We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little out of the way, but worth it!”
Review of Chateau de Saulon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Saulon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saulon la Rue
Palm Desert
Level Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A little out of the way, but worth it!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at the Chateau de Saulon at the recommendation of some friends who live in Paris. This charming chateau is a little out of the way but it is a beautiful and peaceful place to come back to after spending a day touring wineries and seeing the local sites. Our room was in a separate little cottage, quite small but with a lovely view of the little river that encircles the property. The bed was queen size but very comfortable. We thought that noise might be an issue because the walls between rooms seemed very thin - we could sort of hear conversations in the next room but we had very quiet neighbors. Another small complaint is that the room had no safe, but the front desk gladly put our valuables in their safe. The breakfast is fine - all cold foods but there is a large variety. The grounds of the hotel are lovely. We didn't try the swimming pool because the weather was a bit rainy, but there were some hearty souls swimming there late one afternoon. We ate dinner at the restaurant only one of the nights we stayed there. It was very elegant and very good food but we prefer a more simple dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizab2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    264
    63
    25
    12
See reviews for
80
406
13
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kortrijk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We elected the Château de Saulon from the Châteaux & Hôtels Collection guide as our two-nights accommodation base for a city trip to Dijon.

Our room was a slight disappointment as it looked a bit worn out, the windows did not keep any of the noise coming from the parking lot out (our room was at the front of the building) and the shutters would not close.
On the other hand, as soon as we stepped out, the beauty and charm of this castle and its surroundings took over: the swimming pool, the terrace, the stunning garden/park/forest, the kindness of the entire staff...
What we liked most of all about this place though is the restaurant, which is in a separate building a few steps away from the main one.
The food was just lovely; having the "menu dégustation" served on the terrace on a beautiful summer night was truly delightful.
All this together with the very nice impression that the city centre of Dijon left on us was more than enough to compensate for the small inconveniences about our room.

This château is probably not the ideal place for a longer stay in the region but it is just perfect for an excellent dinner and a short break on the road to or from the south.

Room Tip: We were staying in room 101.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

I think this a hotel to stay only in the middle of a long drive trip, nothing else. Arrive tired have a wonderful dinner in the gourmet restaurant just a few meters from the lobby, then go to bed,Rest and continue your trip. Not a hotel to book a vacation. No a/c on the rooms so be ready if you go in july or august. Staff really friendly no complaints. Breakfast just average nothing special. Nice gardens.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank npuente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

we had the best two days at chateau de saulon! we arrived around 7pm and were pretty tired after a long drive. we were hoping it would be possible to have dinner at the hotel. Not only could we have dinner, we were even free to say at what time we'd prefer to eat. We had dinner at 9pm so it gave us some extra time to take a drink at the terrace with lovely view on the beautiul swimming pool and wonderful garden. The dinner was just excellent: 'degustation menu' of which every dish was absolutely heavenly! service was great, waitress was very professional and kind. We did not sleep very well because it was very very hot and we had no airconditioning in our the 'comfort room' that we booked (forgot to check in advance). Breakfast costs €15 but absolutely worth it, plenty of choice and too much good stuff!!! Great tip to go and visist the 'chateau the pommard' for wine tasting. Couldn't have been more satisfied with our stay at le chateau de saulon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joke v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Constantia, South Africa
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this chateau. The building is elegant and charming and the gardens around the hotel are pretty. We had a lovely short walk around the property. The rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean, although they were quite sparsely decorated. We arrived too late to have dinner, but the restaurant looked very nice. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DianneG007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

we stayed here for one night because Dijon was halfway our trip. thanks to its convenient lcoation not far away from the highway we had time left to visit Dijon centre which is a15' ride from the hotel.
The restaurant offers a very fine cuisine for an affordable price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bunny164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2013

beautiful hotel, very recomendable to just doing nothing and relax. The restaurant is a must go. it was by far the best dinner of our trip in Bourgogne. Amazing food and service with an ok price. Highly recommendable

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JavierSierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saulon la Rue
5.3 mi away
Chateau de Gilly
Chateau de Gilly
#1 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
4.6 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
La Rotisserie du Chambertin
La Rotisserie du Chambertin
#2 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
7.0 mi away
Vertigo Hotel
Vertigo Hotel
#5 of 59 in Dijon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
17.6 mi away
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
Hotel de Luxe le Cep
#2 of 62 in Beaune
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Saulon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Saulon

Property: Chateau de Saulon
Address: 67 rue de Dijon | D996, 21910 Saulon la Rue, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Saulon la Rue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saulon la Rue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Saulon 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chateau de Saulon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Saulon Hotel Saulon La Rue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing