We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My happy place”
Review of l'Escale

l'Escale
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Locmariaquer
Price range: US$13 - US$32
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wigan
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“My happy place”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

This place has the view and location first (as long as you are on the terrace) and food second for me. However, the set menu I had was superb (oysters, 3 fish sourcraute, chocolate pannacote), the wine was great and I watched the sun go down in a beautiful part of the world. I'm not a food snob, if your are maybe go to the other places but it was everything I wanted and boy, did it deliver.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanleytic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    115
    28
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous location but over fussy food and slow service.”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

This site used to be a creperie.
It is now a rather 'up itself' restaurant. The meals were too twiddly, rather than just making best use of the available local ingredients.
Not one to go to twice.
On the other hand, the location is just wonderful - a menu change and it would get great reviews again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fromSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowen Island, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A delightful meal in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

L'Escale is right on the port in lovely little Locmariaquer in the Gulf of Morbihan. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food - very gourmet and gorgeously presented for a very reasonable price. Each dish was beautifully presented with great flavors. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
198 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“A brilliant view”
Reviewed 1 March 2013

Locmariaquer is well worth a visit, we were there in 2011 and last year. Famous for its oysters it also has wonderful views. It takes a little drive to get here, but is well worth it. A small village, this restaurant is right on the port. The fancy but simple menus offers up a good range of raw food and other typical treats from Brittany. The oysters are good and served elegantly, but the real treat can be the mountains of beef tartare or Salmon, muscles, and other goodies.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sfrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auray, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I know this place is of the beaten track, but it well worth the visit. The restaurant could not be in a better position, adjacent to the habour. The menu offerings are pretty standard, but the service, quality and atmosphere were truly great

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed l'Escale also viewed

Locmariaquer, Morbihan
Locmariaquer, Morbihan
 
Locmariaquer, Morbihan
 
Locmariaquer, Morbihan
 

Been to l'Escale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing