We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming old Chateau Hotel with superb Restaurant”
Review of Chateau de Saulon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de Saulon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saulon la Rue
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Reception is friendly and helpful. The restaurant is a very short walk across the car park in a separate building. The food is superb, in particular the Menu Gastronomique with an excellent wine list.The wine waiter was very friendly with an excellent knowledge of his wine list.
This definitely one of our favourite hotels and restaurants.
We will return later this year.

Room Tip: A chambre superieure is a very good size, quiet and a well equipped bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank DLCabus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights 7 years ago and fell in love with the charm, ambience and incredible restaurant which was a perfect start to our driving holiday. So we were excited to be going back for another 2 nights and even more impressed to find that the hotel had undergone some lovely improvements. However, the bedrooms appeared to be exactly the same as before, very basic and looking a little tired decor wise. Although there is a TV, hairdryer and fridge everything is a little old and in need of bringing in line with the rest of the hotel.
Don't be too put off by this as we think the rest of the hotel makes up for this with the friendly staff, pool area and most amazing of all the restaurant. This is a must and truly worth 6*, terrific wine selection, great service, elegant setting and stunning food...the gastronomic a must!
In our opinion the only thing that stops us giving 5* are the basic rooms and the absence of any complimentary water in the room. Mark & Ali 17/07/14

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Had the food been good the rating would have been a five. We booked one night and asked for dinner and breakfast. The waiter told us we were on half board and the chef had suggested a starter of cream cheese wrapped in ham-followed by chicken in cream and mustard sauce-the dessert of strawberry gateau-this was by far the worst meal we have ever eaten in France-it could only be described as pub food and not good pub food. The chicken was tough and dry whilst the potatoes were al dente-the dessert was dried up and had either been in the fridge or under the electric lights for too long. The wine at 50 euros was disappointing. We made our dissatisfaction known and the allowance on the bill was 25.50euros. Out total bill for the night after the allowance was 267.80 euros -this included a beer and small bottle of water . The member of staff who checked us out was unfriendly but whilst eating breakfast we had spoken with a very charming receptionist. The other diners had been offered various menus which had several courses one of which being a cheese trolley. The lesson here is don't accept half board terms as for an extra six euros your dining experience could be much improved. We felt the meal we had been given was probably because we were Brits. They chose the wrong ones with us as we are both foodies and very good home cooks. The breakfast was typical French fare. This place is style over substance--lie in the bath in room 106 and see how the hand basin is connected to the stand--also look at the wood at the bottom of the wardrobe. Do we feel ripped off, you bet we do, will we go there again-no!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiscerningCust0mer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

booked this last minute to break up the journey from uk to the alps. room nothing fancy but perfectly adequate with lovely hot shower. didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that but we didn't need to eat before setting off as the meal we had in the restaurant the previous night was so good. we had the 41 euro degustation menu which was 8 small courses. each different but all very tasty. great local cheese trolley too and a top wine at a reasonable price. for two of us the whole lot including room was 170 quid. more than a campanile but worth the extra in my view so give it a whirl if you're passing close to dijon

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the garden/ pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank durrant64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

About 15 minutes after exiting the péage near Dijon, you can find this beautiful chateau turned into hotel. The front of the hotel (reception & seating area) has all glass panels, so you can see that this part is actually just in front of the chateau.

When we arrived it was raining really hard and a wedding was held, therefore we couldn’t explore the hotel. To get to our hotelroom however could be called a little exploration. Our room(106) was very separate from the main corridors, behind 2 extra doors, which made it special and very quiet.

View from the window was into the beautiful garden with pool. The room was very nice, with high ceilings, big & high windows with shutters and a good bathroom. If you want to take a shower you can, but there is no option to hang the shower to the wall, so you can either just take a bath or take a shower sitting on your knees (which works fine).

Dinner at the restaurant (just outside the chateau) was very nice and probably the most courses we had this vacation.

Our reservation didn’t include breakfast. If we wanted we could have breakfast ofcourse, but they charged € 15,- per person for that. Instead we checked out, drove for about 2 hours and had a nice breakfast near the highway for just under € 10,- total…

NB: We left a (bookcrossing.com) book here for other Dutch travelers to enjoy in June 2012.

Room Tip: Room 106 is separated from the main corridors, behind 2 extra doors, which made it special and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank siejoepuntnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I spent one night at the Chateau de Saulon. Arrived 9pm and restaurant was only open to hotel Guests so very quiet. Initially we were offered a fixed menu of fish course to start and fish mains, guessing because it was late. Then a few minutes later, the staff must have took pity on us and we were offered further dishes of Mackerel and Beef.

The restaurant was in a converted stable and was fine dining experience with excellent service.

The hotel itself is set in impressive grounds with a tree line driveway leading to the hotel.

The well kept large garden contained an open air pool, there was seating areas around the pool and lawns, If it was summer, would have been nice.

The hotel room was nice, spacious and had everything you need, Bathroom with bath/shower, mini bar, flat screen tv. No problems.

Breakfast was continental and well laid out again no problems.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the gardens and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andyjbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. The Chateau is charming and has been recently renovated. The grounds are very pretty. The town that it is located in is pretty dead and is pretty far from the main attraction in the area, Beaune. This is a place for a 'romantic getaway'. Our room was not air conditioned as all the rooms with A/C were taken. I would have preferred AC but we were OK with the windows open at night. The only problem was it was noisy the next morning with people talking in the parking lot. The service in the hotel was just OK. We ate in the restaurant and had the Degustation menu. We were not sure what we were eating but it was all very good. :) The restaurant was short on staff and service was poor. Overall I would recommend this place for a romantic getaway but staying in Beaune would allow you to spend more time in the better part of Burgundy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kingscommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saulon la Rue
20.7 mi away
Chateau Sainte Sabine
Chateau Sainte Sabine
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Sabine
569 reviews
5.3 mi away
Chateau de Gilly
Chateau de Gilly
#1 of 2 in Gilly-les-Citeaux
626 reviews
4.6 mi away
Les Deux Chevres
Les Deux Chevres
#1 of 4 in Gevrey-Chambertin
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 mi away
Chateau de Citeaux La Cueillette
7.1 mi away
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
Hotel Chateau de la Berchere
#1 of 10 in Nuits-Saint-Georges
86 reviews
6.9 mi away
Le Richebourg
Le Richebourg
#1 of 1 in Vosne-Romanee
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Saulon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Saulon

Address: 67 rue de Dijon | D996, 21910 Saulon la Rue, France
Region: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Cote d'Or > Saulon la Rue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saulon la Rue
Price Range: £66 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de Saulon 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau de Saulon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Saulon Hotel Saulon La Rue

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing