We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizarre”
Review of Les Moulins du Duc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Moulins du Duc
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moelan sur Mer
Reviewed 1 August 2014

What a strange mix this hotel is. We arrived after a long journey on a very hot day to find reception closed. When it reopened we were checked in. Our room was clean, and smelled fresh thanks to a scent over a candle (which was sadly never used again). The room also remained cool through the heat wave, which was merciful. The bed was uncomfortably hard, and dipped in the middle laterally so ones feet and head were above ones body. Toileteries did not get replenished, and we ended up on our last night with no soap. The door also stuck and was difficult to open. It was promised this would be fixed, but it never was. The food is very expensive, and despite 3 menus we only found one of each course to our taste, so we only ate in once. The swimming pool is another disappointment. We were directed to it through the woods, but got lost and had to return and start again along the footpath. Having arrived we discovered that one has to bring ones own towels. The thought of a third round trip was too much in 30 degree heat. There wasn't anywhere to store clothes, let alone valuables. It was all rather unloved. And driving there is not allowed.
In summary a peculiar place in a peaceful setting.

Room Tip: Ask to be near the pool if it will be important to you during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy23_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (286)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 286 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for a long weekend a the Moulins du Duc courtesy of one of those boxed package deals that we were given as a gift. We were unable to get there by the 6pm required checkin on Friday night (it is after all 5 hours from Paris) and therefore missed the dinner. but we had phoned at 5pm to say we would be arriving late and said that we'd try to make up for the dinner during the weekend. Saturday and Sunday were enjoyable but the wait at the Restaurant Raphael was a bit long and they offered us the identical menu for our 2nd night. When we said we had already eated that menu, they offered us another choice (without any mention of price supplements).

When we inquired on Sunday about "making up" the missed dinner from Friday night, we were told the restaurant wasn't open for lunch on Mondays and therefore we were out of luck.

At checkout time we were presented with a bill that was much more than we expected, and we had been charged extra for menu items they had offered us as choices, like the crepes suzette.

When we wanted to discuss the charges further with the manager/owner, she was not available. We refused to settle our bill and asked her to call us.

We never got a phone call from her. Instead our credit card was charged and we received a very nasty email from the owner. When we responded back with out version of events, we again received a very nasty reply, alluding to the fact that they didn't need our good recommendation to survive.

Well, the accomodations (albeit the small sized rooms) are charming and the wait staff is very nice. I agree that breakfast is a bit on the small side. But unless this hotel's management changes their attitude and doesn't try to cheat their guests, they will not do well.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We spent three nights at this hotel in a forrested region of Brittany. The location is stunning - probably the best we have visited. The chambres are separate stone cottages, almost like gites with but without kitchens (A good coffee/tea maker was provided). Ours was spacious and the bed was enormous and comfortable. We had very sunny weather and the stone walls gave us cool nights in mid-June. The quoted prie of 450€ per night + breakfast would have been way too epensive - through Brittant Ferries we paid less than a third of that, inc. breakfast - probably a realistic price.
We had noted in other reviews that the chambre decor and fittings were slightly shabby - in need of a tidy-up - we would have to agree, although it did not detract from our enjoyment.
If anything, it was the attention to detail that was lacking. Our welcome was perfunctory and with no information in our room we did not know how the hotel operated. We later discovered, by chance, an information centre. Staff were very approachable and keen to help but little information was volunteered. Nobody had assessed what new arrivals might find useful.
Our room was clean inside but our little terrace was ankle deep in weeds!
There is a lovely, large pool with inside and outside sunbeds, but it is a long uphill walk away - Generally, guests need to be physically fit to get the most from this extensive, rural site.
They opened a "Bien Etre" Centre while we were there but it was a very long trek and very expensive.
Our chambre would not have been acessible to anyone with even small mobility issues.
Breakfasts were more elegant than generous - served by waiters in the smart restaurant. The restaurant was pricey, but popular with outsiders at the weekend. Their wine list is very fine, but offers little to the lower budget diner.
We really enjoyed our peaceful stay and I include the minor niggles to encourage the hotel to make more of its superb potential. It was good but it could have been spectacular!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

After reading some of the glowing comments by a number of other reviewers, I'm wondering if we were staying at the same hotel! My husband and I booked a two-storey "Romantique" suite and -- based on the website photos (and the price) -- had high hopes for this place but we were very disappointed. The first thing that hit us when we were shown our quarters was the musty odor, like a damp basement in need of a good airing. I realize these are old stone buildings located on a mill pond but surely something can be done to dry them out! Our cottage was also dark and cold -- I spent much of the time hudded by the lone register staring forlornly at the massive but non-working fireplace, which was occupied by a small lamp and a weird decorative lantern. Furnishings were spartan and an utter hodgepodge, as though they'd been picked up at a succession of rummage sales -- naugahyde couch adorned by a stained fleece blanket, cardboard trunk filled with dog-earred paperbacks and childrens' books, faux zebra plush rug draped over the hearth (and no rugs on the cold tile floor), incongruous shiny curtains...Dinner at the Restaurant Raphael did little to lift our spirits. When we appeared for our 8 o'clock reservations, we were turned away from the restaurant and redirected up to the lounge, where we were served an unpromising amuse bouche and given menus to peruse. About 15 minutes later we placed our orders with the host, expecting that he'd reappear fairly promptly to escort us down to our dinner. Another 15 minutes passed, then 30, then 45, but still no sign. There were about eight other couples on hand, all of us sitting in rather strained silence. I began to have visions of some Fawlty Towers-like disaster happening below. FINALLY, 90 minutes after our initial arrival, just as we were about to bail and drive into town, our host reappeared without explanation and we headed to the dining room. It offered stunning views of the river (though of course by then it was nearly dark) but but was also plagued by the dank basement smell. The food, served with a little too much pomp for our taste, was okay but forgettable and certainly not worth the ridiculous wait. Breakfast the next morning was just plain dismal: tinned juice, stale bread, a croissant, and some sweet commercial yogurt.

The sad thing is, this place -- with its idyllic location and charming old buildings -- has the potential to be really wonderful, and I do sympathize with the owners, who probably bit off more than they could chew and were reduced to doing things on a very tight budget. But it needs a lot more work to live up to its claims of being a 4-star accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Laurel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

In August we spent two weeks here and the experience was wonderful. From the moment we arrived to the end of our stay we were well attended to by friendly, helpful and attentive staff and managers, at reception, in the restaurant and around to property. Our room was beautiful, light and airy and cleaned meticulously every day. The buildings and grounds were breathtakingly beautiful - certainly living up to the photographs on the website, which has seldom been the case at other places I have stayed. We dined in the restaurant three times during our stay - the dishes and service were exceptional - a first class dining experience. The chef, Laurent, was also at breakfast poised by his pan to cook fresh eggs exactly how you like them - we had pancakes and omelettes - delicious, as was the egg custard tart, selection of pastries, cakes, homemade jams and a whole range of other items on the buffet. We chose this holiday for the peace, the beauty, the close proximity to coastal walks and historic towns and villages. The experience exceeded our expectations and we are planning to make a return in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitzismum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I cannot believe some of the negative reviews I have read about Les Moulins du Duc on this site. Clearly those reviewers were aggrieved about some minor inconvenience (bread not replenished quick enough at breakfast!) and have chosen to damn the entire establishment. OK on occasions during the wonderful two weeks that we stayed in this beautiful location it was necessary to ask for something that had been overlooked. For example, the stock of mint tea infusions at breakfast had run out and as soon as this was pointed out, Laurent went to his garden and hand picked fresh mint to make an individual pot which turned out to be infinitely better than the packaged variety. This incident highlighted for me the special attention that the entire team in the hotel were always ready to afford to their guests. From the moment we arrived until our departure there was nothing but friendliness and help from our hosts.
The hotel is beautifully situated amidst lush, green parkland with a mill pond that is home to a flotilla of ducks, a heron and moorhen. One evening we believe we might have seen an otter swimming across the water. The peace and tranquillity is the perfect escape from city life. The restaurant is somewhat expensive but the food is first class and this was a holiday after all and I felt it was value for money. I would (and have) recommended it to friends and without question I would spend another holiday here, since there is much more of the beautiful countryside and coast that we did not manage to explore on this occasion.

Room Tip: An upper room close to the lake is ideal for glorious views. However, this does mean negotiating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scousescribbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

First of all we were not been told the truth. I booked the hotel to stay there for a week with my mother-in-law. We came from Paris by train, we did not have the car. We were told on the phone that nearest beach is very close, that it's possible to walk and that buses go to and from the beach regularly. On the hotel's page there an erronous information that "it's 3 km from the beach". It is not true. The nearest beach is 11 km away and it's impossible to walk everyday. Buses go only from the nearest village (3 km away) and only once a day. If we knew all that, we wouldn't book the hotel. When we asked for help we were given the feeling that we were bothering. The only nice person working there is Matthias who tried to do his best. At the end of our stay we were told by the owners that in fact there is a beach 3 km away! they gave us the adress and fortunatelly we didn't go because... the beach doesn't exist! We talked to local people before and checked google maps.
The breakfast was mediocre. I cannot eat much sugar and the only thing available for me was ham from the supermarket and plastic cheese. The only bread that this 4 star hotel serves is white baguette that looked liked bought at nearest supermarket. I asked many times for cottage cheese but only get it after couple of days. I did get extra tomatoes and quinoa once - that was nice.
It was impossible to communicate with the owners who told me I was too demanding. Even confronted with obvious misinformation on their page, they refused to help and became agressive.
The restaurant is pretentious and over priced. The food is simply not good except for fish.
I definteley do not recommend this place. It is my worst hotel experience ever.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anna_Pafula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moelan sur Mer
3.2 mi away
Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg
Chateau-Hotel Manoir de Kertalg
#1 of 2 in Moelan sur Mer
120 reviews
5.1 mi away
Manoir Dalmore
Manoir Dalmore
#2 of 4 in Nevez
212 reviews
14 mi away
Thalasso Concarneau Spa Marin Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Villa Tri Men
Villa Tri Men
#1 of 3 in Combrit
250 reviews
14.1 mi away
Les Sables Blancs
Les Sables Blancs
#2 of 10 in Concarneau
570 reviews
5.5 mi away
Le Panoramique
Le Panoramique
#1 of 1 in Le Pouldu
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Moulins du Duc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Moulins du Duc

Address: Route des Moulins, 29350 Moelan sur Mer, France
Region: France > Brittany > Finistere > Moelan sur Mer
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Moelan sur Mer
Price Range: £80 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Moulins du Duc 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Les Moulins du Duc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Moulins Du Duc Moelan Sur Mer, Brittany, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing