We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
John JB Russell
London, United Kingdom

Superb family holiday & cant wait to go again!

Review of Country Kids
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Sept 2020via mobile
We started going to Country kids when our son was 3 months old and daughter 2. We’ve been every year since as we haven’t found a better holiday for us as parents AND the kids. They’re now 8 & 10. Every year little touches get added to make our holiday even better and more enjoyable.

The food is excellent, the bar unlimited and staff faultless. I could not think of a better place to spend relaxing and enjoying time with the family and friends. We spent a week and it was almost like living in a bubble where we could forget about Covid19. We felt safe, “Covid secure” & relaxed properly for the first time in a very long time. We already booked for next year. Country Kids is that good.

The simple genius of Country Kids is the fact the kids can run free, explore and play with other children & make new friends whilst you know they’re happy. It’s a fantastic holiday for them, with other little ones and the parents. As parents, you are confident they are safe, entertained and having a whole week of fun. Each year, we meet some lovely other parents who help make the whole week completely brilliant.

There is plenty for all the family to do on site - tennis, table tennis, mini golf, boules, swimming, spa, trampolining, zip wire, yoga, gym, or you could spend time in the sandpit, playground, treehouses or the awesome kids clubs (there are 2 levels for kids - babies & toddlers & the big kids club).

Your week starts gently with a warm welcome and staff helping you unpack your car then taking your bags to your apartment. The second year you go, you relax immediately from the moment you walk through the gate.

The Sunday lunch is the first time all the parents sit down and have a long cassoulet lunch washed down with some decent wine. After lunch and a lie by the pool, you get used to not having to do anything. On Saturday/Sunday you start to plan your week with Laure. Organised activities such as pony riding, fishing, sailing, canyoning, cycling, rock climbing, horse & carriage riding, village markets & restaurants are booked. Last yearly son caught an enormous trout which the chef kindly cooked on the barbecue for all the kids to eat. There’s also a huge dvd collection if you want a quiet night in your apartment.

On Tuesday & Thursday nights you have baby sitters included whilst you go out for dinner (La Palombe a short walk away is our favourite with utterly fabulous food) They even do your washing and ironing in the middle of the week for you.

The raclette night with Sylvan, Emma and the team was superb, the Friday barbecue by Richard is without equal and food sublime. Kids eat supper whilst we’re enjoying a drink chatting with other parents. Drinks and icecreams by the pool help throughout the day with afternoon tea delivered at 4pm’ish just to help you & the kids last until a hearty supper. The Boules night is always fun and I was lucky enough to win it this year! (Much to my surprise!)

The biggest improvement this year has been the farm experience and the finesse / small touches that really added up throughout the week to ensure every aspect of our stay was even more enjoyable than last year. The kids love jumping in the tractor trailer to ride up to the farm every morning to collect the eggs & feed the animals. Chickens roam free and the brave (fast) kids even pick them up. The pigs are my daughter’s favourite animal & both love jumping on Apache the friendly horse and always help feed the 6 or so donkeys. The goats were in theIr natural habitat and really friendly / almost like pets.

If you want to relax, have fun with the kids but not be responsible for entertaining them for a week, you cannot get a better holiday than this. Thank you Sylvan, Laure, Richard, Emma and the team for such an amazing week.

Can’t wait to go again next year for the 9th time!
Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 miles from Country Kids
Free parking
Pool
La calade
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.0 miles from Country Kids
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Agoda.com
2.0 miles from Country Kids
    2.1 miles from Country Kids
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Lol.travel
    • ZenHotels.com
      £100
    • Vio.com
    5.4 miles from Country Kids
    • Priceline
    • ZenHotels.com
      £82
    • Trip.com
    5.8 miles from Country Kids
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    10.8 miles from Country Kids
    Free Wifi
    Pool
    Contact accommodation for availability.
    14.3 miles from Country Kids
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    Piscine
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    • Priceline
    5.4 miles from Country Kids
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Octon
    Reviews (127)
    Filter reviews
    127 results
    Traveller rating
    125
    1
    1
    0
    0
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveller rating
    125
    1
    1
    0
    0
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews family holiday kids club every morning pony riding wine cellar on site tree house mini golf nothing is too much heated pool well thought out delicious meal play tennis adults and children luxury hotel cooked meals happy kids
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    17 - 22 of 127 reviews
    Reviewed 31 August 2020 via mobile

    We stayed at Country Kids for a week in August with our two daughters, 6 years and 16 months. We had a phenomenal time and love the activities for kids and adults, the food and the company. Laure and Sylvain do am amazing job making you feel at home, so does their entire staff. The kids loved being at the kids club with Annie and her team and enjoyed the animal feeds at the farm every morning. We were only 3 families due to Covid travel restriction’s, but still got the full experience, no shortage on staff or anything else. You can engage with the other families as much or little as you want to. We had a wonderful time and will be back for sure! Oh and thanks for posting the bag we forgot without us even noticing first! 😂

    Date of stay: August 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank RubyHH
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 13 August 2020 via mobile

    This Summer was our 4th year at Country Kids and we don’t usually repeat holidays! When we found it our kids were 2 and 4 and our first thought was we wished we’d found it earlier. For tired/stressed/all consumed parents it is the perfect getaway. On no other holiday have we been able to read our books, relax, have some4 amazing couple time (eg. at the phenomenal La Palombe restaurant just down the road, visiting vineyards and riding E bikes) but also unforgettable family time. The “kids club” is like no other, with a trampoline, crazy golf, tree house, sand pit, soft play (for when it’s too hot!) petting farm etc etc all on site you can hear the kids’ laughter wherever you are onsite. Our 7 year old’s highlight is always the weekly camping trip where the older kids get to cook sausages in the bbq, toast marshmallows and play games before retiring to their tents. All whilst the grown ups enjoy cocktails and local delicacies. From 0-12 your children will absolutely love this place and you will too.

    Date of stay: July 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank hfg374
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 July 2020 via mobile

    As a tired family of five, arriving to this perfect rustic luxury resort exceeded all our expectations.

    Laure and Sylvain are the most perfect hosts.

    Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts. The experience is a perfect blend of entertaining children, combined with the balance of ensuring the adults get a restful and enjoyable time too.

    In particular our children have never been fond of children’s clubs, however due to the personal, welcoming environment our children (with ages ranging from 5-10) were more than completely satisfied with their exciting environment......the beautiful well organised enclosed resort enables them to play blissfully in a safe and supervised environment.

    Adding to the relaxed atmosphere for parents, without spoiling surprises, you will most certainly not be disappointed!

    Date of stay: July 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank alanatom
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 26 July 2020

    Calling all parents with kids aged 0-12! Country Kids France is an unbeatable luxury family holiday - 3rd time for us and we’ve already booked for 2021 😊 It is ALL inclusive with no bill at the end - this includes all drinks (cocktails, champagne, water, cappuccinos etc etc), all amazing food - prawn & oyster night, mussels night, tapas night, the infamous bbq (!), wine/regional cheese tasting eve, extensive lunches or picnics if you want to explore! The cottages are beautiful and rustic with all the Luxury finishing touches. Activities are as much or as little as you want - yoga, tennis, golf, electric bikes, horse riding, professional photo shoot, massages.....Daily trips to the farm on the tractor trailer then a wonderful kids club and big kids club teaming with activities and imagination - they even take the 6+ on an overnight camping trip! It’s such a tiny place - 6 /7 families so it feels very intimate and you can see your kids running around the grounds on a kids club treasure hunt or playing hide and seek in the treehouse! Not your average kids club! Kids get two swimming lessons, riding, tennis, go-ape, Bikes / trikes are on site for the kiddies to play with, PJ party, pool games , all rooms have toys and books etc! It’s a total dream holiday for families - just be careful how much rosee wine you consume by the pool as the service is spot on so you never have an empty glass! Ooooh and the kids club Bbsit twice so you and your other half can stroll 20 mins through the country tracks down to the local gourmet french restaurant 😊Only 363 days to go until we’re back - phew!

    Date of stay: July 2020
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank LaurenC1143
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed 28 July 2019

    We have had another wonderful week at Country Kids! Laure and Syl and all the team are amazing hosts and each year Laure and Syl have worked hard to continually improve on the experience and everyone is always so welcoming. The cheese and wine night was wonderful, the pool and new slide fabulous, kids club and camping another highlight as far as mine were concerned, the lake gorgeous, the tractor rides.....I could go on! We have made a number of new friends from our holidays here and the children always rush straight off to meet old and new friends which is brilliant. Thank you as always, and we look forward to seeing you next year!

    Date of stay: July 2019
    Trip type: Travelled with family
    Thank tay a
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews