We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful discovery”
Review of Manoir de Kerhuel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Manoir de Kerhuel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Once in a while you stay in a hotel that takes a place in your heart, it feels hard to leave. Manoir kerhuel is one of these unique places.
Location: centrally in south finistere, 5 minute drive to Quimper. Beautiful garden, full of little places where you can read a book, enjoy an excellent coffee,...
Rooms: we had room 03, a lot of windows overlooking the garden, a big rainshower, a separate entrance, coffee and tea facilities and a lot of space
Restaurant: in capable hands of a promising young chef and the very charismatic maitre eric. The team is young and still learning, but the warm and friendly atmosphere makes you forget/forgive the little details, excellent price/ quality. Menu as from 25 euro.
Facilities: nice swimming pool, very baby friendly, we travelled with our little 6 months old girl.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellen0000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 233 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

We are a family of four and stayed in a family room. Our boys (7 and 11) declared this was the best hotel ever! They loved the bunk bed, but what really made them love the place was the pinball machine downstairs (especially the price - free!). It is a bit out of the way, but the drive is lovely and the hotel is very nice. Only meal we ate there was breakfast, so cannot comment on dinner, but it was the best one we had on our trip to Brittany and Normandy. They even had fresh-squeezed orange juice! Hotel was one of the more expensive we stayed at, but it was worth treating ourselves at such a beautiful location. Be sure to drive over to the beach at Benodet; it was only about 15 minutes, but beach was lovely and there was an abundance of great food to be found.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisandFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We have travelled extensively in France over the past thirty years and cannot call to mind any hotel that comes close to the quality of service provided at Kerhuel. From the thoroughly professional and sincere service to the astonishing sophistication of the restaurant - nothing is left to chance. We first experienced the Manoir in May 2012, soon after its major refurbishment and were very impressed. We stayed for a further week this May and our opinions were reinforced. This is both a friendly and impressive hotel to which we shall, of course, return in 2014.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnchowe45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We were a bit apprehensive having read some previous reviews but what a lovely surprise this hotel was. Set in beautiful grounds and refurbished with real style, this is a hidden gem. I am afraid we were a bit of a headache for the hotel - we speak very little French, one of us is a vegetarian and one a very fussy eater. That would usually make for a difficult stay in France but at this hotel nothing was too much trouble. They made special simple meals for my youngest and put on a different vegetarian option for me every evening. The family room was extremely clean and spacious. There is a small games room, a lovely pool and a tennis court - we made good use of them all. The staff are fabulous and I would highly recommend this hotel to couples and families alike, definitely worth a detour.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peach040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

The location is quite beautiful but the service is below average and the food not worth the money. We waited more than 30 minutes to order our trinks and even longer for the bill - it was really a disappointed evening.. Not recommendable!

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank saisob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Whoever remodeled and adapatively reused this 15th century (I think) manor house did a spectacular job. It looks like a castle on the outside; inside, it has all the amenities of a first-class hotel. The rooms are huge and airy; the bathrooms likewise are large and glistening with marble and top of the line fixtures.

The price was right, too, as was the location, just five minutes from Quimper and maybe 15 minutes from the coast. The restaurant has a limited dinner menu, but the food's fine as is the service. Breakfast is good, too, with a buffet with the usual first-class French hotel foods and beverages. Plus, in warm whether you can sit outside on the gorgeous patio overlooking a totally rural scene.

There's a swimming pool (unheated) and they have free wifi, but you can't get it in your room. There is no air conditioning and we were there on two warm July days. But that is not a problem. Throw your windows open at night to let the cool air in.

On the other hand, they have a disco on Wednesday evenings, which goes till close to two a.m. And it's loud.

Still that was a minor annoyance. This is a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExSpec5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Great location with added benefit of its own pool. Helpful staff and comfortable stay

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank Discerning74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ploneour Lanvern
6.2 mi away
Villa Tri Men
Villa Tri Men
#1 of 3 in Combrit
250 reviews
12.4 mi away
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
Le Clos de Vallombreuse
#5 of 10 in Douarnenez
276 reviews
5.6 mi away
Le Manoir Hotel des Indes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Manoir de Moellien
Manoir de Moellien
#1 of 3 in Plonevez-Porzay
203 reviews
15.9 mi away
Le Goyen
Le Goyen
#1 of 5 in Audierne
251 reviews
23.9 mi away
Manoir Dalmore
Manoir Dalmore
#2 of 4 in Nevez
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manoir de Kerhuel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manoir de Kerhuel

Address: Route de Quimper, 29000 Ploneour Lanvern, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Ploneour Lanvern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ploneour Lanvern
Price Range: £76 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Manoir de Kerhuel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Manor of Kerhuel Quimper. In the middle of a peaceful nature which extends as far as the eye can see. This beautiful manor of Brittany, located in Finistere, between Quimper and Pont-l'Abbe. an exceptional old castle, was appreciated by Dukes of Brittany. will accommodates you for an enchanted stay,by offering you high quality services. gourmet restaurant, hotel of charm, Sauna, tennis swimming pool... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Manoir de Kerhuel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manoir De Kerhuel Ploneour Lanvern, France - Brittany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing