We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
23
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscroissantsbreaddavidpresentationhoststerraceburgundy
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is our 4th time staying with David and Neils, we are fussy so you can tell how good it must be.!!Charming hosts who offer refreshment when you arriving drooping. Wonderful food (lucky enough to have dinner this time) and divine breakfasts made even better by use of beautiful china and delightful presentation. If it's not possible to eat it's not far to go to a few good restaurants and have the delicious Givry wine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handbagsbrockham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our second visit to L'Orangerie - and as good as the first last September. This time we brought our bikes to cycle the wonderful Voie Verte to Cluny and back - a magical trip. Niels and David are charming hosts, the rooms are well furnished and all is topped off by the heavenly salon and gorgeous garden. David organised two restaurant reservations, in local villages Buxy and Givry, both superb. The Givry premier crus are excellent. Afternoon tea on the terrace is a delight. This is a special place. Breakfasts are excellent but normally only served at 9 am.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both downstairs rooms. The one with the french windows is slightly preferable.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetrosCoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

L’Orangerie was truly magnificent. It’s hard to put into words, but my wife and I stayed there for two nights and wished we had stayed for 7. David and Nils were fantastic hosts and not only knew the area but really know how to relax and create a comfortable environment. It truly was memorable.
The home is in a small village outside of Chalon Sur Saone and it is set in the countryside of Burgundy. It is close to Buxy which is charming itself, and an easy drive to Beaune and Chalon Sur Saone. We arrived on a Saturday and were greeted by both hosts at the gate. Our room was comfortable and inviting, and we set up home very easily. We were given a tour of the garden, the pool, the living area and the home itself. They have done a marvelous job at restoring the house and it works well with several guests at a time.
The breakfast was magnificent. As a former chef, I am not always easy on food as a customer, but David did a fantastic job of adding breads and jams with meats and cheeses from the local area; fresh juice and coffee were also a great part of one of the best breakfasts I have enjoyed in a B&B. David and Nils do make their own jam with unique flavors such as ginger and whiskey. We dined with a German couple and a young lady from Nice and the conversation was wonderful. With the doors open on the countryside and jazz and classical music in the background, it was the best way to wake up in Europe.
We are home 2 days now and cannot wait to go back. David and Nils live in the house and make you feel very much at home. They value their quiet and appreciate the relaxing afternoon, the local village, the uniquenesses of their area and life itself. It certainly rubs off on the experience. We left L’Orangerie to get married in Terre Blanche, but wished we had stayed once more on our way back to Paris. I truly recommend L’Orangerie as a stop in France and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

We stayed at this B&B in September 2004 and it was excellent.
The hosts were charming & welcoming & speak fluent English as well as German.
The accommodation was stylish & comportable & the icing on the cake was the beautiful garden & pool.
Only downside was it was a little hard to find - suggest phoning ahead.
Julie
Sydney
Australia

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustralianJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews