We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection to be found in Burgandy”
Review of L'Orangerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Moroges
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Orangerie
Ranked #1 of 2 Moroges B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 September 2012

So many superlatives can be found in all the reviews so this will be brief, as memories are still fresh from our stay 4 weeks ago. We stayed with David and Niels the last 3 days of August and I so hope that visit will not be our last and only! We arrived much later than anticipated as had the only other guests, a German couple heading back home. David had prepared and kept warm a full and tasty meal for us, local pates, cheeses, a tart, salad, and several bottls of wine, a real treat and a surprise as they were waiting to attend a celebratory dinner for their family. A wonderful and welcoming gesture as we had expected to fend for ourselves. They helped us with suggestions for activities and each morning started our day off with the BEST breakfasts we had the entire month in France. The setting is achingly lovely, the hosts charming, the sites nearby interesting ( it was David's suggestion to visit Chateau Cormatin) an absolutely perfect stop in the area or a destination on its own... HIGHLY RCOMMENDED!

Room Tip: All the rooms and quiet. Our twin bedded room on the ground floor was large and had French doors th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateLosGatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Excellent retreat for a quiet country stay. Hosts David and Niels made us feel so welcome. Table d'hote was superb. House and gardens are truly beautiful. Guest living room has tall arched windows overlooking garden and swimming pool, cows graze in adjoining paddock, rooms are filled with beautiful antiques and artifacts. The sumptuous breakfast was surpassed only by the table d'hote four course dinner including champagne, wines for each course.

Room Tip: Asked for room No. 1, but were exceedingly pleased with our top floor, twin bed hideaway which is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenzal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is our 4th time staying with David and Neils, we are fussy so you can tell how good it must be.!!Charming hosts who offer refreshment when you arriving drooping. Wonderful food (lucky enough to have dinner this time) and divine breakfasts made even better by use of beautiful china and delightful presentation. If it's not possible to eat it's not far to go to a few good restaurants and have the delicious Givry wine.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank handbagsbrockham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our second visit to L'Orangerie - and as good as the first last September. This time we brought our bikes to cycle the wonderful Voie Verte to Cluny and back - a magical trip. Niels and David are charming hosts, the rooms are well furnished and all is topped off by the heavenly salon and gorgeous garden. David organised two restaurant reservations, in local villages Buxy and Givry, both superb. The Givry premier crus are excellent. Afternoon tea on the terrace is a delight. This is a special place. Breakfasts are excellent but normally only served at 9 am.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both downstairs rooms. The one with the french windows is slightly preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetrosCoppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

L’Orangerie was truly magnificent. It’s hard to put into words, but my wife and I stayed there for two nights and wished we had stayed for 7. David and Nils were fantastic hosts and not only knew the area but really know how to relax and create a comfortable environment. It truly was memorable.
The home is in a small village outside of Chalon Sur Saone and it is set in the countryside of Burgundy. It is close to Buxy which is charming itself, and an easy drive to Beaune and Chalon Sur Saone. We arrived on a Saturday and were greeted by both hosts at the gate. Our room was comfortable and inviting, and we set up home very easily. We were given a tour of the garden, the pool, the living area and the home itself. They have done a marvelous job at restoring the house and it works well with several guests at a time.
The breakfast was magnificent. As a former chef, I am not always easy on food as a customer, but David did a fantastic job of adding breads and jams with meats and cheeses from the local area; fresh juice and coffee were also a great part of one of the best breakfasts I have enjoyed in a B&B. David and Nils do make their own jam with unique flavors such as ginger and whiskey. We dined with a German couple and a young lady from Nice and the conversation was wonderful. With the doors open on the countryside and jazz and classical music in the background, it was the best way to wake up in Europe.
We are home 2 days now and cannot wait to go back. David and Nils live in the house and make you feel very much at home. They value their quiet and appreciate the relaxing afternoon, the local village, the uniquenesses of their area and life itself. It certainly rubs off on the experience. We left L’Orangerie to get married in Terre Blanche, but wished we had stayed once more on our way back to Paris. I truly recommend L’Orangerie as a stop in France and we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2006

We stayed at this B&B in September 2004 and it was excellent.
The hosts were charming & welcoming & speak fluent English as well as German.
The accommodation was stylish & comportable & the icing on the cake was the beautiful garden & pool.
Only downside was it was a little hard to find - suggest phoning ahead.
Julie
Sydney
Australia

  • Stayed: September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AustralianJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bery26400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to L'Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Orangerie

Address: Vingelles, 71390 Moroges, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Moroges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Moroges
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
L'Orangerie Moroges, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing