is essentially a converted barn so yes there is not 100% sound proofing between rooms but for us this was not even a vague issue. The privacy we had at the granary was second to none with two fabulous areas to eat.... I could go on and on and on. My parents take houses at least twice a year in France and have done for as long as I can remember and this house was their favourite in terms of set up and location. We definately will be back ....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HylaryW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

Stayed in the Granary Cottage at Kergonian,

Positives:
Good location - wide variety of beaches within 30mins, nearest was about 15mins away
Outdoor area excellent, pool a good size and plenty of room for kids to run around
Cheap compared to other comparably sized properties

Negatives:
House finished to a poor standard for example there is a bedroom above the lounge but there are only floorboards between the bedroom and downstairs meaning it is impossible for people downstairs to have a conversation while people above are attempting to get to sleep.
Plumbing and kitchen appliances of poor quality - sinks blocked on a daily basis and dishwasher didn't appear to work properly (this was pointed out to the owner who didn't seem bothered)
Decor/furnishing all shabby and rundown

To summarise the accomodation is basic (reflected to a ceratin extent in the price) if perfect weather was guaranteed the gripes about the house wouldn't have mattered so much but unfortunately we didn'y have good weather so spent a few evenings sitting indoors

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pato1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ploneour Lanvern hotels
0.4 mi away
Manoir de Kerhuel
Manoir de Kerhuel
#1 of 2 in Ploneour Lanvern
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Les Voyageurs
Hotel Restaurant Les Voyageurs
#2 of 3 in Ploneour Lanvern
3.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kergonian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kergonian

Property: Kergonian
Address: | Finistere, 29720 Ploneour Lanvern, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Ploneour Lanvern
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Ploneour Lanvern
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Kergonian Ploneour Lanvern, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing