We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive hotel in beautiful grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moelan sur Mer
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Attractive hotel in beautiful grounds”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A small comfortable chateau style hotel. I made a mistake when booking which was resolved quickly by the owner. He also upgraded our room which had a view over the gardens. Very good breakfast served by very friendly helpful staff. A comfortable enjoyable stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    8
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
90
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Reserving accommodation at a place for the first time is always a risk and on occasions produces a failure. Not this time. The Manoir de Kertaig is understated. What a find? Situated in a most peaceful and tranquil setting sits this small hotel [only 8 rooms] which has been put together with quality and inspiration. Brann, the owner, has certainly put his artist skills into this development, which is uncluttered and exudes attention too detail. Our bedroom was just the best we have ever stayed in, and we do travel. Can't wait to get back and get some more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangor Co. Down
Level Contributor
81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Thanks to Tripadvisor members reviews we selected this Hotel as our first stop on our journey from Roscoff to Saumur, what a good decision. We were early arriving as our ferry docked at 6am. Our room was not quite ready however Maryvonne a truly wonderful French lady on reception made us most welcome, served us a superbly presented tea and biscuits on the lovely bright airy terrace overlooking the magnificent gardens arranged for our cases to be taken to the room being prepared then called us some 10 minutes later to say it was now ready. No fuss no bother just great service.
I had e-mailed in advance to request a room if available, close to all amenities, as both my wife and I have mobility problems. True to his word the owner Brann Manrot Le Goarnic arranged for a suitable room to meet our requirements. It was superb, everything you could wish for in an Hotel of this standard. Absolutely no complaints.
The location and setting of the Manoir is simply stunning. Set in a forested area of some 85 hectare's well back from the main road surrounded by beautiful well maintained gardens featuring a luxurious gazebo and loungers for the use of guests it provides a tranquil haven of peace and quite to utterly relax in.
As the Manoir does not have a restaurant we frequented local eateries as recommended by Brann, Maryvonne and Sophie. All, except the Manoir du Duc, were excellent. Pont Aven, with a Michelin starred restaurant is only a short drive away and was the principal purpose of our visit.
We cannot praise Kertalg highly enough, beautifully kept, superb helpful friendly staff, we enjoyed our stay so much we booked in for another two nights on our return journey. We look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This place has got to be one of the very best hotels I have ever had the pleasure to stay. It is absolutely picturesque with beautifully manicured grounds and a nice feeling of seclusion. It is on enough land so that the hotel cannot even be seen from the entrance. It is so quiet and peaceful. The staff is very helpful and friendly. I highly recomend an outdoor breakfast on the patio overlooking the grounds. It really is a magical place. I will definitely go ther again. There is so much to see and do within a short drive.

Room Tip: I don't think you could go wrong with any room, there are only seven or eight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The decoration is overly fussy and despite the photos - taky in places. Plastic flowers and foliage and too much colour. The accommodation is in the old stables, not the main house so misleading 'Chateau' should be changed. Compared with other luxury B&Bs in the area, this hotel needs to up its game and reduce its price. You pay for a 4 star (pretending to be a 5 star), but the experience is no more than a 3 star.

I'd imagine it is good for wedding receptions where the weekend is packaged as an all inclusive deal with set menus and wine.

If I could change anything, it would be the very expensive breakfast (just include it in the rate and charge 10€ for it) and have less fussy decoration.

I will go back again sometime in the future, but only if the place gets a facelift.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GT1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We were lucky to discover Manoir de Kertalg in 2006 and have been welcomed back many times since. For us, it is like coming home. Brann and Maryvonne’s welcome is as warm and sincere as it would be if we were close family. But we are not relations – just cherished guests and, judging by the number of people who return year after year, others feel the same.

The hotel is extraordinarily clean. The rooms are elegant and inviting and the bathrooms are stocked with lovely toiletries. The freshly prepared breakfast is a delight, especially with the bonus of the wonderful view across immaculate grounds to the Manoir.

Brann created his vision of a perfect small hotel out of dilapidated stables, so the layout of some rooms was determined by the original architecture – and it all works perfectly!

The attention to detail is superb. Manoir de Kertalg is simply ‘The Best’.

Room Tip: Only nine rooms - priced according to size. Smallest is at the top of the tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This Chateau was a dream come true. We've traveled to Europe many, many times and at this point in our lives, we look for the best that we can afford. The Hotel Manoir de Kertalg went above and beyond our expectations. You walk in and you are overwhelmed by the beauty of the lobby. When we were taken to our room, we looked at each other and said "WOW", can we stay forever. Sleeping in a bed that was so comfortable that we had to leave a wake up call so that we could have breakfast brought to our room. The quiet and peaceful setting was delightful. Since we had never been to Brittany before, we would ask the front desk what towns were worth visiting. What they suggested was always spot on. The restaurant suggestions were marvelous. We will go back without hesitation and suggest those going to Brittany don't even think of going any other place.

Room Tip: I'm sure every room is lovely but we stayed in #4 and found it peaceful, cool, and quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moelan sur Mer
1.7 mi away
Manoir Dalmore
Manoir Dalmore
#2 of 4 in Nevez
192 reviews
3.4 mi away
Les Moulins du Duc
Les Moulins du Duc
#2 of 2 in Moelan sur Mer
259 reviews
4.7 mi away
Ar Men Du
Ar Men Du
#1 of 4 in Nevez
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
504 reviews
11.5 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
3.4 mi away
La Chaumiere Roz Aven
La Chaumiere Roz Aven
#3 of 5 in Pont-Aven
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg

Property: Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg
Address: 53 route de Riec sur Belon, 29350 Moelan sur Mer, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Moelan sur Mer
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moelan sur Mer
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Manoir de kertalg Hotel is a charming hotel, well situated in a large park close to the belon river and the Kerfany beach.You will spend a relaxing stay in the 8 elgant renovated rooms and Suites.Very quiet place .you can have a cup of tea on the terrasse facing the chateau, or a glass of champagne in the kiosque in the beautifull garden. Open from april to november. 2 restaurant a less than 2 kms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau-Hotel Manoir De Kertalg Moelan Sur Mer, Brittany, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing