We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant almost makes you forget about all the rest”
Review of Chateau de Saulon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Saulon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saulon la Rue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We elected the Château de Saulon from the Châteaux & Hôtels Collection guide as our two-nights accommodation base for a city trip to Dijon.

Our room was a slight disappointment as it looked a bit worn out, the windows did not keep any of the noise coming from the parking lot out (our room was at the front of the building) and the shutters would not close.
On the other hand, as soon as we stepped out, the beauty and charm of this castle and its surroundings took over: the swimming pool, the terrace, the stunning garden/park/forest, the kindness of the entire staff...
What we liked most of all about this place though is the restaurant, which is in a separate building a few steps away from the main one.
The food was just lovely; having the "menu dégustation" served on the terrace on a beautiful summer night was truly delightful.
All this together with the very nice impression that the city centre of Dijon left on us was more than enough to compensate for the small inconveniences about our room.

This château is probably not the ideal place for a longer stay in the region but it is just perfect for an excellent dinner and a short break on the road to or from the south.

Room Tip: We were staying in room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (693)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 693 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I think this a hotel to stay only in the middle of a long drive trip, nothing else. Arrive tired have a wonderful dinner in the gourmet restaurant just a few meters from the lobby, then go to bed,Rest and continue your trip. Not a hotel to book a vacation. No a/c on the rooms so be ready if you go in july or august. Staff really friendly no complaints. Breakfast just average nothing special. Nice gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank npuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

we had the best two days at chateau de saulon! we arrived around 7pm and were pretty tired after a long drive. we were hoping it would be possible to have dinner at the hotel. Not only could we have dinner, we were even free to say at what time we'd prefer to eat. We had dinner at 9pm so it gave us some extra time to take a drink at the terrace with lovely view on the beautiul swimming pool and wonderful garden. The dinner was just excellent: 'degustation menu' of which every dish was absolutely heavenly! service was great, waitress was very professional and kind. We did not sleep very well because it was very very hot and we had no airconditioning in our the 'comfort room' that we booked (forgot to check in advance). Breakfast costs €15 but absolutely worth it, plenty of choice and too much good stuff!!! Great tip to go and visist the 'chateau the pommard' for wine tasting. Couldn't have been more satisfied with our stay at le chateau de saulon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this chateau. The building is elegant and charming and the gardens around the hotel are pretty. We had a lovely short walk around the property. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean, although they were quite sparsely decorated. We arrived too late to have dinner, but the restaurant looked very nice. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianneG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

we stayed here for one night because Dijon was halfway our trip. thanks to its convenient lcoation not far away from the highway we had time left to visit Dijon centre which is a15' ride from the hotel.
The restaurant offers a very fine cuisine for an affordable price.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bunny164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

beautiful hotel, very recomendable to just doing nothing and relax. The restaurant is a must go. it was by far the best dinner of our trip in Bourgogne. Amazing food and service with an ok price. Highly recommendable

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JavierSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We stayed at Chateau De Saulon on our way down to the South of France on a family holiday. Location was excellent and the hotel surroundings were very nice and peaceful.

Rooms were quite oldie worldy in the part of the building we stayed but clean and comfy. Weather was up in the forties when we arrived so aircon in the bar area etc. was very handy.

Restaurant excellent with a good choice of food and if you stayed as a couple would be nice and romantic.

Very nice hotel which I would be more than happy to visit again.

Reception friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building where the air con is, separate annex rooms were roasting hot!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penguin2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saulon la Rue
5.3 mi away
Chateau de Gilly
Chateau de Gilly
#1 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
616 reviews
20.7 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
567 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
#1 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
4.6 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
215 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Saulon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Saulon

Address: 67 rue de Dijon | D996, 21910 Saulon la Rue, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Saulon la Rue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saulon la Rue
Price Range: £79 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Saulon 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau de Saulon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Saulon Hotel Saulon La Rue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing