We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and worth every penny!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Semblancay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stopped here for one night on the last leg of our French holiday. It isn't cheap so it was a relative extravagance for us. Our room in the annexe was spacious and charming and the restaurant was fantastic. The food and service were excellent - a real treat and a great way to end our holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SnaggingProblems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Have recently stayed in this excellent hotel for the fourth time in the last two years. This is an excellent place to stay and never disappoints. The de luxe rooms are very spacious and well appointed with a large bathroom that has a bath and separate shower. The restaurant serves excellent and good value dishes and the wine list is over thirty pages long. The owners are very welcoming and the staff are friendly and very good at what they do, which, all in all, makes this great place to stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

.
Quite near the motorway and Tours, this is an excellent stop over on the way south if you arrive at Ouistreham-Caen with Brittany ferries.

It's a Relais du Silence hotel, and was certainly quiet - there was double glazing in the modernised traditional building in which we slept, and also double doors from the landing.

A very well fitted bathroom with electric shower, nice toiletries, hair dryer, tissues, good toilet tissue and a magnifying mirror as well as a standard one above the wash basin. Nice fluffy towels.

For the wifi you had to get a slip from Reception for each individual device used (phone, Kindle, tablet, laptop - for each of you) as there was an individual device log in and password. Slightly fiddly.

The room had a big bed, good pillows, water and biscuits.

Overall good, but no mirror in the bedroom meant that while person 1 was showering or using the lavatory, person 2 couldn't put on her make-up (or vice-versa!), and there was no way of checking your full-length appearance before sweeping down to dinner in the attractive adjoining restaurant.

At €89 it was a little more expensive than similarly rated hotels in the area, and the breakfast at €13 a head certainly was expensive. We had heard that it was a full-blown affair, and after the generous evening meal the night before didn't think we could do it justice,.so just nibbled the biscuits from the room instead.

Worth returning here.

.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turista-Inglesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here three nights as part of a touring holiday.What a wonderful experience.OK,the rooms could do with a sprucing up but they have everything you need and are spotlessly clean.The restaurant is very good with a good choice of menus.Fabulous cheese board.
What sets La Mere Hamard apart from many other French hotels is the owners and staff who all go out of their way to make sure you are well looked after.They are all so friendly and have a great sense of humour-something which is often lost in Anglo/French relations.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was the 3rd time we stayed here. Our 'superior' room wasn't in the separate 'annex' this time, but in the main building. T'was different, but every bit as good. This hotel is 'special' and I would recommend it, not only for the quality of the bedrooms, service and ambience, but also its food.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room - fantastic value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeteBruegel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Semblancay is conveniently just 10 mins off the motorway a few miles North of Tours. We had a warm welcome and good service throughout. The guest rooms are spacious and quiet, in a separate building. Parking in a forecourt (off road). Walk around the village - it has charm and atmosphere. You can then work up an appetite for a very fine dinner, supported by a pretty extensive cellar. Next morning, they will even cook you an egg for breakfast.
A great place for a stop-over en route, as we were. Otherwise, well worth planning a stop here as part of a trip around the Loire valley.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A potentially great restaurant and good hotel, trying to get out! Monsieur - the patron/chef, (I assume), is friendly and relaxed. The food he produces is good, and the lower order staff seem competent enough. It is Madame La 'Patronne', who makes this an unpleasant place to visit. Arrogant and patronising, and entirely devoid of charm. Yes, she makes her local friends welcome enough, but for visitors/customers she appears to have nothing but disdain (as someone remarked before). We have come across one or two like this in the course of visiting numerous hotels across France, but also many - particularly in more recent years - who epitomise the high standards of friendly, efficient and helpful management for which the better French Hotels and restaurants are becoming well known. I suggest Madam either retires and lets the rest of the 'equipe' get on with it, or she visits one of the benchmark hotels (such as the Hostellerie St Louis at Bollezeele; or the Auberge des Vieux Moulins Banaux at Villeneuve l'Archeveque) if she would like to learn how the best 'owner/patronnes' run their business. There is much for her to learn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bredman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard

Address: 2 rue du petit Bercy, 37360 Semblancay, France
Region: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Semblancay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Semblancay
Price Range: £81 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few minutes outside Tours, in the Heart of the chateaux of the Loire, La Mère Hamard has made its mark on the village of Semblançay. This house has been here for over a century and has a fascinating history. It is in this place that we suggest you crossing a few hours in our company. We could speak to you for a long time in writing about our passion for all which titillates papillae. But we shall not make him: nothing replaces the experience of the plate and that of the glass, which we hope for it will be for your taste. All our products are home-made from fresh products, selected strictly. We attach a particular choice to the origin of products, which we prefer of season and picking. Best Regards, Alice et Olivier Loize. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Hostellerie de la Mere Hamard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing