We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful visit to a private French Home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Villette
Ranked #2 of 3 Poil B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful visit to a private French Home”
Reviewed 10 November 2011

My wife and spent 8 days at Chateau de Villette a lovely experience to be share the family life in a private home.The evening meals were wonderful and shared with people from all parts of the world,but the outstanding part of the visit was the welcome from Catherine and Coen and their family.The accomodation,meals and atmosphere was of the highest level.

John and Mary Curtin Melbourne Australia.

Room Tip: Hire a car and deal direct with Catherine and Coen
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    12
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
34
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Tx
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2011

This chateau located in the countryside of Burgundy is the home of Catherine and Coen Stork, who live in a private wing. It is a magnificent property located on 500 acres of surrounding land near the small village of Poil (about 25 min south of Autun and 1 hr southwest of Beaune). The chateau has been beautifully restored and maintained and the Stork's welcome you as if you were their personal house guests. They are most helpful with the sites and activities of the area, restaurant recommendations, and directions (they speak French , English, and Flemish). Catherine prepares a wonderful breakfast each morning. We had the largest room/suite which was huge and overlooked the front entrance. It was very well appointed with a 4 poster bed, a sitting area, desk, day bed and a large adjacent bath---all very comfortable. The grounds are beautiful with large quail and partidges about and a duck pond nearby. You will not be disappointed here and you will truly be able to feel like a Fench count and countess must have felt.
A word about dining--if there is a large enough group staying at the chateau they have a cook come in and prepare dinner. Otherwise there are a number of good local restaurants in the surronding villages.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We have the most wonderful experience at Chateau de Villette. We have a very stressful life in Holland and have unwound completely here. The atmosphere surrounding the ground was fantastic. The rooms were gorgeous, tastefully decorated, and spacious and the bed was super comfy. They serve a delightful breakfast with home-made jams, fruit juices, the best croissants, very good coffee….truly amazing. The owners will make sure your stay in memorable. We look forward to come back next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The Chateau was nice, and breakfast was excellent. Surroundings, was lovely nature! But not much to do at the Chateau and the swimming pool was far from well maintained. Rooms were clean but without any doubt, the worst bed we ever have slept in! Not a very child friendly Chateau and if you get them to make a children plate, you will be overcharged by big surprised!!

Room Tip: Chassagne Montrachet romm have the worst bed ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cocastork, Propriétaire at Chateau de Villette, responded to this review, 4 September 2011
Thank you for the feedback.

We are not ideally suitable for small children as it mentioned on our website.

There are plenty activities in and around the chateau if you are interested in gastronomy, wine, shopping, nature, food markets, history and other outdoor activities such as golf, hiking, bicycling, chateaux visiting and horseriding. We don't have any "Disneyland" type theme parks or discotheques near us and that is why people love it at Chateau de Villette.

We charged €18 for a complete children's menu; starter, main course and desert. The menu was specifically requested and cooked for the guests and was all finished. The children's meal was done as a special favor as there were normally no "table d'hotes" planned.

After a thunderstorm the chlorine system broke down during several days causing the water to look slightly unclear. The pool has been fully functioning since. Heavy thunderstorms are a regular, spectacular and impressive occurrence during the summer months in the "Parc du Morvan" but sometimes causing some discomfort as a side effect!

These guests slept with four people in a double (two person) bed probably causing discomfort.
We had offered another room with two additional single beds but this was turned down.

We are sorry to have got the feedback afterwards and were not in a position to do anything about it when the guests were there.

Catherine Stork
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2011

Staying at Chateau de Villette was a highlight during our recent stay in France. From the moment we made the booking until our reluctant departure from the Chateau the experience was first class.

Catherine, Coen and their children made us so welcome, the chateau is set in glorious countryside close to Autun and the decor in the chateau is beautiful. It is a credit to the family to have restored the chateau. We were fortunate to have requested the Burgundian dinner on the night of our arrival. Catherine cooked a superb meal and 4 other guests joined us for dinner, making the whole evening so memorable.
Thank you Catherine and Coen and your delightful children for your warm hospitality. We have no hesitation in recommending the chateau and we will be back.

The Kings and Milnes Melbourne Australia.

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank pauline_kin9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2011

A truly gorgeous experience in Burgundy, the chateau was stunning and our rooms were perfect for our young family of four with our bedroom adjoining our children's room and a lovely family bathroom. The chateau was beautifully decorated with its chic French interior, yet relaxed and informal way of life.

Even though we were in a stunning setting our two young children (4 and 2) did not feel out of place at all as they roamed the grounds freely, playing in the tree house with the owners young children.

We asked in advance for supper to be prepared for the children at 6pm and this was happily prepared at an extra cost. We also dined at the chateau and feasted on the most wonderful homemade dinner created using local seasonal ingredients accompanied by a selection of local wines. Sensational!! Breakfast was a feast for the eyes with fresh local bread, croissants, pain au chocolate, fresh cut fruit, granola, yoghurts, jams, fresh coffee and eggs and bacon for those who felt like it.

Our experience really was wonderful and made even more so by the fact that our children were happy. The owners made us feel comfortable and welcome that we almost felt like we were staying with friends for the night.

Whilst the pros far outweigh the cons the chateau did not have all of the mod cons you would expect of a business hotel but oozed the charm of an old French chateau in the countryside which is exactly what we as a family were looking for!

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katecawdron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortsel, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2011

Beautifull château decorated with lots of good taste,with prfect feeling for detail , in stunning surroundings.
Cathérine and Coen are the perfect hosts to this wonderfull place. We felt very welcome amidst their lovely family every minute of our stay .On top of that Catherine is a wonderfull cook and Coen serves the best wines to go with it , so don't forget to book your seat at the table d'hôtes with your stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank doucdouc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Poil
12.7 mi away
Les Ursulines
Les Ursulines
#4 of 6 in Autun
218 reviews
10.7 mi away
Hotel Bristol Thermal
Hotel Bristol Thermal
#1 of 1 in Saint-Honore-les-Bains
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Petite Bourgogne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 mi away
Moulin Renaudiots
Moulin Renaudiots
#1 of 12 in Autun
188 reviews
6.7 mi away
L'Ancien Presbytere
6.6 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Morvan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Villette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Villette

Property: Chateau de Villette
Address: Villette | SARL Immobiliere de Villette, 58170 Poil, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Nievre > Poil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Poil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chateau de Villette is a luxury Bed and Breakfast situated in the Regional Parc of the Morvan. It is surrounded by woodlands and open fiels with spectacular views. The park is about 200 Ha. The chateau has been completed renovated and offers very nice and comfortable rooms with ensuite bathrooms. There are beautiful gardens where you can sit outside or relax at the swimming pool. Dinner is possible on wednesday's and saturdays's; Other days on demand. On the estate there are also two renovated holiday cottages. Open all year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Villette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Villette Hotel Poil
Chateau De Villette Poil, France - Burgundy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing